LibGuides: Government Documents: Middle East

Government Documents

A "government document" is a publication issued by or for a government agency or international organizations and agencies. Books, pamphlets, posters, periodicals, and online databases are also government documents if they are produced by a government agency.

Search Engines

Explore Government Documents
From University of Michigan.

New Page 2 Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine New Page 2 Non-governmental Organizations Search

Daleel Madani
Portal of more than 200 NGOs, resources and projects.

Treaties

Missionaries

Databases

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 This link opens in a new window Full-text database of original materials from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. The database provides access to over 137,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1917-1970

Avalon Project: The Middle East 1916-2001 (open access)
From Yale Law School is a collection of digital primary source documents from 4000bce through the 21st century.
more...less...
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School is a collection of digital primary source documents from 4000bce through the 21st century. The Project includes a documentary record on the Middle East from 1916 to 2001. Documents are relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
Center for Research Libraries: Middle East Studies

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window A collection of primary sources documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database.The collection covers a broad sweep of history from 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. It consists of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses and descriptions of leading personalities. All documents are fully text-searchable. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1839-1969 Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software)

Iraq, 1914-1974
Series Two of the Middle East Online Series from Gale.
more...less...
The series offers a broad range of original sources from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate of Iraq in 1920-31 to the rise of Saddam Hussein 1974.
Jerusalem and East Mission archive, 1842-1976
Micf:57:c.1
more...less...
for more http://www.idc.nl/pdf/140_guide.pdf
Records of dispossession : Palestinian refugee property and the Arab-Israeli conflict

Russian-Ottoman Relations, parts 1-4 This link opens in a new window A rare collection of primary sources on a vital and dynamic part of the history of Turkey, Russia, the Middle East, and Western Europe. These sources provide detailed insights not only into the military ebb and flow of Russian-Ottoman relations, but also into their effects on European public opinion. The collection includes diplomatic discussion treaties, personal views, and military analysis. Availability: Full text Date Coverage: 1600-1914 Russian-Ottoman Relations consists of four parts: Part 1: The Origins 1600-1800 Brings together a unique collection of rare primary sources on a vital and dynamic part of the history of Turkey, Russia, the Middle East and Western Europe. Part 2: Shift in the Balance of Power 1800-1853 Features discussions of diplomatic treaties, the commercial and military issue of access to the Black Sea, eye-witness accounts from theaters of war, and plans for, and ideas about, future confrontations. Part 3: The Crimean War 1854-1856 Printed works in western languages, covering the war between Russia on one side, and Britain, France and the Ottoman Empire, on the other. Part 4: The End of the Empires 1857-1914 Printed Works in Western Languages, covering the Ottoman Empire decline during the second half of the nineteenth century. The material in this part is diverse and focuses on trade, personal views, military analysis, and national policy statements. Availability: Full text Coverage: 1600-1914

AMEEL: Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library
A regional selection of academic journals
Official Gazettes (RCL)
Wikileaks

Published Documents

A select chronology and background documents relating to the Middle East
Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate
Les Arabes par leurs archives: XVI-XXe siècles, Paris ... 1974 / [organisé] par Jacques Berque et Dominique Chevalier
more...less...
Lebanon pp.57-62,
Papers of the Palestinian Delegation
From Rashid Khalidi's book BROKERS OF DECEIT: How the U.S. Has Undermined Peace in the Middle East
more...less...
The 15 documents that appear here chronologically are appendices to Rashid Khalidi's new book BROKERS OF DECEIT: How the U.S. Has Undermined Peace in the Middle East
Reinterpreting the historical record : the uses of Palestinian refugee archives for social science research and policy analysis
The Middle East reporter [daily] : MER : a survey of Middle East political and economic developments.
Press Services and Documentation Bureau (Lebanon) 1977
MIC-P: 0158a Press Services and Documentation Bureau (Lebanon)
السياسة الدولية في الشرق العربي / اميل خوري، عادل اسماعيل
الوثائق العربية
بيروت : الجامعة الاميركية في بيروت. دائرة الدراسات السياسية والادارة العامة, 1963-1982
RPA 956.05:W33bA
سجل العالم العربي : وثائق، احداث، آراء سياسية
بيروت : دار الابحاث والنشر, 1970-1977
PA:F 956.05:S57siA
مدونة احداث العالم العربي ووقائعه، 1800- 1950 بحسب التسلسل الزمني / [شكيب ارسلان]
اشراف وتحرير يوسف حسين ايبش، توما توفيق عريضه، يوسف قزما خوري
المختارة، لبنان : الدار التقدمية, 2008
R 909.04927:A783mA:c.1
السجل الثقافي
1847-1961 مصر

Primary Sources in the Library

List of Primary Sources in UL

Use the Keywords الجريدة الرسمية Official Gazette

Try the authors: محمد ماهر حمادة- اسد رستم - عادل اسماعيل

Archives and Special Collections in the Library

Search the Catalog

To find primary sources in the Library catalog search under your subject"-- History -- Sources

The Library holds a very good collection of primary sources in the Archives and Special Collections. Visit ASC department or search the Library Catalog , use Advanced Search and limit your search by Location: Jafet Archives and Special Collections.

Archives Editions

Archive Editions publications provide thousands of original documents. It is particularly rich for the study of boundary formation, claims and disputes and modern political development of the Arabian peninsula and Arab/Persian Gulf. Seach for "Archive Editions" in AUBCAT keyword search.

Primary Sources Guides

Princeton University Library Primary Sources Libguide
Primary Sources Libguide
Bowling Green State University

Government Documents: Middle East