Skip to main content

Resource Hub for Thesis Writers: Finding Resources

This guide provides all resources related to project, thesis, and dissertation writing and submission process at AUB.

How to find articles and journals

Articles

  • Go to the library list of databases, select from "All Subjects" drop down menu the subject of your interest. Then click on a database.
     
  • You can also search using the SearchAll on the Library's homepage, and refine your search by choosing limits from the left side options (date range, scholarly/peer reviewed, language, etc.).

 

When articles are not accessible, you can request them by filling the Document Delivery form. For more information, contact DDS by email: dds@aub.edu.lb

 

Journals

  • Search on the Journal Finder. Type the name of the journal or its abbreviation and Search.
  • If the journal is available, you will see it listed in the results, with a date range for availability and link to access it online.
  • If it says "University Library Print Collections", it means the journal is available physically at the Library, and you need to check it in person.
  • You can also browse the journals by subject.

Books & e-Books

  • You can search using the SearchAll on the Library's homepage, then refine your search by choosing "Book / eBook" from the limits on the left side. The results will contain both print books and e-books.
  • Click on "Full-Text Online" to access the ebook, or "Check Availability" to see if the book/e-book is available and how to access it.
  • For the print book, if it is available for loan, send an email to cc05@aub.edu.lb with the Title of the book and the Call Number (ex. J 232.09:D87:c.1) requesting to borrow it.*

 

e-Book Chapters

  • You can search using the SearchAll on the Library's homepage, then refine your search by choosing "Book Chapter" from the limits on the left side.
  • Click on "Full-Text Online" to access the chapter.

 

When book chapters are not accessible, you can request them by filling the Document Delivery form. For more information, contact DDS by email: dds@aub.edu.lb

 

e-Books Only

  • On the e-book finder page, you can search by title, words in title, or ISBN.
  • On the library's list of databases, select from "All Database Types" drop down menu "Books". Then click on a database and search.

 

 

* Measures taken during COVID-19 Pandemic.

Here's where you can find Theses presented at AUB or elsewhere:

At AUB

  • Go to Advanced Search within the Library Catalog, under "Material Type" select Dissertation | Thesis | Project while holding the CTRL or Command key. Type your keywords and hit Submit.
  • You can also b​​rowse the AUB students' Theses in ​​​​​AUB ScholarWorks​

 

Worldwide

 

For additional resources on finding theses and dissertations: Find Dissertations & Theses & Open Access Theses

Archives and Primary Sources

The Library holds a very important collection of  primary sources, including historical newspapers and governmental documents and manuscripts.

 

Audio Visual Materials

  • Search on the Library Catalog. Under "Material Type", select the type of items that you're looking for, type your keywords and hit Submit.
  • Finding Creative Commons Images (unrestricted use) - Searches several sites for images and media files that fall under the Creative Commons license. Sites include Flickr, Google Images, Wikimedia Commons and many others.

Research Guides by Subject

On the Research guides page, select the subject of your interest and check out the research guides in your discipline.

 

For help in doing research: Doing Research.

For help in citing your sources: How to Cite Your Sources, EndNote, Mendeley