LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: Description and Travel

Postcards

Sarrafian Brothers Postcard Collection, 1900-1935
The Sarrafian Brothers Postcard Collection of 56 sepia, b & w, and color postcards, mostly published by Sarrafian Studio, established in Beirut 1895. The collection depicts general campus views and shots of 19th C buildings of the American University of Beirut, taken between 1900 and 1930. The collection is of value to researchers interested in urban planning, history of education in the region, and AUB history. (Higher education, AUB history, Architecture)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jamil Hamoudi Collection, 1917-2012
Jamil Hamoudi was an Iraqi artist, art critic, (1924 - 2003) and a leading figure in Iraq’s modern art movement. Hamoudi was a pioneer in using Arabic calligraphy in art, a founding member of the al Hurufiyah movement, a founding editor of several art magazines, and the owner of several art galleries in Paris, London and Baghdad. The collection, 20 linear feet, is a rare record of the cultural exchange between the Arab World and the West, 1940s - 1980s. (Arab Art, Iraqi Art, Exhibitions, Hurufiyyah, Calligraphy)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fouad Khoury Postcard Collection, 1920-1980
The collection of Fouad Khoury (1952-), a Lebanese architect, is primarily composed of 23 black-and-white photographic postcards, published under the title البيت اللبناني . It covers the exteriors of various Lebanese homes and mansions in Beirut, Biqa’, Mount and North Lebanon. It is relevant to researchers interested in urban landscape and Lebanese heritage. (Lebanese Architecture, urban planning, Lebanese heritage).
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jan Just Witkam Postcard Collection, 1925-1927
The small collection of 27 photomechanical postcards, depict different cities and towns in Lebanon like Beirut, Aintoura, Araya, Brummana, Baalbek, and Zahlé. French soldier Yves Savidan, stationed in Rayak, Lebanon, in the 1920s mailed them to his family. Publishers of these postcards included Sarrafian Bros. (17), André Terzis & Fils, Beyrouth-Jerusalem (4), Librairie Stamboul L. Férid (3) etc.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jumana Medlej Postcard Collection, 1960s-2000s
The collection of 598 postcards was received by Antoine Jazzar from friends and family between the 1960s and 2000s. They cover landmarks and archaeological sites of Arab and foreign countries (Tourism, Middle East, Europe, United States)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Issa Iskandar Ma'luf postcard collection, 1925-1940

The ‘Īsá Iskandar al Maʻlūf postcard collection includes 885 postcards that depict scenes from various countries on the African, American, Asian, and European continents. It includes photos of sites, scenes, and people. Some of the postcards are panoramic views, others are of landscapes, monuments, and religious sites, while some show commercial streets, cities, as well as local citizens. No date of publishing or issuance, estimated dates [1925-1940].

