LibGuides: Specialized Encyclopedias: American Studies

Selected Encyclopedias

Conspiracy theories in American history an encyclopedia by edited by Peter Knight
ISBN: 1576078132
Publication Date: ABC Clio, c2003

Encyclopedia of the United States in the twentieth century by Stanley I. Kutler, editor in chief ; Robert Dallek, David A. Hollinger, Thomas K. McCraw, associate editors ; Judith Kirkwood, assistant editor
Call Number: J 973.03:E56k:v.1:c.1
ISBN: 0132105357
Publication Date: C. Scribners Sons, 1996
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War by editor in chief: Stanley I. Kutler
Call Number: J 959.704:E56k:c.1
ISBN: 0132769328
Publication Date: C. Scribners Sons, 1996

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by edited by Leonard W. Levy and Kenneth L.
ISBN: 0028659864
Publication Date: Macmillan Reference USA, c2000
Facts about the presidents by Joseph Nathan Kane ; Janet Podell & Steven Anzovin
Call Number: J 973.099:K162f7:c.1
ISBN: 0824210077
Publication Date: H.W. Wilson, 2001
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history by edited by Jack Salzman, David Lionel Smith, Cornel West
Call Number: J 973.049:E56s:v.1:c.1
ISBN: 0028973453
Publication Date: New York, c1996
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures the civilizations of Mexico and Central America by David Carrasco, editor in chief
Call Number: J 972.01:O98o:v.1:c.1
ISBN: 0195108159
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, c2001
American Indians in U.S. history by Roger L. Nichols
Call Number: J 973.049:N616a:c.1
ISBN: 0806135786
Publication Date: University of Oklahoma Press, 2003

Search Encyclopedia Packages

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window A collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication. The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1965 to present

ABC CLIO eBooks: Home Multidisciplinary collection of Encyclopedias. Go to 'My Account' to browse the list of encyclopedias.

Cambridge Histories online This link opens in a new window An e-book collection bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts. Availability: Full-text Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books published by Oxford University Press. The collection brings together the world’s leading scholar to discuss research and latest thinking on a range of major topics. It contains in-depth, high level scholarly review articles and covers a wide range of subject areas such as archaeology, classical studies, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2012 to present
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. It covers a wide range of topics including citizen’s rights, environment, family issues, global issues, society, and much more. The database includes materials from essays, political magazines, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary documents and reference books. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1900 to present
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window Published by Sage, this database supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. This ultimate methods library contains books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. Availability: Full-text and videos Date Coverage: - - - -
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Availability: full-text Date Coverage: Varies