History

Asad Rustum Collection, 1720-2015
Asad Jibrail Rustum,1897-1965, served at the American University of Beirut from 1927 to 1943 as professor of History and later joined the Lebanese University. Rustum was also the official historian of the Orthodox Patriarchate of Antioch. The collection includes personal documents, correspondence, maps, photos, manuscripts, in addition to some material he compiled during his work at the Egyptian Royal Archives. (History of Lebanon, Eastern Church and Egyptian Royal Archives)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sulayman Abu ʻIzz al-Din Collection, 1920s-1930s
Renowned Lebanese Druze scholar Sulayman Abu ʻIzz al-Din, 1871-1933, was a researcher who accumulated several primary source collections that document Lebanese history as early as the 17th C. This collection comprises Abu Izz al-Din genealogical research on Druze families (i.e.: Arslan, Jumblatt) and notable figures of the Druze society (i.e. Judges, Sheikhs, municipality members) in the Levant. It is a rare selection of genealogical information on this sect. (Levant History, Genealogy, Druze)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Philip Hitti Collection, 1910-1976
Philip Khoury Hitti was a historian and a member of the AUB Board of Trustees (1945-1978). He taught at AUB, Columbia and Princeton Universities. The collection includes Hitti's biographical information, addresses, correspondence, invitation cards, honoring and memorial ceremonies, as well as a bibliography of his work, and research material used by him. (Middle Eastern Studies, History, Higher Education)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Zeine Zeine Collection, 1834-1996
Zeine Nour-Ed-Dine Zeine (1908-1996), historian, alumnus (BA, 1929; MA, 1945), & Professor at the American University of Beirut (AUB) (1930-1974). The collection contains biographical information, addresses, articles, press clippings, correspondence, honoring, and memorial ceremonies, in addition to material related to his work on the history of the Middle East, Europe, and Ottoman Empire. (Middle East History, Ottoman Empire)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Constantine Zurayk Collection, 1909-2000

Constantine Zurayk (1909-2000), historian, educator, and diplomat played a pivotal role as a chronicler and analyst of Arab history and contemporary socio-political issues, including the Nakba (Catastrophe). The collection of 18 linear feet includes mostly Zurayk academic and public service documents, his research, his personal and professional correspondence. It is important for researchers interested in the history of higher education, Arab Nationalism and diplomacy in the Arab World.

Economic History

The Trans-Arabian Pipeline Company, 1949-1998
The Trans-Arabian Pipeline Company (TAPLINE-Makkinje) was a subsidiary of the Arabian American Oil Company (Aramco). The project / pipeline started in Saudi Arabia to end in Zahrani terminal south of Sidon, Lebanon. The pipeline transferred the Saudi oil to Europe through the Zahrani terminal. The Collection includes correspondence, maps, photographs, faxes and receipts, reports; plans of the Sidon Terminal; photographs of workers, tankers, landscape, oil pipelines, and ships. (Economics, History, Middle East, Oil, US-Arab Relations)
see also Tapline: The Trans-Arabian Pipeline Company
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Port of Beirut Photographic Slides, 1994
The Port of Beirut is the main port in Lebanon; It is one of the largest ports on the Eastern Mediterranean. The collection consists of 19 slides on Port of Beirut prepared by AUB medical students for a project. (Port of Beirut, Silos, Warehouse, Employees)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asad Jibrail Rustum Collection, 1720-2015
Asad Jibrail Rustum,1897-1965, served at the American University of Beirut from 1927 to 1943 as professor of History and later joined the Lebanese University. Rustum was also the official historian of the Orthodox Patriarchate of Antioch. Rustum’s Collection includes personal documents, correspondence, maps, photos, manuscripts, in addition to some material he compiled during his work at the Egyptian Royal Archives as well as papers of some Beiruti merchants. (History of Lebanon, Eastern Church and Egyptian Royal Archives)

AUB History

AUB History: a Short Guide

The guide was compiled on the occasion of AUB 150th Anniversary. It was initiated by the Research and Instruction Services and prepared in collaboration with the Archives and Special Collections Department at the University Libraries

