LibGuides: AUB Faculty and Staff Book Publications: 2019-Present: Critical Humanities for the Liberal Arts (previously Civilization Studies Program)

Books by year

The Handbook of Cultural Linguistics by Alireza Korangy (Editor)
Publication Date: 2024 (forthcoming in June)
Bringing together a wide selection of work on cultural linguistics and pragmatics, this comprehensive handbook offers global, comparative insights into the field. Diversity does not always imply differences, but it also offers insights into surprising similarities and parallels when it comes to expressions. By the same token, this collection shows that when we see that linguistic differences, when they exist, stem from not merely language, but from the cultural and historical context that cultivates and nurtures them.

APA citation:

Korangy, A. (Ed.). (2024). The handbook of cultural linguistics. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-99-3800-1

The handbook of Berber linguistics by Alireza Korangy, Karim Bensoukas (Editors)
Publication Date: 2024 (forthcoming in June)
This handbook is the largest and most comprehensive publication on Berber linguistics to date, covering the variety of Berber dialects and related linguistics trends. Extensive and diverse at thematic and theoretical levels, with the aim of deepening students and scholars' understanding of the workings of Berber as a linguistic phenomenon, it explores a multitude of angles through which the diachronic and synchronic intricacies of Berber varieties can be examined.

APA citation:

Korangy, A., & Bensoukas, K. (Eds.). (2024). The handbook of Berber linguistics. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-99-5690-6

Lebanese Historical Thought in the Eighteenth Century by Hayat El Eid Bualuan
Publication Date: 2023
This study of Lebanese historical thought and its role in national identity formation in the eighteenth century focuses on a sample of historians, mainly Christians, who lived and wrote during the Shihabi Emirate from 1697 till the Egyptian invasion in 1831. These historians, who represent different trends in historical writing, were able to develop the idea of Lebanon as a unique entity and as a haven and to underline its specificity and distinctiveness. With a focus on primary sources, this book endeavors to penetrate into the main concerns and ways of thinking at this time when a Lebanese identity started to bloom.

APA citation:

Bualuan, H. (2023). Lebanese historical thought in the eighteenth century. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003023432 Available at UL

Essays on Modern Kurdish Literature by Alireza Korangy (Editor); Mahlagha Mortezaee (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023
Literature, images, and metaphor are often where most of a nation's history are embedded. A study of modern Kurdish literature highlights a fealty to a rich literary past and a rich source of historiography. The articles in this volume address many facets of the literary in the Kurdish world: proverbs, feminist literature, and resistance in literary works, poetry, prose, etc. In the end, the volume offers a general paradigm of the complex literary framework of the Kurds, their continuous resistance for nationhood in their history, and their modern reinventing of the self.

APA citation:

Korangy, A., & Mortezaee, M. (Eds.). (2023). Essays on modern Kurdish literature. De Gruyter. https://doi.org/10.1515/9783110634686 Available at UL

Psychoanalysis and the Love of Arabic by Nadia Bou Ali
Publication Date: 2021
Psychoanalysis and the Love of Arabic reorients the debates around Arabic and global modernity in relation to psychoanalysis, capitalism and universality. The study offers the first psychoanalytic reading of 19th-century works written during the nahda movement by Ahmad Faris Shidyaq (1805-87) and Butrus al-Bustani (1819-83), showing how a curious relationship was forged between language and politics - one driven by both a desire for, and anxiety about, modernity.

APA citation:

Bou Ali, N. (2021). Psychoanalysis and the love of Arabic: Hall of mirrors. Edinburgh University Press. 10.3366/edinburgh/9781474409841.001.0001 Available at UL

Persian Linguistics in Cultural Contexts by Alireza Korangy (Editor); Farzad Sharifian (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Korangy and Sharifian's groundbreaking book offers the first in-depth study into cultural linguistics for the Persian language. The book highlights a multitude of angles through which the intricacies of Persian and its many dialects and accents, wherever spoken, can be examined. Linguistics with cultural studies as its backdrop is not a new phenomenon, however with this text we are afforded an insight into the complex relationship that exists between human cognizance, and human expression in this ancient civilization.

APA citation:

Korangy, A., & Sharifian, F. (Eds.). (2021). Persian linguistics in cultural contexts. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429470165 Available at UL

Lacan Contra Foucault by Nadia Bou Ali (Editor); Rohit Goel (Editor)
Call Number: J 190:L129b
Publication Date: 2019
Lacan Contra Foucault seeks to ground the divergences and confluences between these two key thinkers in relation to contemporary philosophy and criticism. Specifically the topics of sexuality, the theory of the subject, history and historicism, scientific formalization, and ultimately politics. In doing so, the authors in this volume open up new connections between Lacan and Foucault and shine a light on their contemporary relevance to politics and critical theory.

APA citation:

Bou Ali, N., & Goel, R. (Eds.). (2019). Lacan Contra Foucault: Subjectivity, sex and politics. Bloomsbury Publishing. 10.5040/9781350036901 Available at UL

Book chapters by year

APA citations:

Bou Ali, N. (2023). The politics of incompleteness: On Žižek’s Theory of the subject. In D. Finkelde & T. McGowan (Eds.), Žižek responds! (pp. 215-225). Bloomsbury Academic. https://doi.org/10.5040/9781350328969.ch-009

Korangy, A. (2023). Ghazal: Form in meaning. In K. Talattof (Ed.), Routledge handbook of ancient, classical and late classical Persian literature (pp. 203-233). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315124216-14 Available at UL

Korangy, A. (2023). Introduction. In A. Korangy & M. Mortezaee (Eds.), Essays on modern Kurdish literature (pp. 1-3). De Gruyter. https://doi.org/10.1515/9783110634686

APA citations:

El-Bizri, N. (2022). Phenomenological hermeneutics of falsafa? In S. Camilleri & S. Varlik (Eds.), Philosophical hermeneutics and Islamic thought (pp. 3-18). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-92754-7_1 Available at UL

El-Khoury, J., Hamdan, A. L., Sataloff, R. T., & Hawkshaw, M. J. (2022). Culture, language and voice disorders. In A. L. Hamdan, R. T. Sataloff, & M. J. Hawkshaw (Eds.), Traits of civilization and voice disorders (pp. 79-91). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-031-15750-9_3

APA citation:

El-Bizri, N. (2021). Divine revelation in Islam. In B. M. Mezei, F. A. Murphy, & K. Oakes (Eds.), The Oxford handbook of divine revelation (pp. 391-403). Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/oxfordhb/9780198795353.013.26 Available at UL

APA citation:

Bou Ali, N. (2019). Measure against measure: Why Lacan Contra Foucault? In N. Bou Ali & R. Goel (Eds.), Lacan Contra Foucault: Subjectivity, sex and politics (pp. 1-36). Bloomsbury Publishing. 10.5040/9781350036901 Available at UL