LibGuides: Specialized Encyclopedias: Arabic Language and Literature

Selected Reference Books

A literary history of the Arabs / by Reynold A. Nicholson
Call Number: J 892.709:N627L2:1995
ISBN: 0700703365 pbk
Publication Date: 1995
Crosshatching in global culture: a dictionary of modern Arab writers by Donohue, John J
Call Number: J 892.709:C951d:v.1-2
ISBN: 3899134079 pbk
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Arabic literature by Julie Scott Meisami and Paul Starkey
Call Number: J 892.709:E56m:v.1-2
ISBN: 0415068088
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th century by Steven R. Serafin, general editor
Call Number: J 803:E56e3:v.1-4
ISBN: 1558623736 set : hc
Publication Date: 1999
Middle Eastern literatures and their times by Moss, Joyce
Call Number: J 892.709:M913m
ISBN: 9780787637316
Publication Date: 2004
The Undergraduate's Companion to Arab Writers and Their Web Sites by Dona S. Straley
Call Number: J 892.702:S896u
ISBN: 1591581184 pbk
Publication Date: 2004
اعلام الادب العربي المعاصر: سير وسير ذاتية by كامبل, روبرت ب
Call Number: J 892.7092:C189aA:v.1-2
Publication Date: 1996
الكتاب الاساسي في تعليم اللغة العربية لغير الناطقين بها by السعيد محمد بدوي
Call Number: J 492.707:K621bA:v.1-3
ISBN: 9774162315
Publication Date: 2008
قاموس الادب العربي الحديث by السكوت, حمدي
Call Number: R892.703:S158qA
ISBN: 9770920347
Publication Date: 2009
مصادر الدراسة الأدبية by داغر, يوسف اسعد
Call Number: J 892.7016:D12mA
موسوعة أعلام العرب المبدعين في القرن العشرين by خليل, خليل احمد
Call Number: R892.7092:Kh78mA:v.1-3
Publication Date: 2001-2003
موسوعة ادباء لبنان وشعرائه by يعقوب, اميل بديع,
Call Number: RLEB 892.7092:Y25mA:v.1-16
Publication Date: 2006
موسوعة اعلام العلماء و الادباء العرب و المسلمين by المنظمة العربية للتربية و الثقافة و العلوم
Call Number: J 892.7092:M963mA:v.1-13
ISBN: 9953782490 v. 12-13 : hc
Publication Date: 2004-2007
موسوعة الحضارة العربية by بطرس البستاني، يوسف فرحات، يوسف عيد
Call Number: J 892.709:M462mA:v.1-10
Publication Date: 1995
موسوعة الادب و الادباء العرب في روائعهم by يعقوب, اميل بديع,
Call Number: R892.709:Y25mA:v.1-16
Publication Date: 2006
الموسوعة العربية
Call Number: R 039:M462sA
Publication Date: دمشق : هيئة الموسوعة العربية، 1998-2008

Search Reference Packages

Brill Online Reference Works This link opens in a new window A collection of reference works published by Brill. The collection includes, but is not limited to the following titles: Brill Dictionary of Religion; Encyclopaedia Islamica; Encyclopaedia of Islam :First edition & Second edition; Encyclopaedia of Judaism; Encyclopaedia of the Quran; Encyclopaedia of Women and Islamic Cultures; and Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: Varies
Cambridge Histories online This link opens in a new window An e-book collection bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts. Availability: Full-text Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window The complete collection of companions published by Cambridge University Press. The Cambridge Companions Platform offers four collections: The Complete Companions The Companions to Literature and Classics The Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture The Companions to Music Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
Oxford Islamic Studies Online (3 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works. The database covers global Islamic history, politics, faith, culture, customs, and more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Current A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works such as Oxford Dictionary of Islam, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and Oxford History of Islam. The database covers global Islamic history, people, politics, faith, concepts, practice, culture, customs, and much more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. It includes a "Learning Resources" area featuring study and teaching aids for the exploration of the field of Islamic studies in general. It has powerful search capabilities and can be searched by Era, topics, country, region, branch of Islam, name, birth, death, profession, movements, schools, and document type.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Availability: full-text Date Coverage: Varies

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window A comprehensive encyclopedia covering all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic language. The encyclopedia addresses both the external and the internal history of the language, as well as the structural analysis of the different varieties of the language, the interaction between varieties in mixed levels, the linguistic contacts between Arabic and other languages, and much more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2011 Some special features of the encyclopedia are the inclusion of dialect sketches of more than 40 dialects, linguistic profile that sketches the sociolinguistic and dialectological make-up of Arabic-speaking countries.
Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition This link opens in a new window The encyclopedia offers access to 9,000 articles and reflects the first highly international collaboration of scholars in this field. The scope of the Encyclopedia of Islam First Edition Online is philology, history, theology and law until early 20th century. The encyclopedia was originally published in print between 1913 and 1936. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1913-1936 The demand for an encyclopaedic work on Islam was created by the increasing (colonial) interest in Muslims and Islamic cultures during the nineteenth century.
Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference work on the Islamic world. It contains the entire text of volume I to XII of the printed edition. It includes articles on famous Muslim personalities, tribes and dynasties, Islamic crafts, political and religious institutions, ethnography, history, monuments of the major towns and cities and much more. It contains articles, figures, drawings, genealogical tables, maps, and biographies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1954-2004
Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE This link opens in a new window Covers a wider range of disciplines and methodologies than the 2nd edition with new articles reflecting the diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century, attention to Muslim minorities all over the world, full attention to social science as well as humanistic perspectives. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2007 to present
Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān This link opens in a new window A comprehensive multi-volume work on the Qur'an published in a Western language. This is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. Whenever possible English language entry is used rather than transliterated terminology. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 2005 to present

Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science

Encyclopedia of the History of Arabic Science
Edited by Roshdi Rashed
Publication : London : Routledge, c1996
Call Number : R 509.174:E56r
الموسوعة الشعرية : الشعر ديوان العرب
Call Number: CD-ROM-A:9
Publication Date: ابو ظبي : المجمع الثقافي، 2003
DVD / قرص مضغوط للقراءة
المرجع الاكبر للتراث الاسلامي : اكثر من 12000 مجلد وكتاب حقيقي
Call Number: DVD-ROM-A:1
Publication Date: بيروت : شركة العريس للكمبيوتر، [2007؟]
DVD ROM / قرص مرئي للقراءة : ملون