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

American University of Beirut Photo Albums, 1953-1956
The American University of Beirut Photo Albums 1953-1956 consist of 179 photographs in two albums. They cover different events, during the presidency of Stephen Penrose and beyond such as Commencement and honoring ceremonies, students’ extracurricular activities and AUB buildings and grounds. The albums also depict the visits of prominent Middle Eastern and international personalities to campus. The collection is relevant to researchers interested in the history of AUB during 1953-1956. (AUB history, student activities)

Archaeology

E. W. Blatchford Collection, 1880-1900
Named after the collector, the Blatchford collection is an important set of around eight hundred photographs covering various regions and countries (Europe, Levant and North Africa), ca. 1880 to 1900. The collection features samples from various important photographers in the Middle East, and depicts landscapes, archeological sites, buildings and architectural details also presents cities, towns, villages, streets and houses; as well as scenes of daily life like sellers, water carriers, and scenes of economic production such as wheat, sugar canes, pottery, etc. (History of Photography, Visual Culture, archaeology, anthropology, cultural studies)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asia Minor Photo Collection, 1884-1887
This small archeological photograph collection (1884-1887) comprises 120 albumen prints photographs of landmarks in Cappadocia, Lycaonia, Phrygia, Midas, Ayazin and Aleppo. Sites are the ancient acropolis of Afion Hissar in Sepia, the village of Kumbet in Phrygia, the tomb of Midas, the gate of the castle of Aleppo, and others. The collection is a reliable research source for scholars interested in the inscriptions, monuments, and historical geography of Asia Minor region. (Asia Minor, Turkey, Cappadocia, Antiquities, Archeology)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Palestine Archaeological Museum Photo Album, 1910-1976
The Palestine Archaeological Museum photo collection (1910-1976), 29 albumen photographic print and 2 postcards, documents the landmarks in Qumran, Palestine. The collection is relevant to researchers interested in archaeology of the Middle East and specifically Palestine. (Palestine, Excavations, Archaeology, Qumran Site, West Bank, Dead Sea scrolls)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Karanis-Fayum Excavations Photo Album , 1924-1935
The Karanis-Fayum Excavations Photo Album, 1924-1935, contains 98 black and white photos that reveal archaeological sites at Karanis-Fayum, University of Michigan Expedition members in group and individual photos, village homes and local workers in addition to a camp house at Kom Aushim (Karanis). (Egypt, Karanis, Roman antiquities, Excavations, Archaeology)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Middle East Photo Album, 1933-1943
The Middle East Photo Album, of 86 black and white photos, portrays the daily life of Bedouins in the Middle East as well as archeological and touristic sites in Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine and Syria during the 1930s and 1940s. It is important for researchers interested in social life and culture of Arab Bedouins at that time. (Bedouins, Anthropology, Sociology, Middle East)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lebanon Tourism Photo Collection, 1969
Lebanon Tourism Photo collection is a small collection of 17 historical images of Lebanon, 1969. The images depict famous archeological sites and places across the country from Beirut to the South, the North, Beqaa and Mount Lebanon. These photos were taken by famous photographers such Fattal, Manoug, Magnin, Varougan and Yetenegian. (Description and travel, archaeology, Lebanon)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Joseph and Joyce Stein Photograph Collection, 1896-1930
The Joseph and Joyce Stein Photograph Collection, 36 prints and an album of 53 negatives, portrays the daily life in cities and towns, as well as several archeological sites in Lebanon between 1896-1930. The collection covers different localities in Lebanon : Cedars, Adonis, Afqa, Raouché, Choueifat etc. The collection also depicts the American University of Beirut buildings and grounds as well as students’ extracurricular activities during the early 20th century. (American University of Beirut, Lebanon, Archeology)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Qatar Petroleum Company Photograph Collection, 1950s-1960s
This small collection consists of 41 black and white photographs by Qatar Petroleum Company (Q.P.C.) Photographic and Printing Department and a tourist's guide by The Ministry of Information. The collection chiefly depicts the life in Qatar between the 1950s and 1960s. There are photos of Zubarah, Um Salal, Qatar airport, Abdullah bin Thani Mosque etc..(Archaeological ruins, Architecture in Doha, Public infrastructure facilities at Doha
More material is available in the Description and Travel Section

