Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: Cultural Activities

The Arab Cinema Photograph Collection and is comprised of 1,366 photographs. These photographs represent films produced between 1942 and 2008, with the bulk between 1970s and 2000s for Egypt, 1960s for Lebanon, and 1970s for Syria. The collection is relevant to researchers interested in the history of Arab cinema as well as the history of photography in Arabic films during the 20th century.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Egyptian Cinema and Theater Photo Collection consists of 20 albums, 744 black and white photos, of Egyptian films and plays performed between 1913 and 1960. The collection also contains press clippings, 36 cover page gifts from al-Kawakeb Magazine, copies of 20 signatures of prominent Egyptian actors. The collection is relevant to researchers interested in the history of Egyptian cinema and theater during the 20th century.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walid Ghulmiyah a Lebanese musician, composer, conductor, publisher and educator who played an important leading role in advancing music and art education in Lebanon and the region. The collection of around 20.5 linear feet chiefly consists of music sheets and press clippings covering Dr. Ghulmiyah’s professional life between 1962 and 2011. The music sheets include the composer’s six symphonies as well as his contributions to various forms of the performing arts: films, festival productions, plays and shows.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pierre H. Azoury (1930-2014), AUB Professor of mechanical engineering, was best known for his music as a composer, pianist and educator. The collection consists of personal documents, awards, correspondence, courses, photos, postcards and posters as well as music sheets, cassette tapes and recordings of Azoury’s various symphonies.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Salvador Arnita, a Palestinian composer and organist, (1915-1985) worked at AUB, 1949-1980, as Professor of Music and was a pillar of the Beirut musical scene. His Collection of 2.6 linear feet includes musical notes and partitions which he used in his teaching and concerts, and most importantly are his own musical compositions.

The collection of 177 posters were donated to the Archives following the “Exhibition on Art Posters in Lebanon” organized by AUB Art Center and held at the Lee Observatory, AUB, in March 2001. Although the posters announce, mainly, individual painting and sculpture exhibitions, the collection includes group and theme art exhibits, plays and musical recitals, movies, conferences and environmental awareness posters.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kazazian’s personal collection of multilingual exhibition posters covers several topics including art, music, paintings, and architecture based in Lebanon between 1977 and 2014.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jamil Hamoudi was an Iraqi artist, art critic, (1924 - 2003) and a leading figure in Iraq’s modern art movement. Hamoudi was a pioneer in using Arabic calligraphy in art, a founding member of the al Hurufiyah movement, a founding editor of several art magazines, and the owner of several art galleries in Paris, London and Baghdad. The collection, 20 linear feet, is a rare record of the cultural exchange between the Arab World and the West, 1940s - 1980s.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Waddah Faris is an Iraqi designer and art critic. His collection includes brochures and catalogs collected from various galleries and publishers in Lebanon, Iraq and Europe. It also Includes 15 posters some of them issued by the Friends of Jerusalem and 143 black and white Photographs for Lebanese and Iraqi cultural personalities.

The American Press was founded by the American Mission to Malta in 1822 and moved to Beirut in 1834. The American Press contributed immensely to the intellectual and printing boom witnessed by the region at the end of the 19th c. and the turn of the 20th c. “Al Matbaaha al Amirikiyah” had its own movable letter block print design. (English and Arabic - known as "American Arabic") (Publishing Lebanon, Book industry, An-Nahda)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The collection contains books and imprints catalogs from libraries and publishing houses in MENA Region, Europe, India, and the United States between 1888 and 1988. (Imprints Catalogs, Publishing & Publishers)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------