It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A "government document" is a publication issued by or for a government agency or international organizations and agencies. Books, pamphlets, posters, periodicals, and online databases are also government documents if they are produced by a government agency.
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of original materials from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. The database provides access to over 137,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School is a collection of digital primary source documents from 4000bce through the 21st century. The Project includes a documentary record on the Middle East from 1916 to 2001. Documents are relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969This link opens in a new windowA collection of primary sources documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database.The collection covers a broad sweep of history from 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. It consists of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses and descriptions of leading personalities. All documents are fully text-searchable.
Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software)
The series offers a broad range of original sources from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate of Iraq in 1920-31 to the rise of Saddam Hussein 1974.
Russian-Ottoman Relations, parts 1-4This link opens in a new windowA rare collection of primary sources on a vital and dynamic part of the history of Turkey, Russia, the Middle East, and Western Europe. These sources provide detailed insights not only into the military ebb and flow of Russian-Ottoman relations, but also into their effects on European public opinion. The collection includes diplomatic discussion treaties, personal views, and military analysis.
Availability: Full text
Date Coverage: 1600-1914
Russian-Ottoman Relations consists of four parts:
Part 1: The Origins 1600-1800
Brings together a unique collection of rare primary sources on a vital and dynamic part of the history of Turkey, Russia, the Middle East and Western Europe.
Part 2: Shift in the Balance of Power 1800-1853
Features discussions of diplomatic treaties, the commercial and military issue of access to the Black Sea, eye-witness accounts from theaters of war, and plans for, and ideas about, future confrontations.
Part 3: The Crimean War 1854-1856
Printed works in western languages, covering the war between Russia on one side, and Britain, France and the Ottoman Empire, on the other.
Part 4: The End of the Empires 1857-1914
Printed Works in Western Languages, covering the Ottoman Empire decline during the second half of the nineteenth century. The material in this part is diverse and focuses on trade, personal views, military analysis, and national policy statements.
Archive Editions publications provide thousands of original documents. It is particularly rich for the study of boundary formation, claims and disputes and modern political development of the Arabian peninsula and Arab/Persian Gulf. Seach for "Archive Editions" in AUBCAT keyword search.