AUB history in Photographs

Syrian Protestant College Album, 1907-1913
The photo album of 77 photographs documents various extracurricular activities and events related to the Syrian Protestant College between the years 1907-1913. Images depict athletes during practices and games sports, plays by students, and important visitors to the College. Also included are some photos of buildings and portraits of Daniel and Howard Bliss. (SPC history, extracurricular activities, SPC Students).
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rose Ewald Photo Collection, 1929-1931
Rose Ewald (1884-1960), an American social activist, was associated with Near East Relief for a long period. The small collection consists of 78 black and white photographs and 48 negatives; many are related to the American University of Beirut and some to Robert College of Istanbul. The collection is of value to researchers interested in history of AUB and the American education in the region. (AUB history, American Missionaries)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Most photos about AUB history are available through the AUB library catalog)

World Wars in Lebanon

Howard Bliss Collection, 1880-1924
Howard Bliss was a missionary educator, 2nd president of the Syrian Protestant College (1903-1920), and a member of the Syrian delegation to the Paris Peace Conference, 1919.The collection comprises Bliss correspondence with David Stuart Dodge (Chairman of the SPC BOT), Turkish officials, American Consulate, faculty members and others. (AUB History, American Missionaries, Education, WWI, Ottoman Period)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bayard Dodge Collection, 1895-1972
This collection includes documents related to Bayard Dodge’s tenure at AUB, as Director of West Hall and as the third President of the University between 1923 and 1948. This collection includes documents related to his scholarship and teaching activities, as well as correspondence, letters of condolences, background research materials, and drafts of, his books Al-Azhar and Al- Fihrist (translation). (AUB History, Education, Arab American Relations, French Mandate)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edward F. Nickoley Collection, 1917-1937
The collection of Edward Nickoley, educator, AUB Acting President (1919-1923) and IC Acting Principal contains his correspondence with AUB community and other prominent coordinates like commander of French forces Henri Gouraud and Prince Faysal of Iraq. It also documents faculty appointments and Nickoley’s experience with famine in Syria during WWI. (AUB History, Education, Famine in Syria, Ottoman Period, French Mandate)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
William A. West Collection, 1941-1962
Born in Beirut in 1894, Professor William West spent his entire teaching career at AUB, retiring in 1959 as head of the Department of Chemistry. This archival collection contains around 165 personal letters, photos, 1 poem and 2 postcards. The letters, written by William West, between 1941 and 1946 to his family, give a glimpse onto the living conditions of an American professor at AUB during this critical period and constitute a treasure trove for historians and social scientists interested in WWII scene in the Middle East. (AUB Faculty, WWII, Middle East).

World Wars in ME in Photos

Imperial War Museum Photo Albums: WWI and WWII 1916-1919, 1941-1944
Photo albums from the Imperial War Museum (1916-1919; 1941-1944) documenting the last year of the Ottoman Empire of World War I, the British Mandate, and World War II periods. The images depict Palestine (the West Bank and Gaza Strip), Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, Iraq, and Egypt. There is also some coverage of the Gulf including Mecca (Saudi Arabia) and Kuwait. Pictures portray religious ceremonies, daily life, arts and crafts, archaeological sites, landscape, demonstrations and conflicts, political leaders, and prominent personalities. (Photos, World War I, World War II)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
World War I and King-Crane Commission Photo Album, 1918-1919
This album contains photographs that depict people and focal events that happened in the Middle East at the end of World War I. The most significant of the photographs are King Crane Commission of 1919. Included also are photographs of the British and Arab troops and portraits of political leaders and military officials. (World War I in, King-Crane Commission)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
World War I in Palestine Photo Album, 1914-1918
A small album of 20 photos that well describe World War I in Palestine. The photos document important cities in Palestine like Kuweilfeh, Jerusalem, Jericho, Jaffa, Beersheba, and Er-Ramleh. It is relevant to researchers interested in the history of the Middle East during the Great War. (Palestine, Turkey, World War I)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Antoura Orphanage Photo Album, 1915-1918
The photo album of 29 photographic prints depicts scenes of the daily life, workshops, sports, kitchen, classrooms, refectory, and bedrooms of the orphans of the Armenian Genocide at Antoura Orphanage, Lebanon, between 1915 and 1918. This small collection is relevant to researchers interested in the Armenian Genocide, children refugees in Lebanon and the relief efforts of the Syrian Protestant College (SPC) during World War I. (World War I, Orphanages Lebanon, Armenians)

Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: History and Archaeology