LibGuides: EndNote 20: Export from Databases

Export from Databases

Many databases allow you to directly export search results into your EndNote Library.

How to know if a database provides direct export to EndNote?

In g Voluntary Export Restraint (VER) eneral, these databases display terms such as Direct export, Export, Export to citation manager, Export to bibliographic manager, Save citation, Download citation, Send to, etc.

EBSCOhost Databases such as: Academic Search Ultimate, Agricola, APA PsycINFO, Arab World Research Source: AL Masdar, Art Full Text, Business Source Ultimate, CINAHL Complete, Education Research Complete, Food Science and Technology Abstracts, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, and Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) allow direct export.

Conduct your search
Select records by clicking on the blue Folder icon
Click on Folder or Folder View
Check the box next to select/deselect all
Click the Export button
Select the button for Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. EndNote)
Click on Save

For more details watch this video EndNote 20 for Windows - Exporting from EBSCOhost Databases from Pace University Library

ProQuest Databases such as ABI/INFORM Collection, British Periodicals, International Bibliography of Art (IBA), Literature Online (LION), Middle East Newsstream, ProQuest Central, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global allow direct export.

Conduct your search
Select needed records
Go to the icon All save and export options

Scroll to Citation Export
Click on EndNote

Make sure to select: Output to → RIS (works with EndNote, etc.)
Click on Continue

I. Export Multiple records

Conduct your search
Select the records you want to export
Go to Export Selected Citations on top of the results list and from the drop down menu choose Export a RIS file (For EndNote, Procite, Reference Manage ...)

II. Export an Individual record

Conduct your search
Click on the title of the record
Click on Cite
in the pop-up box "Cite This Item" choose Export a RIS file (For EndNote, Procite, Reference Manage ...)

Conduct your search
Select the records you want to export
Scroll to the top of the results list
Click on Export
Choose the Export citation to RIS

N. B. To export from within an individual record, click on Cite to select the Export citation to RIS

Oficina Universitaria de Bibliotecas - Ovid MEDLINE

Conduct your search
Select needed records using one of the following options:
1. Check the box on the left side of each record.
2. Check the ALL box on the top left side of list of records.
3. Type in a range of records in the Range box.
Click on Export
In Export Citation(s), go to
1. Format and select EndNote
2. Fields and select Citation, Abstract, Subject Heading
Click on Export

Conduct your search
Select the records you want to export
On the search result page, go to Send to and select Citation manager
Choose whether to export all results or selection
Click on Create File

For more details watch this video EndNote 20 (Windows) Direct Export from PubMed

Conduct your search
Select the records you want to export
Click on Export on the top of the results list
Choose your file type: RIS Format EndNote, Reference Manager
Go to Choose the information to export & select Citations and abstract information
Click on Export

Click here for more on How do I export documents from Scopus?

Conduct your search
Select the records you want to export
Click on Export on the top of the results list
Select EndNote desktop
In the pop-up box, Export Records to EndNote Desktop
- Choose whether to export the selected results or all records
- Select the information to be exported from the Record Content drop down menu
Click on Export

For more details watch this video EndNote 20 (Windows) Direct Export from new Web of Science

Conduct your search
Click on the title of the record you want to export
Click on Cite or إقتبس
Scroll to Export a Citation
Click on Export EndNote / Citavi / Zotero

Conduct your search
Select the records you want to export by clicking on Add to my references on the right side of each record
Click on View my references on the top right hand-side of the list of results
Click on Download Full Record

Conduct your search
Select the records you want to export by clicking on Add to Basket on the right side of each record
Scroll to the top right hand-side of the page and click on the View Basket icon
In the pop-up box "View Basket" check the box next to Select Page
Click on Export Selected
Choose EndNote from the Format drop down menu
Click on Export

Recommendations and Notes

If using Google Chrome: a file will be downloaded. Click on the filename to open it in EndNote.
If using FireFox: Select Open with EndNote 20, and click OK. Your EndNote desktop library will automatically open and your new references will appear in the imported References folder.