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ephemera

Photographs

E. W. Blatchford Collection, 1880-1900
Named after the collector, the Blatchford collection is an important set of around eight hundred photographs covering various regions and countries (Europe, Levant and North Africa), ca. 1880 to 1900. The collection features samples from various important photographers in the Middle East, and depicts landscapes, archeological sites, buildings and architectural details also presents cities, towns, villages, streets and houses; as well as scenes of daily life like sellers, water carriers, and scenes of economic production such as wheat, sugar canes, pottery, etc. (History of Photography, Visual Culture, archaeology, anthropology, cultural studies)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asia Minor Photograph Collection, 1884-1887
This small archeological photograph collection (1884-1887) comprises 120 albumen prints photographs of landmarks in Cappadocia, Lycaonia, Phrygia, Midas, Ayazin and Aleppo. Sites are the ancient acropolis of Afion Hissar in Sepia, the village of Kumbet in Phrygia, the tomb of Midas, the gate of the castle of Aleppo, and others. The collection is a reliable research source for scholars interested in the inscriptions, monuments, and historical geography of Asia Minor region. (Asia Minor, Turkey, Cappadocia, Antiquities, Archaeology)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Frances Copeland Stickles Photo Collection, 1880-1900
A small collection of 10 albumin print photos taken in the late 19th century, featuring historical locations in the Middle East (Cedars, Lebanon, Palmyra, Syria, Palestine and Constantinople, Turkey, etc.). Two photos are by Bonfils Studio, one by Dumas and one by Sebah & Joaillier.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Isa Iskandar al-Maʻluf Photograph Collection, 1890s-1950s
Isa Iskandar al Maʻluf, (1869–1956) was a Lebanese journalist, scholar, historian and a member of the Arab Nahda. The collection contains around 900 photographs related to Isa’s family, his relatives, and acquaintances in Lebanon and diaspora mainly Latin America. The collection originates from early Lebanese studios like Assad Dakouny; Fakhoury; Photo Khatchadour; Assad K. Murhij and Khalil Chahine Malouf etc. (History of Photography Lebanon, Visual Culture, Lebanese Diaspora, Social life and customs Lebanon)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Nahr Ibrahim Photo Collection, [1900]
This small photographic collection comprises 27 black and white photos of Mount Lebanon landscape, particularly Afqa Valley, caves, Roman Temple and waterfall. It is, one of the finest waterfalls in the Middle East that feeds into Nahr Ibrahim, in addition to the splendid wild nature of Jannet Chouwen valley with its diverse plantation. (Ibrahim River, Afqa, Janneh, photography)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Franklin Moore Photograph Collection, 1892-1902
The photographic collection of Franklin Moore, physician and professor of obstetrics (1891-1915) at the Syrian Protestant College, constitutes a historical record of great importance to Lebanon and the American University of Beirut at the turn of the 20th century. The bulk of the images are of the AUB campus, faculty and students; the remaining are images of sites in Lebanon: Baalbeck, the Cedars, and Nahr Ibrahim, as well as some parts of Syria, including Maʻlūlā and Palmyra. (AUB History, History of Photography, Visual Culture)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Three American Sisters Photo Album, ca. 1900s
The album, 120 photos, taken in Lebanon by three American sisters during the Ottoman time portrays the life in the Middle East at the turn of the 20th C. Photos show the protocol of receptions, local peasantry, entertainment and horseracing, village architecture, military processions and bands, as well as sites in Baalbeck, Beirut and Beit-Eddine. The collection is important to researchers interested in the history and travels to the Lebanon during the Ottoman Era. (Lebanon, Ottoman Empire, Description and travel)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Flowers of the Holy Land Photo Album, 1900s
This album, Flowers of the Holy Land, Jerusalem, consists of 12 black and white photos depicting landmarks of Palestine at the turn of the 20th century along with 12 arrangements of pressed flower specimens of the Holy Land, identified in German, English, French. (Palestine, Description & Travel)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Karanis-Fayum Excavations Photo Album , 1924-1935
The Karanis-Fayum Excavations Photo Album, 1924-1935, contains 98 black and white photos that reveal archaeological sites at Karanis-Fayum, University of Michigan Expedition members in group and individual photos, village homes and local workers in addition to a camp house at Kom Aushim (Karanis). (Egypt, Karanis, Roman antiquities, Excavations, Archaeology)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Saul Rosenberg Collection, 1932-1978
Saul Rosenberg, a young American man, studied medicine at the American University of Beirut between 1934 and 1939, to return to the States and finish his specialty as a dermatologist. His collection comprises, 1.6 linear feet, of photographs with few personal items. His photograph collection, 1,512 photos, mainly consists of three photo albums that form a photo diary of his life as a dynamic medical student in Lebanon. The collection is significant to researchers interested in medical education, social culture, and tourism during the 1930s. (Medical education, Tourism, Middle East, Europe)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Middle East Photo Album, 1933-1943
The Middle East Photo Album, of 86 black and white photos, portrays the daily life of Bedouins in the Middle East as well as archeological and touristic sites in Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine and Syria during the 1930s and 1940s. It is important for researchers interested in social life and culture of Arab Bedouins at that time. (Bedouins, Anthropology, Sociology, Middle East)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Robert Black photo album, 1935-1937
