Encyclopedic articles about basic concepts and interrelationships between ethical principles and the demands of scientific and technological innovations. Students and researchers will find the cross-referenced articles convenient to use for papers and assignments. The encyclopedia is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set first published in 1995.
Encyclopedia of EcologyThe encyclopedia provides current and comprehensive information on the major fields of ecology. It includes over 500 detailed entries covering a wide range of topics such as behavioral ecology, ecological processes, ecological engineering, ecological indicators, ecosystems, general ecology, global ecology, human ecology, and more. Article text is supported by full-color photos, drawings, tables, and other visual material.
An essential reference work covering all four fields of genetics, genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics. Topics include genetic variation and evolution, the human genome, expression profiling, expression proteomics, protein function and annotation, and systems biology. Articles range from introductory to specialist reviews including cutting-edge topics in current research, and Basic Techniques essays. Features include dynamic table of contents, separate windows for tables and figures, and hyperlinked references..
A major reference source for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. The encyclopedia is a revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. It includes thorough articles familiarizing readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more.
The multivolume set covers:
Lower Metazoans and Lesser Deuterostomes
Protostomes, Insects, Fishes, Amphibians, Reptiles, Birds, Mammals, Cumulative Index