Skip to Main Content

University Libraries
Library Guides

Specialized Encyclopedias: Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies

Consult encyclopedias for an introductory overview of a topic or for factual information at any point in the research process.

Dictionaries and Handbooks

A dictionary of the Middle East by Dilip Hiro
Call Number: J 956.003:H668d:c.1
ISBN: 0312125542
Publication Date: St. Martin's Press, 1996
A political and economic dictionary of the Middle East by Seddon, David
Call Number: J 320.956:S447p
ISBN: 1857432126
Publication Date: 2004
Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict: culture, history and politics by Faure, Claude
Call Number: J 956.9405:F265d:v.1-2
ISBN: 0028659775
Publication Date: 2005
Historical dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey by Moussalli, Ahmad S.,
Call Number: J 320.557:M933h:c.1
ISBN: 0810836092 hc
Publication Date: Scarecrow Press, c1999
Political handbook of the Middle East 2008 by CQ Press
Call Number: J 320.956:P769pi
ISBN: 0872895742
Publication Date: 2008
The A to Z of Middle Eastern intelligence by Kahana, Ephraim
Call Number: J 327.125:K121a
ISBN: 0810871572
Publication Date: 2009
The new A-Z of the Middle East by Gresh, Alain
Call Number: J 320.956:G831cb
ISBN: 1860643264
Publication Date: 2004
The Times guide to the Middle East the Arab world and its neighbours by edited by Peter Sluglett and Marion Farouk-Sluglett
Call Number: J 956.053:T583t:c.1
ISBN: 0723004072
Publication Date: Times Books, c1991

Politicis and Diplomacy

Diplomacy in the Middle East the international relations of regional and outside powers by edited by L. Carl Brown
Call Number: J 327.095:D596b:c.1
ISBN: 1860646409
Publication Date: I.B. Tauris, c2001
Ethnic conflict and international politics in the Middle East by edited by Leonard Binder
Call Number: J 323.156:E84b:c.1
ISBN: 0813016878
Publication Date: University Press of Florida, 1999
Identity and foreign policy in the Middle East by edited by Shibley Telhami and Michael Barnett
Call Number: J 327.095:I197t:c.1
ISBN: 0801487455
Publication Date: Cornell University Press, 2002
Major political events in Iran, Iraq, and the Arabian Peninsula, 1945-1990 by Trevor Mostyn
Call Number: J 950:M915m:c.1
ISBN: 0816021899
Publication Date: Facts on File, c1991
Middle East review by Added Author World of Information (Firm)
Call Number: J 330.956:M627m:2003/04:c.1
Publication Date: World of Information, c2003
Nation and religion in the Middle East by Fred Halliday
Call Number: J 322.109:H188n:c.1
ISBN: 086356044X
Publication Date: Saqi Books, 2000
Political and diplomatic history of the Arab world, 1900-1967 a chronological study (7v.) by Mansoor, Menahem
Call Number: J 956.9:M289p:v.1:c.1
ISBN: 0910972095
Publication Date: NCR Microcard Editions, 1972
The foreign policies of Middle East states by edited by Raymond Hinnebusch, Anoushiravan Ehteshami
Call Number: J 327.095:F714h:c.1
ISBN: 1588260208
Publication Date: L Rienner Publishers, c2002
The United States in the Middle East a historical dictionary by David Shavit
Call Number: J 303.482:S533u:c.1
ISBN: 0313253412
Publication Date: Greenwood Press, 1988

Search

A collection of 12 reference works in Arabic and Islamic studies.

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window A comprehensive encyclopedia covering all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic language. The encyclopedia addresses both the external and the internal history of the language, as well as the structural analysis of the different varieties of the language, the interaction between varieties in mixed levels, the linguistic contacts between Arabic and other languages, and much more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2011 Some special features of the encyclopedia are the inclusion of dialect sketches of more than 40 dialects, linguistic profile that sketches the sociolinguistic and dialectological make-up of Arabic-speaking countries.
Brockelmann Online This link opens in a new window A multivolume reference work offering bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors. The collection covers the original volumes of the Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur, as well as the three supplement volumes, including the index. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1937-1947
Encyclopaedia Islamica This link opens in a new window A projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian "Dāirat al-Maārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī". One unique feature of this work lies in the attention it gives to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias. This Brill publication is automatically updated whenever a new volume has been published. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2008 to present
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window A compilation of essays on women and Islamic cultures. Published by Brill, this encyclopedia crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines and also reflects the latest research on gender studies and Islamic world. It covers a wide array of topics including family issues, body, sexuality, health, education, mobility, law, politics, arts and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2007
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān This link opens in a new window A comprehensive multi-volume work on the Qur'an published in a Western language. This is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. Whenever possible English language entry is used rather than transliterated terminology. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 2005 to present
Encyclopaedia of Judaism This link opens in a new window Online version of the 2nd ed. of the print Encyclopeadia. It provides a comprehensive presentation of Judaism covering the religion, its diverse history, literature, beliefs past and present, observances, practices, and place in the context of society and culture. Emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history. It also includes entries on American Judaism and other contemporary issues. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2005 to present

Cambridge Histories

====================================

Oxford Islamic Studies

Search Encyclopedia Packages

Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new window A collection of reference works published by Brill. The collection includes, but is not limited to the following titles: Brill Dictionary of Religion; Encyclopaedia Islamica; Encyclopaedia of Islam :First edition & Second edition; Encyclopaedia of Judaism; Encyclopaedia of the Quran; Encyclopaedia of Women and Islamic Cultures; and Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: Varies

