Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agricultural Sciences : Internet Links

This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of Agricultural Sciences. Use this guide as your starting point. For more resources and further help, come to the Science Library or Ask a Librarian.

Internet Search

 

Google Web Search

Find Agriculture Resources

Intute - Agriculture: provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. No new resources are being added after July 2011.

National Institute of Food and Agriculture: provides a wealth of information on current food and agriculture research and education programs throughout the US 

PubAg is an open-access resource from the National Agricultural Library (NAL) containing sheer amount of recent open access material, as well as commercially published literature.

Centers, Guides, Organizations...

Agra-Net: a leading information specialist on soft commodities, agriculture and food policy, markets and trade.

Agriculture Network Information Center (AgNIC): stay up-to-date with the latest agricultural news and events taking place around the world.

ELDIS: Research Guides in Agriculture provides easy structured access to collection of research and policy documents. 

Extension Digital Information Source - EDSI from University of Florida.
      - Agriculture: Major topic areas are  Aquaculture, Crops, and Livestock

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA)

International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) was established to finance agricultural development projects primarily for food production in the developing countries.

SciTopics is designed to be a starting point for researchers to gain an introductory overview of a particular topic.

United States Department of Agriculture: National Agriculture Library 

Plant Indexes and Guides

Index Fungorum for names of fungi.

International Plant Names Index IPNI indexes botanical names of seed plants, ferns and fern allies that have appeared in scholarly publications. For names of fungi.

Plant Information Online discover sources in 1104 North American nurseries for 106953 plants, find 371392 citations to 156460 plants in science and garden literature.

Plants Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Pesticides

Compendium of Pesticide Common Names provides details of the status of all pesticide common names, together with their systematic chemical names, molecular formulae, structural formulae and CAS Registry Numbers.

National Pesticide Information Center, from Oregon State University and the US EPA, provides "objective and science-based information" for professionals and the general public about pesticide use, exposure, environmental fate, and crisis management.