LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: Social Service

Rural Development

Anisa Rawda Najjar Collection, 1913-2016

A leading Lebanese activist in the field of rural development and women's rights. She started as one of the first female journalists in the Arab world, where she edited the newsletter of the National School in 1931, and rose as one of the founders and prominent members of several women's associations. She represented Lebanon in international forums and conferences for a long time.

Women Rights

Emily Fares Ibrahim Collection, 1949-2013
Emily Fares Ibrahim, (1914-2011), was a Lebanese writer, poet, and feminist. She was the first woman to run for the parliamentary elections in Lebanon and a notable face of the Lebanese Social Movement. She headed the National Mobilization Committee, 1982, as well as the National Council of Women. The Collection is important for researchers interested in gender studies and women both in politics and social work. Feminism, social service, Women in politics)

Men in Social Work

Abdl al-Salam Shatila Photo Collection, 1934-1974
The small photographic collection comprises 35 photographs dating from 1934 to 1974. The collection documents the life and the cultural, social and philanthropic activities of Dr. ʻAbd al-Salam Shatila, graduate of AUB School of Dentistry 1938, as a member of the Municipal Council of the City of Beirut and of other social associations. (Dentistry, academic degrees)

Middle East Ephemera Collection., 1920s-present

This extensive and unique collection of ephemera, pamphlets, flyers, documents, booklets covers around 80 years (and counting) of Arab history and extends across the Arab world in terms of geographic. It includes documents issued by various political parties and entities, state institutions, activist groups, press clippings, and offers a rare glimpse onto the political and national realities of the Arab world throughout the 20th c. with a special focus on Lebanon and the Palestinian issue.