LibGuides: Find Dissertations & Theses: Theses and Dissertations

Thesis at the library

AUB ScholarWorks digital repository
ScholarWorks collects and makes available theses, dissertations, and other projects of AUB faculty and graduates.
Browsing is available by author, title, date and subject.

How to locate & read a digitized thesis

AUBCAT thesis sample search.

Union Catalogs

DART - Europe
A partnership of European libraries which pool information about their electronic theses.
Egyptian Universities' Libraries Consortium
EThOS: Electronic Thesis Online Service
Britisl Library, Search across 250,000+ theses for free and order full text quickly and easily.
Index to Theses in Great Britain and Ireland 1716-
more...less...
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.
Shodhganga
A reservoir of Indian Theses
SUDOC
SUDOC is a French union catalogue which can be restricted to searches on theses and dissertations completed at universities in France.
Theses Canada
1965 onward (coverage varies) Includes references to masters theses and doctoral dissertations accepted by Canadian universities. A full text PDF version is available freely for theses published from 1998 to 2002.
Theses.fr
Theses in France.

Databases

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Its coverage of the USA and Canada is comprehensive, including masters' as well as doctoral theses. 1861-
A 24- page preview is available in full-text for some dissertations published after 1997. Includes open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
more...less...
Coverage of other countries is less thorough, but there are records from individual universities in places as far apart as the Czech Republic, Australia, Thailand, Saudi Arabia and Germany. Coverage of US theses goes back to 1861, US and Canadian theses usually have an abstract.
Subject Databases
Search for theses in subject databases.

Open Access

An Najah University (Nablus)
Birzeit University
HAL
L'archive ouverte pluridisciplinaire
more...less...
dépôt et à la diffusion d'articles scientifiques de niveau recherche, publiés ou non, et de thèses, émanant des établissements d'enseignement et de recherche français ou étrangers, des laboratoires publics ou privés
Index to Theses in Great Britain and Ireland 1716-
more...less...
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716.
JISC Digital Islam: Theses on EThOS
Online access to nearly 1000 Ph.D theses
more...less...
Researchers and librarians working in Islamic Studies now have online access to nearly 1000 Ph.D theses in the subject, spanning over ten years
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
is an Open Access Initiative union catalogue of theses and dissertations from many countries.
more...less...
NDLTD provides access to thousand of citations from digital dissertations and theses. Citations are collected from hundreds of universities around the world, as well as partner organizations, including the American Library Association, OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Proquest/UMI, and Theses Canada.
OAIster
Open access scholarly content
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 1,839,584 theses and dissertations.
OpenDOAR
Directory of Open Access Repositories. Listing and searchind 1700 open access repositories
PQDT Open
UMI Proquest Dissertation and Thesis Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
Worldwide ETD Index
more...less...
This is a global index of freely available electronic theses and dissertations
Open Access Dissertations
more...less...
Includes American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955
Global ETD Search
more...less...
Search the 6,242,472 electronic theses and dissertations contained in the NDLTD archive