Archives and Special Collections Subject Guide: Minorities

The photo album of 29 photographic prints depicts scenes of the daily life, workshops, sports, kitchen, classrooms, refectory, and bedrooms of the orphans of the Armenian Genocide at Antoura Orphanage, Lebanon, between 1915 and 1918. This small collection is relevant to researchers interested in the Armenian Genocide, children refugees in Lebanon and the relief efforts of the Syrian Protestant College (SPC) during World War I. (World War I, Orphanages Lebanon, Armenians)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Archives and Special Collections Department holds around 63 student magazines published between 1899 and the 1930s. Most of the magazines were handwritten and few were typed. The magazines, published in Arabic, English, French, and Armenian, dealt with a wide variety of topics including literary and artistic productions, humor, economics, travel, politics, advertisements and University affairs. (AUB History, Education, Students’ Publications, Liberal Arts

Zeine Nour-Ed-Dine Zeine (1908-1996), historian, alumnus (BA, 1929; MA, 1945), & Professor at the American University of Beirut (AUB) (1930-1974). The Zeine Nour-Ed-Dine Zeine collection contains biographical information, addresses, articles, press clippings, correspondence, honoring, and memorial ceremonies, in addition to material related to his work on the history of the Middle East, Europe, and Ottoman Empire. (Middle East History, Ottoman Empire)

This small collection of Mary Winifred Bushakra,(1888-1978), papers, one linear foot, includes her biography, an obituary and some correspondence, 1938-1972. The letters were written by Mary to Emilie Goodale, a teacher in Newark, New Jersey, USA, detailing Winifred’s life as an American woman in Lebanon, and describing the social life of Lebanese Druze. The collection is a reliable source for scholars interested in social life and customs in Lebanon. (Social life, Druze)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shakib Arslan, a Lebanese politician and diplomat, poet, and prolific writer, (1869-1946), who rallied for Arab Independence from the French and British Mandates. His collection of correspondence and photos spans the years 1936 to 1948; including many letters exchanged between Arslan and his friend and publisher, Mohammad Ali al-Tahir (editor of ālshura, ālshabāb). (French Mandate, Levant, Modern Intellectual History, Political Science, Middle East)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Renowned Lebanese Druze scholar Sulayman Abu ʻIzz al-Din, )1871-1933(, was a researcher and شى avid collector who accumulated several primary source collections that document Lebanese history as early as the 17th C. This collection comprises Abu Izz al-Din genealogical research on Druze families (i.e.: Arslan, Jumblatt) and notable figures of the Druze society (i.e. Judges, Sheikhs, municipality members) in the Levant. It is a rare selection of genealogical information on this sect. (Levant History, Genealogy, Druze).
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The collection of Lokman Meho, former American University of Beirut (AUB) University Librarian (2009-2021), is a combination of his work from his beginnings as a student during the late 1980s at AUB, North Carolina Central University (NCC), the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC); and later as a Professor of Library Science at SUNY, Indiana University. The collection is important to researchers in library science and research on minorities. (AUB Students, AUB Faculty, Library Science)