LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: Urban Planning and Architecture

Urban Planning in Lebanon

The Farid Trad collection (some 12 feet) includes maps, plans, and photos documenting the urban planning, and fabric of Beirut and a few other cities in the region, from the 1940s on. The collection is a testimony to the birth of modern architecture in the region, offering a rare document of some key modern architectural buildings in Lebanon (UNESCO building, 1947, Adlieh Building, etc.), the airport warehouses, Cinema Dunia, and Hotel Regent, downtown Beirut, Jisr al Wati (al wati bridge) and Hotel Samiramis (Damascus). It is salient for architects, urban planners, anthropologists, historians, economists, as well as critical theorists and activists interested in the social and urban history of Lebanon.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downtown Beirut Photo Collection, 2011
This collection of photos of Downtown Beirut portrays a part of Beirut’s story in the words of the city’s own Pied Piper, Ronnie Chatah, creator of the popular Walk Beirut historical tour of the city. The tour itinerary usually covers, but is not limited to, the Banyan Tree outside the AUB Medical Gate at Bliss Street & Martyrs’ Square. (Beirut Central District, Walking Tours, Marytrs’ Square)

Port of Beirut Photographic Slides, 1994

Port of Beirut Photographic Slides, 1994
The Port of Beirut is the main port in Lebanon; It is one of the largest ports on the Eastern Mediterranean. The collection consists of 19 slides on Port of Beirut prepared by AUB medical students for a project. The collection is important for scholars interested in urban planning and economics. (Port of Beirut, Silos, Warehouse, Employees)

for more material see also description and Travel Section

Architecture of Lebanon

Isa Iskandar Ma'luf postcard collection , 1925-1940

The ‘Īsá Iskandar al Maʻlūf postcard collection includes 785 postcards that depict scenes from various countries on the African, American, Asian, European continents. It includes photos of sites, scenes, and people. Some of the postcards are panoramic views, others are of landscapes, monuments, and religious sites, while some show commercial streets, cities, as well as local citizens. No date of publishing or issuance, estimated dates [1925-1940].

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Richard Sterling Finnie Photograph Collection, 1951
The Richard Sterling Finnie Photograph Collection includes 52 black and white photographs taken by Finnie (1906-1987) in Lebanon and Syria in 1951. Finnie was a documentary filmmaker and photographer who took special interest in keeping memories of individuals, sounds and places, during his visit to these two countries. (Photography, rural life, Lebanese Architecture, Historical sites)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Nasri Khattar Collection, 1932-2008
Nasri Khattar (1910-1998) was an AUB Alumnus (BBA 1930) and a Lebanese architect-typographer. The Nasri Khattar collection, 13 linear feet, includes Nasri Khattar’s academic and scholarly work, and a life’s work in engineering and architecture; it also includes his pioneering designs, most notably of which was his ambitious initiative to design a Unified Arabic Font. Also, included in the collection is his correspondence with Remington Rand Inc., IBM, Aramco and other business associates. This collection is an invaluable source of information for scholars interested in architecture, anthropology, design, education, typography, and visual culture. (Unified Arabic Alphabet, Arabic type, Typographers, Fonts, Architecture)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fouad Khoury Postcard Collection, 1920-1980
The collection of Fouad Khoury (1952-), a Lebanese architect, is primarily composed of 23 black-and-white photographic postcards, published under the title البيت اللبناني . It covers the exteriors of various Lebanese homes and mansions in Beirut, Biqa’, Mount and North Lebanon. It is relevant to researchers interested in urban landscape and Lebanese heritage. (Lebanese Architecture, urban planning, Lebanese heritage)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sarrafian Brothers Postcard Collection of the American University of Beirut, 1900-1935
The Collection consists of 56 sepia, b & w, and color postcards, mostly published by Sarrafian Studio, established in Beirut 1895. The collection depicts general campus views and shots of 19th C buildings of the American University of Beirut, taken between 1900 and 1930. The collection is of value to researchers interested in urban planning, history of education in the region, and AUB history. (Higher education, AUB history, Architecture)

Urban Planning in Lebanon

Kongstad and Khalaf Collection, 1950-1967
Researchers per Kongstad and Samir Khalaf, joined forces to investigate the urban development of several neighborhoods in Beirut, mainly Hamra District between 1964 and 1967. They published the results of their research in a book titled "Hamra of Beirut – A case of Rapid Urbanization," 1973. This collection includes photographs, slides, maps, negatives, postcards, and notebooks compiled for the survey and the book. (Beirut, Urban development, description and travel, Architecture)

Architecture of the Arab Countries: Qatar, Saudi Arabia ...

Qatar Petroleum Company Photograph Collection, 1950s-1960s
This small collection consists of 41 black and white photographs by Qatar Petroleum Company (Q.P.C.) Photographic and Printing Department and a tourist's guide by The Ministry of Information. The collection chiefly depicts the life in Qatar between the 1950s and 1960s. There are photos of Zubarah, Um Salal, Qatar airport, Abdullah bin Thani Mosque and others.(Archaeological ruins, Architecture in Doha, Public infrastructure facilities at Doha)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Amin al-Mumayyiz Collection, 1950-1997
This small collection of Amin Mumayiz, Iraqi diplomat and AUB graduate 1933, contains personal papers, press clippings, correspondence, manuscripts and drafts of Amin al-Mumayiz’s published books, in addition to 28 postcards of Saudi Arabia, 80 personal photos, as well as a few photos on Saudi Arabia and the United States. (Sociology, Anthropology, Diplomacy 20th Century)