LibGuides: Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: Gender

Lebanese Women Activists

Evelyne Bustros Collection, 1878-2012
The collection gives a glimpse into the life of Mrs. Evelyne Bustros and the political scene in Lebanon during the Mandate period, independence and the formation of the State, as well as onto the socio-political position of women in Lebanese society during this period. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, clippings, accounting books; published material, as well as some ephemera. (Gender Studies, Socio-economic and political history of modern Lebanon, Middle Eastern Studies, French Mandate, Independence.)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
May Ziadeh Folder, 1920s-1930s
May Ziadeh (1886-1941) a Lebanese–Palestinian poet and writer. The Archives holds 4 original letters for May Ziadeh, magazine articles, a pamphlet and some addresses. May was frequently invited to the American University of Beirut where she delivered four speeches. The first lecture she delivered at AUB was in December 1922 while her last visit was on December 20, 1938 to speak about the “The strength and weakness in our spiritual life”. (May Ziadeh, Arab feminists, Correspondence)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Zahiya Kaddoura Collection, 1944-2014
Dr. Zahiya Kaddoura, (1920-2002), a pioneer woman who taught History and Islamic Studies, became the first woman Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities at the Lebanese University. This collection includes her autobiography, certificates and honors, correspondence with various subjects from Egypt and Lebanon, published research, in addition to some ephemera. (Gender Studies, Education, Lebanese University)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Emily Fares Ibrahim Collection, 1949-2013
Emily Fares Ibrahim, (1914-2011) , was a Lebanese writer, poet, and feminist. She was the first woman to run for the parliamentary elections in Lebanon and was a notable face of the Lebanese Social Movement. She headed the National Mobilization Committee, established in 1982, as well as the National Council of women. The Collection consists of photos, correspondence and audiovisuals etc. and is important for researchers interested in gender studies and women both in politics and social work..
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lamia Rustum Shehadeh Collection, 1949-2016
Lamia Rustum Shehadeh (1940-) is a Lebanese researcher, writer, and educator known for her contributions in women's right and gender studies. The collection comprises personal documents, students' papers, research materials, publications. This collection provides valuable insights into Shehadeh's career, research, advocacy, and contributions to women's issues in Lebanon and beyond. (Women, gender)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anisa Rawda Najjar Collection, 1913-2016

Anisa Rawda (1913-2016) was a leading Lebanese activist in the field of rural development and women's rights. She started as one of the first female journalists in the Arab world, where she edited the newsletter of the National School in 1931, and rose as one of the founders and prominent members of several women's associations. She represented Lebanon in international forums and conferences for a long time.

Women in Arab Press (1892-1925)

Women Pioneers in Arab Press Exhibit

During the 19^th century, the Arab world witnessed the rise of pioneer figures who struggled to revive Classical Arabic literature. They produced important works, which paved the way for further future achievements. They were succeeded, in the late 19^th and early 20^th centuries, by a group of committed authors, who laid the foundation of modern journalism, drama, fiction, and poetry, and their works were characterized by deep interest in social reform. Women, as well as men, participated in the movement and several women writers supported women’s emancipation and joined the general claim for national independence, social justice, and educational reform.

