LibGuides: Agricultural Sciences : Landscape Design and Ecosystem Management

Browse Books by Subject

Use the Catalog to locate and borrow books and other materials on your topic.

Examples of subject searches:

If you are looking for a specific journal, use Journal Finder

Examples of subject searches:

For Off Campus Access, go to E-Resources on the University Libraries web page and select your database.

Find Articles
Find Theses
Find Statistics

Use reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks, to find background information on your topic.

Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction by Alan Christensen
Call Number: S 712.03:C554d
Publication Date: 2005
Delivers definitions as well as how-to information via details and photos, going above and beyond the scope of a typical professional dictionary.
The Encyclopedia of Grasses for Livable Landscape by Rick Darke
Call Number: S 635.9349:D219e
Publication Date: 2007
Addresses both the aesthetic qualities of grasses in private gardens and the opportunities and challenges of using them in wild and constructed public landscapes.
Encyclopedia of Urban Studies by Ray Hutchison (Editor)
Call Number: Online book from Sage Reference
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia serves an important purpose in bringing together research traditions that might receive only scant notice in particular disciplinary encyclopedia.
Lexicon of Garden and Landscape Architecture by Meto Vroom
Call Number: S 712:V984L
Publication Date: 2002
Defines and analyzes more than 250 terms, concepts, and objects related to landscape architecture.
Royal Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Garden Design by Chris Young
Call Number: S 712.6:R888y
Publication Date: 2009
Dictionary of Today's Landscape Designers by Pierluigi Nicolin; Francesco Repishti
Call Number: S 712.03:N644d:c.1
Publication Date: 2003
Illustrates the different ways of understanding landscape and the art of gardens.

Associations, Societies, etc.

Online Thesaurus

Web Links & Resources

AUB Landscape Plant Database This link opens in a new window Developed by AUB's LDEM Department, this database focuses on native, naturalized, and ecologically suitable plant species for the Middle East. The database may be searched by name (common or scientific) or by criteria such as geographical location, climate, and plant type. It contains a rich image gallery and a helpful glossary. Availability: Full-text and images Date Coverage: Varies
AUB Nature Conservation Center Plant Database This link opens in a new window AUB's Nature Conservation Center Plant Database is a culmination of more than ten years of effort in research by experts in agriculture, biology, chemistry, economics, medicine, nutrition and other fields. It provides information (taxonomy, cultivation, nutritional facts, location, nomenclature, experiments, etc.) about native plants that may be searched by scientific name or common name (English, Arabic, and French).