Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Travelers to the Middle East: Visual Resources, Travel Guides, and Maps
Search this Guide
Travelers to the Middle East: Visual Resources, Travel Guides, and Maps: Bibliography
Photographs and Postcards
A History of Travelers in the Middle East
Databases and E-resources
Selected photography, postcards, and travel bibliography available at the AUB Libraries
Addison, Charles Greenstreet. 1838. Damascus and Palmyra: A Journey to the East. With a Sketch of the State and Prospects of Syria, Under Ibrahim Pasha. R. Bentley.
Ball, Warwick. Syria a Historical and Architectural Guide. Interlink Books, 1998.
Beaufort, Emily A. 1862. Egyptian Sepulchres and Syrian Shrines Including Some Stay in the Lebanon at Palmyra, and in Western Turkey. Longman, Green, Longman, and Roberts.
Bell, Gertrude. The Desert and the Sown: The Syrian Adventures of the Female Lawrence of Arabia, 2001.
Bevis, Richard W. Bibliotheca Cisorientalia: An Annotated Checklist of Early English Travel Books on the Near and Middle East. G.K. Hall, 1973.
Blake, Robert. 1982. Disraeli’s Grand Tour: Benjamin Disraeli and the Holy Land, 1830-31. London: Weidenfeld and Nicolson.
Boogert, Maurits H van den. Aleppo Observed: Ottoman Syria Through the Eyes of Two Scottish Doctors, Alexander and Patrick Russell. Vol. no. 6. Oxford University Press, 2010.
Bosworth, Clifford Edmund. Eastward Ho!: Diplomats, Travellers and Interpreters of the Middle East and Beyond, 1600-1940. East & West, 2012.
Browning, Ian. Jerash and the Decapolis. Chatto & Windus, 1982.
Chevedden, Paul E. The Photographic Heritage of the Middle East: An Exhibition of Early Photographs of Egypt, Palestine, Syria, Turkey, Greece & Iran, 1849-1893. Malibu, Calif: Undena Publications, 1981.
Childs, Virginia. 1990. Lady Hester Stanhope: Queen of the Desert. London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson.
Damer, G. L. Dawson. 1842. Diary of a Tour in Greece, Turkey, Egypt and the Holy Land. Colburn.
Damiani, Anita. 1979. Enlightened Observers: British Travellers to the Near East, 1715-1850. American University of Beirut.
Effendi, Habeeb Risk Allah. The Thistle and the Cedar of Lebanon. Garnet Publishing, 2001.
Ervine, St John Greer. A Journey to Jerusalem. Hamilton, 1936.
Fedden, Robin. 1958. English Travellers in the Near East. British Council and The National Book League by Longmans, Green & Company.
Fisher, W B. The Middle East: A Physical, Social and Regional Geography. Methuen, 1978.
Fowle, Trenchard Craven William. Travels in the Middle East: Being Impressions by the Way in Turkish Arabia, Syria, and Persia. Smith Elder & Co, 1916.
Frady, Marshall. 1971. Across a Darkling Plain; an American’s Passage through the Middle East. New York: Harper’s Magazine Press.
Frith, Francis, Julia Van Haaften, and Jon Manchip White. 1980. Egypt and the Holy Land in Historic Photographs: 77 Views. Dover Photography Collections. New York: Dover Publications.
Gavin, Carney E. S., and Ingeborg Endter O’Reilly. The Image of the East: Nineteenth-Century Near Eastern Photographs by Bonfils: From the Collections of the Harvard Semitic Museum. A Chicago Visual Library Text-Fiche, no. 41. Chicago: University of Chica
Gordon, Sophie, John McCarthy, and Badr El-Hage. 2013. Cairo to Constantinople: Francis Bedford’s photographs of the Middle East. London: Royal Collection Trust.
Harris, Christina. The Syrian Desert: Caravans, Travel and Exploration, 1937.
Heneine, Alice. 1983. Lady Esther Stanhope et le Liban. Dār Lahad Khater.
Hoare, Sir Samuel John Gurney. 1925. A Flying Visit to the Middle East. Cambridge University Press.
Hodgson, Barbara. 2005. Dreaming of East: Western Women and the Exotic Allure of the Orient. Vancouver: Greystone Books.
Jones, George. 1836. Excursions to Cairo, Jerusalem, Damascus, and Balbec from the United States Ship Delaware, During Her Recent Cruise. Van Nostrand and Dwight.
Leslie, Doris. 1972. The Desert Queen. London: Heinemann.
Lewis, Peter, and Robin Constable. Syria: Land of Contrasts. Namara Publications, 1980.
Magan, William. Middle Eastern Approaches: Experiences and Travels of an Intelligence Officer 1939-1948. Norwich: Michael Russell Ltd., 2001.
Melville, Herman. Journal of a Visit to Europe and the Levant, October 11, 1856-May 6, 1857. Princeton University Press, 1955.
Micklewright, Nancy, and Annie Brassey. 2003. A Victorian Traveler in the Middle East: The Photography and Travel Writing of Annie Lady Brassey. Aldershot: Ashgate.
Morton, H. V. Middle East: A Record of Travel in the Countries of Egypt, Palestine, Iraq, Turkey and Greece. Dodd, Mead & Co, 1941.
Morton, H. V. Through Lands of the Bible. London: Methuen, 2002.
Newton, Charles Thomas, and Dominic E. (Dominic Ellis) Colnaghi. Travels & Discoveries in the Levant. London, Day & son, 1865.
Pearse, Richard. Three Years in the Levant. Macmillan, 1949.
Saulcy, Félicien de. 1955. Carnets de voyage en Orient, 1845-1869. Paris: Presses Universitaires de France.
Searight, Sarah, and Association for the Study of Travel in Egypt and the Near East, eds. 2005. Women Travellers in the Near East. Oxford: Oxbow Books.
Stark, Freya, and Malise Ruthven. 1994. Freya Stark in the Levant. Reading, UK: Garnet Publishing.
To the Holy Lands: Pilgrimage Centres from Mecca and Medina to Jerusalem. Munich; Berlin; London; New York, NY: Prestel, 2008.
Watney, John Basil. 1975. Travels in Araby of Lady Hester Stanhope. Good Read. London: Gordon Cremonesi.
AUB Libraries catalog bibliography by subject
Middle East -- Description and travel.
Lebanon -- Description and travel.
Syria -- Description and travel.
Jordan -- Description and travel.
Palestine -- Description and travel.
The city traveler: a travelogue (Beirut)
The travelogue: gateway to journey, frontier for transition (Lebanon, Syria)
Management strategies in a turbulent environment: the case of Pan Asiatic Travel & Tourism
Search the AUB Libraries Catalog for more travel-related books.
Databases and E-resources
Jun 15, 2021 9:03 AM
Login to LibApps
Arab, Islamic, and Middle Eastern Studies