American Women activists in Lebanon

Fine Arts and Art History Collection, 1952-present
This collection documents the history of the Department of Fine Arts and Art History (FAAH) at AUB,. The collection includes correspondence, annual and administrative reports, syllabi, exhibitions’ related material, photographs, scrapbooks, invitations cards, etc. as well as other documents related to the work of the prominent artists that were among its founding faculty members like Maryette Charlton, and others.. (AUB History, Art History, Art Education Visual Culture)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Genevieve Maxwell Collection, 1950-2000
Genevieve Maxwell, (1906-2004) an American journalist and social scene columnist, who moved to Lebanon in 1953, worked at AUB and Daily star. Maxwell’s collection consists of 1000 photos and 3 linear feet of archival material that portrays the social, political, diplomatic, and cultural life in Lebanon and neighboring countries. (Women journalist, social life, skiing, higher education Lebanon)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Henrietta Butler Smith Collection, 1827-1995
This collection includes correspondence of the family of Mrs. Henrietta "Hetty" Butler Smith, (1815-181893) wife of missionary Reverend Eli Smith. It contains letters by Mrs. Smith to her two sons, Edward “Ned” Robinson Smith (artist), and Benjamin Eli Smith (editor of the Century Dictionary). These letters shed light on the life of American Missionaries in the Middle East, Europe and the United States during late 19th century early 20th century. (Gender Studies, American Missionaries, Socio-economic history)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mary R. Robinson Collection, 1960-1969
First Dean of Women at the American University of Beirut (AUB), Mary R. Robinson, held office from 1960 to 1969, providing services for women students in all areas of university life. The collection is comprised of photos, memoirs, papers, correspondence, annual reports, etc. during Robinson’s time at AUB. (Women college students, student activities, women athletics)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mary Winifred Bushakra Collection, 1938-1972
An American who was Head of AUB women resident Halls. This small collection of Mary Winifred Bushakra,(1888-1978), papers, one linear foot, includes her biography, an obituary and some correspondence, 1938-1972. The letters were written by Mary to Emilie Goodale, a teacher in Newark, New Jersey, USA, detailing Winifred’s life as an American woman in Lebanon, and describing the social life of Lebanese Druze. The collection is a reliable source for scholars interested in social life and customs in Lebanon. (Social life, Druze)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rose Ewald Photo Collection, 1929-1931
Rose Ewald (1884-1960), an American social activist, was associated with Near East Relief for a long period. The small collection consists of 78 black and white photographs and 48 negatives; many are related to the American University of Beirut and some to Robert College of Istanbul. The collection is of value to researchers interested in history of AUB and the American education in the region. (AUB history, American Missionaries)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Three American Sisters Photo Album, ca. 1900s
The album, 120 photos, taken in Lebanon by three American sisters during the Ottoman time portrays the life in the Middle East at the turn of the 20th C. Photos show the protocol of receptions, local peasantry, entertainment and horseracing, village architecture, military processions and bands, as well as sites in Baalbeck, Beirut and Beiteddine. The collection is important to researchers interested in the history and travels to the Lebanon during the Ottoman Era. (Lebanon, Ottoman Empire, Description and Travel)
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Lebanese Women in AUB Photo Collections

Isa Iskandar al-Maʻluf Photo Collection, 1890s-1950s
'Issa Ma'luf, was a Lebanese Journalist and scholar (1868-1956). The collection contains around 900 photographs related to Isa Maluf family, relatives, and acquaintances. The collection originates from early Lebanese and Brazilian studios & displays the life and customs of women and men in Lebanon and diaspora. (History of Photography Lebanon, Visual Culture, Lebanese Diaspora, Social life and customs Lebanon)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Ghandour Fathallah El-Sheikh Collection, 1900-2010
The Ghandour Fathallah El-Sheikh Collection comprises 154, digital copies of family photos, The collection depicts the life of a Muslim Sunni Beiruti family during the 20th century, family genealogy, achievements, social life, and ceremonies, (Anthropology, sociology, social economics).
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
George Cyre Costume Collection, 1930
Georges Cyr (1881-1964) was a true pioneer of modern art. He taught painting and the history of art, wrote numerous essays, and lectured on the subject. This small collection consists of seven reproductions of watercolors which are important records of ethnic communities in Lebanon and Syria in the 1930s. (Lebanese costumes, Syrian costumes)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
E. W. Blatchford Collection, 1880-1900
Named after the collector, the Blatchford collection is an important set of around eight hundred photographs covering various regions and countries (Europe, Levant and North Africa), ca. 1880 to 1900. The collection features samples from various important photographers in the Middle East, and depicts landscapes, archeological sites, buildings and architectural details also presents cities, towns, villages, streets and houses; as well as scenes of daily life like sellers, water carriers, and scenes of economic production such as wheat, sugar canes, pottery, etc. (History of Photography, Visual Culture, archaeology, anthropology, cultural studies)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Traditional Lebanese Costume Collection, 1960s
The collection consists of 6 black and white sketches of traditional Lebanese costumes. (Traditional Costumes, Ministry of Tourism, Lebanon)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Aida Kanafani Zahar Photo Collection,1977-1998
Aida Kanafani-Zahar (1952-) a Lebanese anthropologist . The collection taken between 1978 and 1998, is mainly about Lebanon, Syria and United Arab Emirates. The photos feature houses, women’s clothes and ornaments, traditional professions, muneh, etc. (Middle East, sociology, anthropology, and food culture)

Oral History Interviews

CAMES Oral History Collection, 1960s-1970s
The collection consists of 54 interviews with prominent public Arab figures to document the political, educational, social, cultural life in Lebanon and the Middle East during late 1960 and early 1970s. The interviews yielded historical information that would otherwise have gone unrecorded from prominent persons of diverse backgrounds. (Oral history, Community development, Political activists, Higher Education, Nationalism)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ras Beirut Oral History Collection, 2013-2014
The collection consists of 63 interviews with a group of Ras Beirutis, from different educational backgrounds and social statuses all known as the ‘original’ families of Ras Beirut. Open-ended interviews were conducted by women researchers, 2014. The participants list includes men and women over the age of seventy; to talk about their memories of Ras Beirut before the Lebanese Civil War . (Oral history, Memory, social aspects, sociology, cultural interaction, Ras Beirut, Urbanism)