Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Agricultural Sciences Research Guide
Video prepared by Joyce Aways
This guide is intended to help you find resources for agricultural sciences research and information from
- Reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
- Print and electronic books
- Articles from Journals, magazines and newspapers
- Theses and Dissertations
- Trustworthy Internet sites and web resources
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of the guide.
For more thorough research, go beyond books and articles to identify information in other formats, such as, government documents, images, dissertations, theses, videos and more.
Crisis and Conflict in Agriculture by
Publication Date: 2018
This book discusses the causes and effects of crisis and conflict within an agricultural and rural context. It explores issues such as competition over resources, and looks at how crisis and conflict impact upon developing country agriculture for both the physical and human agricultural landscape. It reviews crises stemming from politically-driven violence, natural disasters and climate change. Exploring the relationship between agriculture and conflicts and crises before, during and after crisis periods, this book: - Evaluates controversial issues such as land-grabs and the growing of illegal crops; - Covers methodological approaches including GIS-based studies, ethnographic studies and the blending of methods; - Includes numerous case studies on developing countries within Asia, Latin America, Middle East-North Africa, and Sub-Saharan Africa. Providing detailed knowledge about the interactions of agriculture, conflict and crisis, this book aims to inform future policymaking for reconstruction and to foster resilience in the agricultural sector. An important resource for researchers of agricultural economics, development studies, sustainable agriculture and food security, it is also an illuminating read for students of these disciplines and agricultural extension workers.
AUB Landscape Plant Database This link opens in a new window
Developed by AUB's LDEM Department, this database focuses on native, naturalized, and ecologically suitable plant species for the Middle East. The database may be searched by name (common or scientific) or by criteria such as geographical location, climate, and plant type. It contains a rich image gallery and a helpful glossary.
Availability: Full-text and images
Date Coverage: Varies
AUB Nature Conservation Center Plant Database This link opens in a new window
AUB's Nature Conservation Center Plant Database is a culmination of more than ten years of effort in research by experts in agriculture, biology, chemistry, economics, medicine, nutrition and other fields. It provides information (taxonomy, cultivation, nutritional facts, location, nomenclature, experiments, etc.) about native plants that may be searched by scientific name or common name (English, Arabic, and French).
Reference and Instruction Librarians help you search and find information using library and internet resources.
ASK A LIBRARIAN
Call ext: 2165