LibGuides: AUB Faculty and Staff Book Publications: 2019-Present: Salim El-Hoss Bioethics and Professionalism Program (SHBPP)

Books by year

2022
2020

Bioethics Amidst the COVID-19 Pandemic by Maysa Al-Hussaini, Asem H. Mansour, Haavi Morreim, Ma’n H. Zawati and Thalia A. Arawi (Eds.)
Publication Date: 2022
The COVID-19 pandemic has been defying medical ethics usually practiced with the luxury of time and resources. Since it is wide spread around the globe, frequent dire encounters have unmasked its face regardless of the country of residence and the availability of resources. It has perhaps unified the shattered and divided world towards one goal; saving lives. It is then that it occurred to the editors the importance of addressing bioethics during the COVID-19 pandemic.

APA citation:

Al-Hussaini, M., Mansour, A. H., Morreim, H., Zawati, M. H., & Arawi, T. A. (Eds.). (2022). Bioethics amidst the COVID-19 pandemic. Frontiers Media SA. https://doi.org/10.3389/978-2-88974-078-9 Available at UL

77 days with Rumi by Thalia Arawi
Publication Date: 2022
Though fictitious since Talia and Rumi evidently never actually met, the book is quasi-real for the encounters have a lot of authenticity in them: 77 encounters, each one or two pages long, depicts Talia opening up to Rumi and sharing thoughts, fears, questions and concerns that flummox her, queries that society does not usually talk about.

APA citation:

Arawi, T. (2022). 77 days with Rumi. Dar Nelson. Available at UL

Towards a post-Flexnerian revolution: Graduating the virtuous physician by Thalia Arawi
Call Number: J 174.2:A663t
Publication Date: 2020
This book attempts to raise the following question: what can medical schools do in order to ensure that their graduates will possess a fine character? Put differently, what can medical schools do to graduate physicians who will serve the ends of medicine as a profession, not a trade, and who will do the right thing even when no one is looking? Although this book stresses the importance of virtues and their development in the neophyte physician, it is not a book on virtue ethics.

APA citation:

Arawi, T. (2020). Towards a post-Flexnerian revolution: Graduating the virtuous physician. American University of Beirut Press. Available at UL

Solace: A legacy of care by Rayah I. Touma Sawaya
Publication Date: 2020
"Solace" is a book composed of short stories told from the viewpoint of "Richo" and "Richa", two medical students. They are two characters created by the Salim El-Hoss Bioethics and Professionalism Programme at the American University of Beirut Medical Center. Richo and Richa promote the SHBPP motto M=EC2: Medicine is about Empathy, Caring and Curing. Written by a medical student, Rayah I. Touma Sawaya, this book is meant to emphasize the importance of humanity in medicine through a series of relatable medical stories.

APA citation:

Touma Sawaya, R. I. (2020). Solace: A legacy of care. Tadros Publishing. Available at UL

Book chapters by year

2021

APA citations:

Abu-Odah H., Mikati D., & Arawi T. (2021). Deconstructing palliative care in areas of armed conflict: Needs, challenges, and concerns. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3395-3411). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_225 Available at UL

Arawi, T. (2021). Deconstructing the challenges of doing research in conflict zones and areas of protracted conflict: The ecology of life in Gaza. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3379-3394). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_220 Available at UL

Arawi, T. (2021). Islam, the pursuit of knowledge, and the ethics of research. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3285-3294). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_180 Available at UL

Arawi, T. (2021). Personalized medicine via narrative: Mental health, culture, and the encapsulated self of a Middle Eastern woman. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3275-3283). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_174 Available at UL

Arawi, T., & Abu-Sittah, G. S. (2021). War as an endemic disease: Towards a new paradigm shift. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3323-3338). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_191 Available at UL

Arawi, T., Chebaro, M., & Hoss, W. (2021). The journey of the Nafs and the Muslim physician: Moral plasticity in medicine. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3307-3322). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_181 Available at UL

Arawi, T., & El Halabi, S. (2021). Humanitarian medicine and moral injury: An inevitable aftermath in humanitarian rebellion. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3339-3348). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_199 Available at UL

Arawi, T., & Hassan, B. (2021). Necroethics: An emerging ethics in times of pandemics focusing on the elderly. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3349-3362). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_210 Available at UL

Arawi, T., Hatab, T., & Mikati, D. (2021). COVID-19 and refugees' status of permanent "out-of-placeness": A necropolitical neoliberal construct. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 377-398). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_222 Available at UL

Arawi, T., Mikati, D., & Abu-Sittah, G. S. (2021). The lures of the scalpel. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3261-3274). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_5 Available at UL

El-Halabi, S., Founouni, Z. N., & Arawi, T. (2021). Social construction of Arab masculinity and its effects on mental health. In I. Laher (Ed.), Handbook of healthcare in the Arab world (pp. 3295-3305). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-36811-1_175 Available at UL