LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: Politics

Political Personalities: Lebanon

Abdallah El-Yafi Collection, 1900s-1980s
This collection of around two thousands photos documents the official, political and social activities of Prime Minister Abdallah el Yafi (1901-1986) during his tenure as Lebanese Prime Minister as well as Parliament Deputy. It documents the Lebanese political scene for several decades along with Lebanese regional and international relations. (Lebanon, History, Middle East, Political Science)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Al- Amir Shakib Arslan Collection, 1894-1995
Shakib Arslan, a Lebanese politician and diplomat, poet, and prolific writer, (1869-1946), who rallied for Arab Independence from the French and British Mandates. His collection of correspondence and photos spans the years 1936 to 1948; including many letters exchanged between Arslan and his friend and publisher, Mohammad Ali al-Tahir (editor of ālshura, ālshabāb). (French Mandate, Levant, Modern Intellectual History, Political Science, Middle East)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Emily Fares Ibrahim Collection, 1949-2013
Emily Fares Ibrahim, (1914-2011), was a Lebanese writer, poet, and feminist. She was the first woman to run for the parliamentary elections in Lebanon and was a notable face of the Lebanese Social Movement. She headed the National Mobilization Committee, established in 1982, as well as the National Council of Women. The Collection consists of photos, correspondence and audiovisuals etc. and is important for researchers interested in gender studies and women both in politics and social work.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kamal Joumblatt, 1917-1977

The University Libraries developed the Kamal Joumblatt Digital Library in order to make primary and secondary resources on Joumblatt freely and conveniently accessible to scholars, students and general researchers. The digital library includes books, manuscripts and all the material donated to the University Libraries mainly in digital format.

Political Commentary: MENA Region

Donald L. Van Handel Collection, 1976-1982
The collection includes 200 editorial caricatures published in the “Arab News" by Mahmoud Kahil; as well as art and political posters dated between 1979 and 1981 on Palestine, human rights, AUB events, arts, etc.… (Politics, art, Lebanese civil war, Middle East, Africa)

Political Personalities: Political Parties

Antoun Saadeh Collection, 1912-1949
The collection of Antoun Saadeh, (1904-1949), founder of the Syrian Social Nationalist Party (SSNP), consists of 349 black and white photographs (1938-1949) and correspondence penned by him while in South America to his comrades William Bahlis, Jurj Bunduqii , Wadih Abd al-Masih, and Ilyas Fakhuri, and family: brother Edward and wife Julliet al Mir (1939-1947). (Syrian Social Nationalist Party, political science, Lebanon).
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ibrahim Yamout Photo Collection, 1930s–1950s
The collection consists of 87 photos. It includes photos of Ibrahim Yamout (1919-2010) with Anṭūn Saʻādah, founder of the Syrian Social Nationalist Party (SSNP), and other comrades. Yamout joined the SSNP in 1938 and graduated from the American University of Beirut with a B.A. in Business Administration in 1947. He worked at Middle East Airlines as an accountant, then chief accountant for 37 years (1847-1984). Author of articles on economics, commerce, and sociology. (Syrian Social Nationalist Party, political science, Lebanon).
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Middle East Ephemera Collection., 1920s-present

This extensive and unique collection of ephemera, pamphlets, flyers, documents, booklets covers around 80 years (and counting) of Arab history and extends across the Arab world in terms of geographic. It includes documents issued by various political parties and entities, state institutions, activist groups, press clippings, and offers a rare glimpse onto the political and national realities of the Arab world throughout the 20th c. with a special focus on Lebanon and the Palestinian issue.

Check also the political poster collections for posters of parties

Israeli Occupation of South Lebanon PhotoCollection, 1982-1986

Israeli Occupation of South Lebanon Photo Collection, 1982-1986
This collection of 23 photos documents the period of Israeli invasion to Lebanon, with all the destruction, killing, assaults and captivating acts executed by Israeli soldiers; and in return portrays people’s resistance and refusal to surrender. (Israeli Invasion, South Lebanon)

Political Personalities: Lebanon and Arab Counties

CAMES Oral History Collection, 1960s-1970s
The collection consists of 54 interviews with prominent public Arab figures to document the political, educational, social, cultural life in Lebanon and the Middle East during late 1960 and early 1970s. The interviews yielded historical information that would otherwise have gone unrecorded from prominent persons of diverse backgrounds. (Oral history, Community development, Political activists, Education, Nationalism)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Constantine Zurayk Collection, 1909-2000
Constantine Zurayk (1909-2000), historian, educator, and diplomat played a pivotal role as a chronicler and analyst of Arab history and contemporary socio-political issues, including the Nakba (Catastrophe). The collection of 18 linear feet includes mostly Zurayk academic and public service documents, his research, his personal and professional correspondence. It is important for researchers interested in the history of higher education, Arab Nationalism and diplomacy in the Arab World.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Qadri Qal’aji Collection, 1937-1991
Qadri Qalʻaji (1917-1986), was a Syrian journalist, historian, and translator who translated the masterpieces of world literature into Arabic. The collection contains correspondence to Qadrī Qalʻaji, articles by him, as well as his photos with prominent Arab personalities. (Journalism, Politics, Syria, Literature)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Khalil Sukkar Collection, 1885-1965
The small collection of Khalil Sukkar, member of the Jordanian Parliament during the 20th C, includes identity and invitation cards, correspondence, addresses of King Abdallah of Jordan, as well as letters of May Ziadeh’s, and few photos. (Jordan, Politics, Government)

Political Posters: Palestine, Lebanon, etc.

Political Poster Collection, 1960-1980s
The political posters collection, gathered from the walls of AUB Campus, covers two main topics: The Palestinian Question in addition to Lebanon and the Lebanese Civil War. These posters, collected between 1960 and the 1980s, reflect activities, vision and mission of the different Right and Left Lebanese and Palestinian Parties that were active on the Lebanese territory during these twenty years. (Political Science, History, Posters, Middle East)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Organization of Solidarity with the People of Asia, Africa and Latin America Poster Collection, 1960s-1980s
This OSPAAAL collection includes 39 posters published between the 1960s and the 1980s issued by the Organization of Solidarity with the People of Africa, Asia, and Latin America .. OSPAAAL is a non-governmental organization founded in 1966 during the Tri-continental conference in Havana, Cuba, attended by delegations of leftist countries from 82 Asian, Latin American, and African countries, for fighting globalization, imperialism, neoliberalism and defending human rights. (Media Studies, Political Science, History)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Levant Political Poster Collection, 1975-2010
Levant Political Posters collection addresses issues and topics related to political parties in three countries in the Arab region: Lebanon, Palestine, and Syria. It includes posters designed to commemorate special occasions, and to keep alive slogans or statements by political leaders associated with these countries and parties. (Political science, Media studies, History)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lebanese Posters Collection, 1979-2019
A collection of 170 posters from the Lebanon, Palestine, Syria & Yemen, the collection mostly covers a variety of topics ranging from the Lebanese Army to various Lebanese political parties, the Lebanese resistance; and some art activities. The collection is mostly in Arabic. (Political science, Media studies, Art)