The Robert Black photo album includes 289 black and white photographs of events and sceneries from Lebanon, Jordan, Egypt, Iraq, Palestine, Syria as well as Turkey, 1935 -1937. In addition to six Christmas cards of Leavitt family in 1937. (Description and travel, student activities, photograph album)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Richard Sterling Finnie Photograph Collection, 1951
The Richard Sterling Finnie Photograph Collection includes 52 black and white photographs taken by Richard Finnie (1906-1987) in Lebanon and Syria in 1951. Finnie was a documentary filmmaker and photographer who took special interest in keeping memories of individuals, sounds and places, during his visit to these two countries. (Photography, rural life, Lebanese Architecture, Historical sites)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lebanon Tourism Photo Collection, 1969
Lebanon Tourism Photo collection is a small collection of 17 historical images of Lebanon, 1969. The images depict famous archeological sites and places across the country from Beirut to the South, the North, Beqaa and Mount Lebanon. These photos were taken by famous photographers such Fattal, Manoug, Magnin, Varougan and Yetenegian. (Description and t ravel, archaeology, Lebanon)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Frances Copeland Stickles Photo Collection, 1880-1900
Rose Ewald (1884-1960), an American social activist, was associated with Near East Relief for a long period. The small collection consists of 78 black and white photographs and 48 negatives; many are related to the American University of Beirut and some to Robert College of Istanbul. The collection is of value to researchers interested in history of AUB and the American education in the region. (AUB history, American Missionaries)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Students Projects Collection, 1920s
The Collection consists of 50 photographs and 113 postcards of AUB bursary Students. It depicts views of their hometowns, daily life, as well as archeological and touristic sites throughout Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Palestine, and Sudan in the 1920s. (AUB, Bursary students, International Students, Description and travel)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Travel and Tourism Ephemera Collection, 1942-2013
The collection includes tourism fliers, brochures, maps and travel guides that mainly focus on Lebanon. Few items depict Syria while some items that cover the Middle East in general. A large part of the collection consists of pamphlets for specific sights or towns issued by the Ministry of Tourism of Lebanon between 1942-2013. The collection is important to researchers interested in tourism in Lebanon and Middle East (Tourism, Lebanon)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Joseph and Joyce Stein Photograph Collection, 1896-1930
The Joseph and Joyce Stein Photograph Collection, 36 prints and an album of 53 negatives, portrays the daily life in cities and towns, as well as several archeological sites in Lebanon between 1896-1930. The collection covers different localities in Lebanon : Cedars, Adonis, Afqa, Raouché, Choueifat etc. The collection also depicts the American University of Beirut buildings and grounds as well as students’ extracurricular activities during the early 20th century. (American University of Beirut, Lebanon, Archeology)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kongstad and Khalaf Collection, 1950-1967
Researchers per Kongstad and Samir Khalaf, joined forces to investigate the urban development of several neighborhoods in Beirut, mainly Hamra District between 1964 and 1967. They published the results of their research in a book titled "Hamra of Beirut – A case of Rapid Urbanization," 1973. This collection includes photographs, slides, maps, negatives, postcards, and notebooks compiled for the survey and the book. (Beirut, Urban development, description and travel, Architecture)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Albert Jacobs Digital Photo Collection, 1927-1929
Albert Jacobs (1910-1963) born in New York, USA, joined the American University of Beirut between 1927 and 1929. The collection consists of 47 digital black and white photos, with a short film prepared by Cliff Jacobs, son of Albert. The collection portrays images of AUB campus, Lebanon, and Syria. It records the life and travels of an international student in the Middle East. It is important to scholars interested in life of AUB students as well as description and travel in the Middle East during the 2nd decade of the 20th century.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Amin al-Mumayyiz Collection, 1950-1997
This small collection of Amin Mumayiz, Iraqi diplomat and AUB graduate 1933, contains personal papers, press clippings, correspondence, manuscripts and drafts of Amin al-Mumayiz’s published books, in addition to 28 postcards of Saudi Arabia, 80 personal photos, as well as a few photos on Saudi Arabia and the United States. (Sociology, Anthropology, Diplomacy 20th Century)

Student Magazines

AUB Students’ Magazine Collection, 1899-1934
The Archives and Special Collections Department holds around 63 student magazines published between 1899 and the 1930s. Most of the magazines were handwritten and few were typed. The magazines, published in Arabic, English, French, and Armenian, dealt with a wide variety of topics including literary and artistic productions, humor, economics, travel, politics, advertisements and University affairs. (AUB History, Education, Students’ Publications, Liberal Arts Education)

Posters

Lebanese Ministry of Tourism Poster Collection, 2011
This collection of 58 posters was published by the Ministry of Tourism to promote Lebanon’s touristic sites & cuisine. The collections features photos of Lebanese cities across all governances; and highlights local food and delicacies. The collection features the work of many photographers like Tony Hage, Kamel Jabber, Fares Jammal, Alfred Moussa, Fulvio Roiter, Clément Tannouri, Ayman Trawi, and Armenak Yéténékian. (Lebanon, Tourism, Lebanese Cuisine)

Travel Guides

Travel Books

Travel books were known as early as the 2^nd century through the writings of Pausanias' Description of Greece and many travelers who followed him. The geographical coverage of this travel books collection is mainly the Middle East. The collection covers mid-19^th c to around mid-20^th c.. View