LibGuides: Specialized Encyclopedias: Sociology

Dictionaries

Dictionary of sociology by Tony Lawson & Joan Garrod
Call Number: J 301.03:L425d:c.1
ISBN: 1579582915
Publication Date: Fitzroy Dearborn, c2001
Oxford English dictionary (Online)
Publication Date: 2000
Online Book
The Blackwell dictionary of modern social thought by edited by William Outhwaite ; advisory editor, Alain Touraine
Call Number: J 300.3:B632b2:c.1
ISBN: 0631221646
Publication Date: Blackwell, 2003 [i.e. 2002]
The Blackwell dictionary of social policy by edited by Pete Alcock, Angus Erskine, and Margaret May
Call Number: J 361.61:B632a:c.1
ISBN: 0631218475
Publication Date: Blackwell, c2002
The Cambridge dictionary of sociology by general editor, Bryan S. Turner
Call Number: J 301.03:C178t:c.1
ISBN: 0521540461
Publication Date: Cambridge University Press, 2006

Social Sciences

Dictionary of statistics & methodology: a nontechnical guide for the social sciences by W. Paul Vogt
Call Number: J 300.151:V887d3
Publication Date: Sage Publications, 2005
International encyclopedia of the social sciences by William A. Darity, Jr., editor in chief
Call Number: J 303:I61i:2008:v.1:c.1
Publication Date: Macmillan Reference USA, c2008
The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods by Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman, Tim Futing Liao, editors
Call Number: J 300.72:S129L:v.1:c.1
Publication Date: Sage Publications, c2004

Online Encylopedias

I. Search Online Packages

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window A collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication. The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1965 to present

ABC-CLIO eBooks: Home Multidisciplinary collection of Encyclopedias. Go to 'My Account' to browse the list of encyclopedias.

Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Availability: full-text Date Coverage: Varies

Start your research with authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences from Sage Reference

II. Core Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences This 9-volume study of social sciences is a successor to the Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (1930-1935) and the initial set of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (1968). The new edition highlights the influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars from around the world. The encyclopedia covers a wide array of global topics, including: censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid, food, cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and more.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online A major reference work in sociology. Its content is based on the print version published in 2007 and is updated regularly. Entries are written by scholars in the field and range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics. The subject coverage extends from themes that have historically defined the discipline to more recent developments. Also included are introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright This 26-volume encyclopedia comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. Discusses history, current trends and future directions

III. Interdisciplinary Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of gender and society
This comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
This three-volume reference presents a comprehensive look at the role race and ethnicity play in society and in our daily lives.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems
The Encyclopedia of Social Problems offers an interdisciplinary perspective into many social issues that are a continuing concern in our lives.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood
This four-volume encyclopedia covers a wide range of social childhood themes and topics.
The Wiley‐Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements
The encyclopedia contains over 400 entries exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.
World Clothing and Fashion: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence
Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this encyclopedia explores the diverse and colorful history of human attire.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of anthropology by H. James Birx, editor
Call Number: J 301.03:E563b:v.1:c.1
ISBN: 0761930299
Publication Date: Sage Publications, c2006
Encyclopedia of social theory by editor George Ritzer
Call Number: J 301.01:E563r:v.1:c.1
ISBN: 0761926119
Publication Date: Sage Publications, c2005 [i.e. 2004]
Encyclopedia of sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta
Call Number: J 301.03:E56e2:v.1:c.1
ISBN: 0028648536
Publication Date: Macmillan Reference, c2000
Encyclopedia of women and gender sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender by editor-in-chief, Judith Worell
Call Number: J 305.42:E56w:v.1
ISBN: 0122272455
Publication Date: Academic Press, c2001
International handbook of sociology by Stella R. Quah and Arnaud Sales
Call Number: J 301:I61q
ISBN: 0761968881 hc.
Publication Date: 2000
Sage handbook of sociology by Craig Calhoun, Chris Rojek and Bryan Turner
Call Number: J 301:S129c
ISBN: 0761968210 hc
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of world cultures (7 v.)
Call Number: J 305.803:E56e:v.2:c.1
Publication Date: G.K. Hall, 1991-2002
Cultural sociology of the Middle East, Asia, & Africa: An encyclopedia by Andrea L. Stanton ... [et al.]
Call Number: J 306.09:C968s:v.1:c.1
Publication Date: SAGE Publications, 2012.