Thesis Writing Hub: Planning your Research

Resources to help you write your Thesis proposal:

Book Chapters

• Thomas, D. R. & Hodges, I. D. (2010). Preparing and Writing a Research Proposal. In Thomas, D. R., & Hodges, I. D. Designing and Managing your Research Project: Core Skills for Social and Health Research (pp. 48-63). London: SAGE Publications Ltd doi: 10.4135/9781446289044

• Suter, W. N. (2012). Writing Research Proposals. In Suter, W. N. Introduction to Educational Research: A Critical Thinking Approach (pp. 449-467). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: 10.4135/9781483384443

• Reardon, D. F. (2006). Writing the Project Proposal. In Reardon, D. F. Sage Essential Study Skills: Doing your undergraduate project (pp. 64-84). London: SAGE Publications, Ltd. doi: 10.4135/9781849209076

Encyclopedia Entries

• Mills, A. J., Durepos, G., & Wiebe, E. (2010). Dissertation Proposal. In Encyclopedia of Case Study Research (Vols. 1-0). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: 10.4135/9781412957397.n118

• Given, L. M. (2008). Research Proposal. In The SAGE encyclopedia of qualitative research methods (Vols. 1-0). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: 10.4135/9781412963909.n396

Videos

Databases

For more resources search the below databases:

• SAGE Research Methods Online
• SAGE Research Methods Video

Web Resources

• Dissertation e-Learning Companions from ProQuest

For guidelines on the approval process of your Thesis topic and/or Committee, please contact the Graduate Council.

Resources to help you with your Literature Review:

Books

Book Chapter

• McGregor, S. (2018). Literature review. In McGregor, S. Understanding and evaluating research (pp. 177-204). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc doi: 10.4135/9781071802656

Videos

Databases

For more resources search the below databases:

• SAGE Research Methods Online
• SAGE Research Methods Video

Educational Websites

• The Literature Review: A Few Tips On Conducting It - University of Toronto

Resources about Research Methodology:

Books

Databases

For more resources search the below databases:

• Arabic Research Methods Library of Alexandria
• Research Methodology
• Encyclopedia of Research Design
• SAGE Research Methods Online
• SAGE Research Methods Video

Educational Websites

• Doing Research: Research Methodology - American University of Beirut
• The Methodology - University of Southern California

To learn about the best practices to manage your data, check out this page by the Data Services Librarian at AUB: Data Management.

It is essential to abide by the AUB Policy on Academic Integrity and Professional Conduct and the Research Ethics throughout your thesis writing process.

If your research involves humans participants, please refer to Institutional Review Board (IRB) Website.

The mandate of the IRB is to provide ethical and regulatory oversight of research that involves human subjects by primarily using the highest ethical standards for human research protections in all human subjects research by upholding the ethical principles delineated in the Belmont Report.

You may check also: Copyright and Your Dissertation or Thesis:Ownership, Fair Use, and Your Rights and Responsibilities by ProQuest.