LibGuides: Specialized Encyclopedias: Art

Selected Encyclopedia

A Biographical dictionary of artists by Sir Lawrence Gowing
Call Number: J 709.22:B615g:c.1
ISBN: 0816032521
Publication Date: 1995
A history of Far Eastern art by Lee, Sherman
Call Number: J 709.5:L481h5
ISBN: 0500237344
Publication Date: 1997
Art history by Marilyn Stoksad
Call Number: CA 709:S874a:c.1
ISBN: 9780131455276
Publication Date: 2005
Art: a world history by Rogers, Ray; Marceau, Jo; Candlish, Louise; Day, Fergus; Williams, David
Call Number: J 709:A784ar
ISBN: 0789423820
Publication Date: 1998
Atlas of world art by John Onians
Call Number: F 709:A881o:2008
ISBN: 9781856695572 hc
Publication Date: 2008
Dictionary of Christian art by Diane Apostolos-Cappadona
Call Number: J 246.03:A645d:c.1
ISBN: 082640779X
Publication Date: 1994
Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art by James Hall ; introduction by Kenneth Clark
Call Number: J 704.94:H177da
ISBN: 0719541476
Publication Date: 1974
Encyclopedia of world art
Call Number: J 703:E56:v.1-17
Publication Date: 1959-c1987
Gardner's art through the ages by Fred S. Kleiner, Christin J. Mamiya
Call Number: J 709:G22a12:c.1
ISBN: 9780534641245
Publication Date: 2005
Larousse encyclopedia of prehistoric and ancient art art and mankind by Rene Huyghe
Call Number: J 709:H987L:c.1
Publication Date: 1962
Medieval art by Marilyn Stokstad
Call Number: J 709.02:S874m:c.1
ISBN: 0813336813
Publication Date: 2004
The art atlas by Onians, John
Call Number: F 709:A881o:2008
ISBN: 9781856695572
Publication Date: 2008
The Oxford companion to art by Harold Osborne
Call Number: J 703:O98o:c.1
ISBN: 019866107X
Publication Date: 1970
The Penguin concise dictionary of art history by Frazier, Nancy
Call Number: J 709:F848p
ISBN: 0670100153
Publication Date: 2000

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online (9 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new window The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Provides 45,000 articles on fine arts, over 13,000 art images, and 21,000 biographies of artists, architects, etc. Availability : Full-text and images Date Coverage: Current Limitations: 9 simultaneous users

Search Encyclopedia Packages

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window A collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication. The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1965 to present
Oxford Art Online (9 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new window The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Provides 45,000 articles on fine arts, over 13,000 art images, and 21,000 biographies of artists, architects, etc. Availability : Full-text and images Date Coverage: Current Limitations: 9 simultaneous users
Oxford Music Online (1 simultaneous user) This link opens in a new window A gateway offering the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. It includes the full-text of Grove Music Online and Oxford Companion to Music. Covers articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, individual works, musicology, theory, and criticism. Links to thousand of illustrations and sound recordings. Availability: Full-text and illustrations Date Coverage: Current
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Availability: full-text Date Coverage: Varies
Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition This link opens in a new window The encyclopedia offers access to 9,000 articles and reflects the first highly international collaboration of scholars in this field. The scope of the Encyclopedia of Islam First Edition Online is philology, history, theology and law until early 20th century. The encyclopedia was originally published in print between 1913 and 1936. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1913-1936 The demand for an encyclopaedic work on Islam was created by the increasing (colonial) interest in Muslims and Islamic cultures during the nineteenth century.

Online Encyclopedias

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms by Michael Clarke
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2010
A-Z dictionary, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods.
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture : Volume 21: Art and Architecture by Judith H. Bonner, Estill Curtis Pennington, and Charles Reagan Wilson
Call Number: E-book from ProQuest Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2013
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture by Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2009
This work includes entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
Art History: The Key Concepts by Jonathan Harris
Publication Date: Routledge, 2006
A reliable reference guide to the disciplines of art history and visual culture. Containing entries on over 200 terms integral to the historical and theoretical study of art, design and culture in general.
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema by Terri Ginsberg and Chris Lippard
Publication Date: Scarecrow Press, 2010
It covers the cinemas of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Palestine, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Iraq, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, and Yemen.

Open Access

Art Cyclopedia
Fine art search engine. A directory of art resources on the Internet, created by John Malyon and searchable by movement, medium, subject, or artist name.
Art Encyclopedia
The aim of this online encyclopedia of art is to explain the evolution of visual art with reference to the world's greatest artists, their paintings and sculptures, architecture and photography.

Islamic Art and Architecture

Beauty and Islam aesthetics in Islamic art and architecture by Valerie Gonzalez
Call Number: J 709.176:G643b
ISBN: 1860646913 hc
Publication Date: 2001
Calligraphy and Islamic culture by Annemarie Schimmel
Call Number: J 745.619:S335c
ISBN: 0814778305
Publication Date: 1984
Dictionary of Islamic architecture by Andrew Petersen
Call Number: ER 720.917:P484d
ISBN: 0415060842
Publication Date: 1996
Islamic visual culture, 1100-1800 by Oleg Grabar
Call Number: J 709.1767:G727i
ISBN: 0860789225 hc
Publication Date: 2006
Islamic art and architecture by Ernst Kuhnel, translated by Katherine Watson
Call Number: J 709.56:K95i
Publication Date: 1966
Splendors of Islam architecture, decoration and design by Dominique Clevenot; translated by Jean Davis
Call Number: EF 729.091:C635s
ISBN: 0865652147 hc
Publication Date: 2000
The art and architecture of Islam 1250-1800 by Sheila S. Blair and Jonathan M. Bloom
Call Number: J 709.176:E85aa
ISBN: 0300058888
Publication Date: 1994
The art and architecture of Islam, 650-1250 by Richard Ettinghausen and Oleg Grabar
Call Number: J 709.176:E85a
ISBN: 0140560599
Publication Date: 1987
The Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture by Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair
Call Number: ER 709.1767:G883b:v.1-3
ISBN: 9780195309911 set : hc
Publication Date: 2009
The timeline history of Islamic art and architecture by Nasser D. Khalili
Call Number: F 709.1767:K452t
ISBN: 9781903025178hc
Publication Date: 2005