Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Bibliography

This guide provides basic information on using EndNote (citation management tool)

Making a bibliography using EndNote's Export Feature

How to use EndNote's Export feature to create a bibliography of references from your EndNote library.

Prepared by Robin Bowels (Falvey Memorial Library-Villanova University)

How to Create Standalone Bibliographies

There are many ways to create a standalone bibliography in a Microsoft word document

I. Using Copy Paste Method

  • Open your EndNote Library
  • Select the references you want to include in your bibliography
  • Go to the Edit menu and select
    • Output Style, and choose the style you want e.g. APA 6th ed.
    • Copy Formatted
  • Open your Microsoft word document
  • Place the cursor where you want to insert the bibliography
  • Paste selected references in your word document
  • Name and save the document

II. Using Exporting Method. This method allows you to directly export citations from EndNote into Word document

  • Open Your EndNote Library
  • Select references
  • Go to the Edit menu and select Export
  • Choose the location where you want to save file
  • Name your file
  • Save your file in Rich Text Format
  • Select an Output Style e.g. APA 6th ed
  • Click on Save