 |
 |
 |
The AUB University Archives document the history of AUB since its inception in 1866, until the present. Our collections feature around 2,000 linear feet of archival material relating to every aspect of AUB's history (administrative, academic, and extra-curricular activities, etc.). Besides written documents, our AUB Archives comprise photographs, postcards, posters, manuscripts, maps, audio-visuals, as well as some AUB-related artifacts. A few noteworthy documents in our Collections include the following: early AUB Presidential papers related to the founding of the Syrian Protestant College in 1866, and to the Edwin Lewis Darwin crisis in 1882; records of early Missionaries' educational activities in the region (e.g. papers of the Near East Colleges Association); documents pertaining to WWI; significant students' publications documenting the socio-political climate in the area, including handwritten magazines from as early as 1899, and al-Urwa al-Wuthqah, the archives of the Lee Observatory since its founding in 1873 until its closing in 1979; papers related to many famous AUB-ites and famous Lebanese and Arab intellectuals, journalists, musicians, politicians, social activists and artists, (Jurji Zaidan, May Ziadeh, Asad Rustum, Constantine Zurayq, Al- Amīr Shakīb Arslān, Anthony Shadid, Walid Gholmieh, Zaki Nassif, Jamil Hammoudi, Emily Fares Ibrahim, Anisa Rawda Najjar, Abdallah Al Yafi, Shafiq Wazan, Saeb Salam and many more.)
This subject guide, a work in progress, provides a glimpse into the wealth of collections available at the AUB Archives and Special Collections Department subdivided by variant themes. It covers the processed collections only. It is just a starting point for research at the Archives and Special Collections Department. It is not and cannot be inclusive of all possible research topics that can originate from these resources.