ABC-CLIO eBooks: Home Multidisciplinary collection of Encyclopedias. Go to 'My Account' to browse the list of encyclopedias.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online (3 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works. The database covers global Islamic history, politics, faith, culture, customs, and more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Current A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works such as Oxford Dictionary of Islam, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and Oxford History of Islam. The database covers global Islamic history, people, politics, faith, concepts, practice, culture, customs, and much more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. It includes a "Learning Resources" area featuring study and teaching aids for the exploration of the field of Islamic studies in general. It has powerful search capabilities and can be searched by Era, topics, country, region, branch of Islam, name, birth, death, profession, movements, schools, and document type.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Availability: full-text Date Coverage: Varies

Online Encyclopedias of Islam

Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition This link opens in a new window The encyclopedia offers access to 9,000 articles and reflects the first highly international collaboration of scholars in this field. The scope of the Encyclopedia of Islam First Edition Online is philology, history, theology and law until early 20th century. The encyclopedia was originally published in print between 1913 and 1936. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1913-1936 The demand for an encyclopaedic work on Islam was created by the increasing (colonial) interest in Muslims and Islamic cultures during the nineteenth century.
Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference work on the Islamic world. It contains the entire text of volume I to XII of the printed edition. It includes articles on famous Muslim personalities, tribes and dynasties, Islamic crafts, political and religious institutions, ethnography, history, monuments of the major towns and cities and much more. It contains articles, figures, drawings, genealogical tables, maps, and biographies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1954-2004
Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE This link opens in a new window Covers a wider range of disciplines and methodologies than the 2nd edition with new articles reflecting the diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century, attention to Muslim minorities all over the world, full attention to social science as well as humanistic perspectives. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2007 to present

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new window The encyclopedia covers all aspects of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent. It also cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture, as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the entire range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Current
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window A comprehensive encyclopedia covering all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic language. The encyclopedia addresses both the external and the internal history of the language, as well as the structural analysis of the different varieties of the language, the interaction between varieties in mixed levels, the linguistic contacts between Arabic and other languages, and much more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2011 Some special features of the encyclopedia are the inclusion of dialect sketches of more than 40 dialects, linguistic profile that sketches the sociolinguistic and dialectological make-up of Arabic-speaking countries.

Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World

Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science This link opens in a new window A reference work for scholars of Arabic science, the history of science and Islamic studies. The encyclopedia documents the history and philosophy of Arabic science from the earliest times to the present day. It is divided into three volumes covering six broad categories: astronomy, mathematics, physical sciences, technology, alchemy, and the life sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2002
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān This link opens in a new window A comprehensive multi-volume work on the Qur'an published in a Western language. This is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. Whenever possible English language entry is used rather than transliterated terminology. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 2005 to present
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window A compilation of essays on women and Islamic cultures. Published by Brill, this encyclopedia crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines and also reflects the latest research on gender studies and Islamic world. It covers a wide array of topics including family issues, body, sexuality, health, education, mobility, law, politics, arts and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2007

The encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict : a political, social, and military history

Religion Past and Present This link opens in a new window An international encyclopedia of religion covering a wide range of subjects in theological and biblical studies. Published by Brill, Religion Past and Present (RPP) is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of the Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart. It includes all 13 volumes of the print edition and is automatically updated whenever a new volume has been published. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2012

Open Access Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

A Concise History of the Middle East by Lawrence Davidson; Arthur Goldschmidt
Call Number: J 956:G623c8:c.1
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa by Mattar, Philip
Call Number: R 956.003:E563e2:v.1-4
ISBN: 0028657691
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire
Call Number: J 956.015:A275e:c.1
ISBN: 0816062595
Publication Date: 2009
Medieval Islamic civilization an encyclopedia by James G. Harris, Melinda Woolf Harris
Call Number: J 909.097:M489m:v.1-2
ISBN: 9780415966900 set : hc
Publication Date: Routledge, 2006
The Cambridge encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa / by executive editor, Trevor Mostyn, advisory editor, Albert Hourani
Call Number: J 956:C178c:c.1
ISBN: 0521321905
Publication Date: Cambridge Cambridgeshire UK : Cambridge University Press, c1988
The Continuum political encyclopedia of the Middle East by Avraham Sela, editor
Call Number: J 956.04:C762s:c.1
ISBN: 0826414133
Publication Date: New York : Continuum, c2002
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world by John L. Esposito, editor in chief
Call Number: J 909.097:O98o:2009:v.6:c.1
ISBN: 9780195305135
Publication Date: New York : Oxford University Press, 2009
The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world by L. Esposito, editor in chief
Call Number: J 909.097:O98o:v.1:c.1
ISBN: 0195066138
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 1995
الموسوعة العربية / الجمهورية العربية السورية، رئاسة الجمهورية، هيئة الموسوعة العربية
Call Number: J 039:M462mwA:c.1
Publication Date: القاهرة : دار القلم، 1965
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World by Norman Stillman
Call Number: J 909.049:E564s:v.1
ISBN: 9004176780
Publication Date: Leiden : Brill, 2010

Last Updated: Dec 18, 2024 2:24 PM
URL: https://aub.edu.lb.libguides.com/c.php?g=276459
Print Page

Subjects: Arab, Islamic, and Middle Eastern Studies, Architecture and Design, Education, Geology, Political Science, Reference