Linda Sadaqah Archival CollectionThe Collection is accessible on site at the Archives and Special Collections (ASC) Department - Jafet Library. It covers many Arab countries and a wide historical range (1930s-1990s). A significant subset of the collection cover Lebanon's modern history, including the Lebanese Civil War (1975-1990). The collection includes 'Press Clippings' from various Lebanese newspapers and magazines (e.g. Monday Morning, al-Nahar, Sawt al-jamāhīr. Ṭarīq al-waṭan, Sawt al-shaghīlah, Jamāhīr Lubnān, Sawt Zaḥlah, etc.) as well as documents about various Lebanese presidential elections during the civil war, in addition to information about the Lausanne and Taif Conferences and Treaties.
The Linda Sadaqah Archival Collection, which can be accessed on site at the Archives and Special Collections (ASC) Department, in the basement of Jafet Memorial Library, is a treasure trove of ephemera and documents related to the political history of the region, covering many Arab countries, e.g. Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, etc., and covering a wide historical range (1930s-1990s). A significant subset of the collection (some 97 archival files in 8 linear feet) cover Lebanon's modern history (including Lebanon's independence, Lebanese elections, 1943, etc.), and a substantial subset of the collection focuses on the Lebanese Civil War (1975-1990).
Most of the documents which are in Arabic, with a few in French and English, offer extensive documentation on the Lebanese political arena during this period.Topics and formats covered include the following: Press clippings from various Lebanese newspapers and magazines (e.g. Monday Morning, al-Nahar, Sawt al-jamāhīr. Ṭarīq al-waṭan, Sawt al-shaghīlah, Jamāhīr Lubnān, Sawt Zaḥlah, etc.); pamphlets, flyers, ephemera, booklets and political statements from various Lebanese political parties (e.g. Amal, Progressive Socialist Party, Lebanese Communist Party, Lebanese Forces, National Liberal Lebanon, Lebanese National Movement, Lebanese Phalanges Party, Hezbollah, Muslim Brotherhood, etc.); documents on different Lebanese religious sects (e.g. Druzes, Christian Orthodox, Maronites, Catholics; Muslim Sunni and Shia communities) and minorities (e.g. Armenians). The collection also includes important documents about various Lebanese presidential elections during the civil war (1976, 1982 and 1988), in addition to information about the Lausanne (1984) and Taif (1989) Conferences and Treaties. In addition, some information and documents related to prominent political personalities are included (e.g. Raymond Edde, Salim al-Hoss and Rashid Karami, Kamal Joumblatt; PLO cadre, etc.) Other subjects covered include Lebanese-Syrian relations, Israeli invasions of Lebanon (1978 and 1982), Palestinians in Lebanon, the Lebanese abductees, in addition to some socio-cultural, financial and urban planning projects prepared/ implemented during this period.
The collection is a real treasure trove for anyone interested in the modern history of Lebanon. To access the documents or request a research consultation, please contact ASC at: asc@aub.edu.lb
