Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lebanese Civil War: 1975-1990: Pictorial Works

This is a guide to information resources about the Lebanese civil war. It includes information about books, encyclopedias, primary sources and other materials covering different aspects of the war.

الحرب الأهلية.. على صفحات السفير

Lebanese Civil War ... from gettyimages

Click here for more Lebanese Civil War Pictures and Images

Beit Beirut

Beit Beirut - Museum and Urban Culture

Beit Beirut - Yellow House

Cheifly Illustrated Books

 

This is a small selection, for more titles search the library Catalog.

Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architectural Photographs Collection

The Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architectural Photographs Collection documents the rich heritage of traditional Lebanese architecture with more than 3,100 black and white photographic negatives and prints of buildings and other structures. The collection also includes supporting documentation regarding key architectural aspects and other information about the structures photographed. Over 285 villages, towns and cities across Lebanon from North to South and from the Mediterranean Sea coast to the Bekaa Valley are represented in the collection. This collection is the work of Professor Heinz Gaube who lived in Lebanon and worked at the Oriental Institute of the German Oriental Society from 1970 until 1975. 

The Gaube collection is now available for the public as an open access collection through Shared Shelf Commons under the title: “Notre Dame University-Louaize (Lebanon). Heinz Gaube Lebanese architecture photographs collection”. Images and associated metadata are freely accessible for viewing in high resolution and users can download low resolution images for free. The Special Collections department provides high resolution images upon request while reserving all copyright and reproduction rights.