Skip to Main Content

Beirut's Heritage Buildings

This guide aims to list some of Beirut's heritage buildings and provide resources to assist researchers with their needs on this specific topic.

Beirut's 12 quarters were demarcated in 1921, a year after General Gouraud declared the state of Greater Lebanon.

Map of Beirut's 12 quarters

Source: AUB Neighborhood Initiative, 2015