LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: Medicine

Schools

School of Pharmacy, 1871-1978
The School of Pharmacy was established in 1871. During the civil war, this school faced some financial issues that lead to its closure in 1978. Some of its most famous professors are Dr. Amin Farid Haddad, Rudolph Johannes Pauly, Triantorphyllo Constantine Ladakis, Walter Adam Booth, & Charles Abou-Chaar. The collection includes some articles about the School of Pharmacy as featured in AUB publications, discussing the school's history between 1871 and 1978. In addition, there are some handwritten recommendation letters for some graduate pharmacy students between 1887 and 1900. (Pharmacy, Teaching)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
School of Dentistry, 1910-1940
Introduced in 1910, as the first dental school in the Near East region, AUB’s Department of Dentistry started with only Dr. Arthur Dray and Dr. Amin Haddad. The collection includes copies of articles about the school as featured in AUB publications, discussing the school's history between 1910 and 1940. (Dentistry, Teaching)

Denitrsy: Graduates

Abdul-Massih Massuh Collection, 1918-1944
A dentist from Hama, Syria, Dr. Massuh (1902-n/a) DDS. 1925 studied and practiced dentistry during the transition from Ottoman Empire to French Mandate and finally to independent Lebanon. The collection includes work permits, certificates, diplomas, and medical oath. The documents in the collection represent dentistry teaching and practice during early 20th C. (Dentistry, academic degrees)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hussam Eddine Husami Collection, 1923-1959
Dr. Hussam Eddine Khalil Husami collection (1923-1959) includes degrees, certificates, and work permits, with few photos, two of which are AUB Preparatory Department trip to Jubeil and Nahr El Kalb, in addition to two other photos of Dr. Husami on different occasions. The collection is of interest to researchers interested in Dentistry teaching at the AUB during the first half of the 20th C. (Dentistry, academic degrees)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Abd al-Salam Shatila Photograph Collection, 1934-1974
The small photographic collection comprises 35 photographs dating from 1934 to 1974. The collection documents the life and the cultural, social and philanthropic activities of Dr. ʻAbd al-Salam Shatila, graduate of AUB School of Dentistry 1938, as a member of the Municipal Council of the City of Beirut and of other social associations. (Dentistry, academic degrees)

General Medicine: Graduates

Habib Salim Collection, 1896-1922
Habib Salim (1876-1921), physician, born in Nusf Jbeil, Nablus, Palestine; graduated from the American University of Beirut, M.D. 1905. The collection consists of twelve registry deeds of lands mainly of the Salim, Abs, and Abou Musallem families in Nablus during the Ottoman period, 1896-1899, in addition to the Habib Salim medical diploma, death certificate and three digital photos as well as seven Arabic notebooks. The documents offer a rare and valuable glimpse into land ownership in Ottoman Palestine, specifically Nablus. (Medicine, Palestine, Land ownership, AUB Alumni)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Saul Rosenberg Collection, 1932-1978
Saul Rosenberg, (1912-1988), an American citizen, studied medicine at the American University of Beirut between1934 and 1939, to return to the United States and finish his specialty as a dermatologist. His collection comprises,1.6 linear feet, of photographs with few personal items. His photograph collection, 1,512 photos, mainly consists of three photo albums that form a photo diary of his life as a dynamic medical student in Lebanon. The collection is significant to researchers interested in medical education, social culture, and tourism during the 1930s. (Medical education, Tourism, Middle East, Europe)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Nassib Habib Hammam Collection 1920s, 1960s
Lebanese physician MD 1932. Private practitioner, June-Nov. 1932, at Shweir, Lebanon; .spent one-year internship in Tripoli at
Kennedy Memorial Hospital. 1942-43; medical officer with I.P.C.. This small collection of Nassib Habib Hammam (MD 1932), contains 21 photographs, some correspondence and minutes of meetings of the AUB Alumni Association Tripoli Branch during the presidency of Dr. Hammam from 1960 to 1964. (Students, AUB Alumni Association- North Lebanon Chapter, AUB History)

Hospitals

The Lebanon Hospital for the Insane (later Lebanon Hospital for Mental Diseases, finally the Lebanon Hospital for Mental and Nervous Disorders) was established by Theophilus Waldmeier, Swiss Quaker missionary who worked with British and American missionaries, in 1898 at Asfouriyeh in the foothills of Mount Lebanon just east of Beirut. This collection of annual reports and appeals from the Saab Medical Library of the American University of Beirut covers most of its years of operation. The whole collection of archival material is available at the University Archives Department

Arab National Hospital Album, [1948]
The Arab National Hospital, in Beit Jala, Bethlehem area, was founded in 1948 by passionate doctors trying to serve Palestinian people who were driven out of their homeland during the Nakbah. The 23 black and white photos portray the hospital medical team during his morning rounds in men and women wards, examining X-rays and operating on patients etc. (Medicine, Palestine, Hospital staff)

Minutes of Meetings

SPC/AUB Medical Division Faculty Minutes, 1908-1979
The Medical Division Faculty Minutes of Meetings of the Syrian Protestant College & the American University of Beirut Collection is around 8 linear feet of archival material covering the years 1908 to 1979. The minutes include discussions, decisions related to finances, tuitions, students’ scholarships, grants, as well as faculty promotion and tenure, interdepartmental relations, reports, etc. (Faculty of Medicine, American University of Beirut, Education)