LibGuides: Al-Nakba: 1948 Palestinian Exodus: Documents

The following is a selective list of books and microfilm materials.

Official documents, pledges, and resolutions on Palestine beginning with the Husain-McMahon correspondence, 1916
Publication Date: 1959
Documents, pledges and resolutions compiled by the Palestine Arab Refugee Office.
Britain and Palestine, 1914-1948: archival sources for the history of the British Mandate
Publication Date: 1979
This primary source is mainly based on the findings of the Anglo-Palestinian Archives Committee.
Political Diaries of the Arab World - Palestine & Jordan by Robert L. Jarman
Publication Date: 2001
Diplomatic weekly reports by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in response to the events on the ground. The reports log the minutiae of administration, with details of sowing and harvesting as well as trade, health and education.
The Zionist Movement and the Foundation of Israel, 1839-1950 by Bejtullah D. Destani
Publication Date: 2004
These volumes draw together documents found in the British National Archives to trace the origins and development of the Zionist movement in the 19th and 20th centuries, with specific reference to the goal of establishing a Jewish homeland.
Palestine and Transjordan Administration Reports, 1918-1949 by R. Jarman (Editor)
Publication Date: 1995
Collection of British administrative reports and associated documents, including extensive material hitherto unknown and unpublished. The series includes the pre-Mandate reports of 1918–1923, the Mandate and Departmental Annual Reports from 1923-1947/8, the Survey of Palestine 1946/47 and the formal papers covering the termination of the Mandate in 1948.
Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict: A History with Documents by Charles D. Smith
Publication Date: 2013
The book provides a comprehensive narrative of a complex historical topic. The narrative is supported by more than 40 primary documents that highlight perspectives from all sides of the struggle.
A survey of Palestine by Prepared in December 1945 and January 1946 for the information of the Anglo-American committee of inquiry
Publication Date: 1946
The survey of Palestine was prepared in December 1945 and January 1946 for the information of the Anglo-American committee of inquiry
A Guide to Documents on the Arab-Palestinian/Israeli Conflict, 1897-2008 by M. Cherif Bassiouni & Shlomo Ben Ami
Publication Date: 2009
The book summarizes United Nations Resolutions and Reports, Treaties and Agreements, as well as historic documents pertaining to this conflict.
PLO in Lebanon : selected documents by Raphael Israeli
Publication Date: 1983
Includes 122 documents dating from 1980 or 1981, in various languages, with English translations and summaries.
The Rape of Palestine : A Mandate Chronology by Blake Alcott.
Publication Date: E-Book
This book is a chronology of the dialogue, as captured in documents, between the colonised Palestinians and their Bri-tish colonisers running from November 1917 through May 1948. It contains 490 separate entries, each dealing with a mani-festo, letter, statement of policy, petition or minutes of a meeting.
Text in English, with some texts in Arabic

The following is a selective list of books and microfilm materials.

الإرهاب الصهيوني و المقاومة العربية في فلسطين: من وثائق الممثليات العراقية في حيفا و القدس، 1936-1948
الدبلوماسية المصرية و قضية فلسطين 1947-1948: دراسة و ثائقية
فلسطين في الارشيف السري للكومنترن
فلسطين في المؤتمرات العربية و الدولية: وثائق ومراسلات تنشر للمرة الاولى
مجموعة الشهادات و المذكرات المتقدمة الى لجنة التحقيق الأنكلو أميركية المشتركة حول قضية فلسطين مع تواصي اللجنة
مصر وفلسطين 1947: مختارات من الوثائق المصرية الخاصة بقضية تقسيم فلسطين
وثائق الحركة الوطنية الفلسطينية، 1918 - 1939: من اوراق اكرم زعيتر
وثائق حرب فلسطين: الملفات السرية للجنرالات العرب
الوثائق الرئيسية في قضية فلسطين: المجموعة الاولى، 1946 -1915

متحف فلسطين: ألارشيف الرقمي الفلسطيني

The following is a selective list of books and microfilm materials.

The origins and evolution of the Palestine problem by United Nations. Special Unit on Palestinian Rights.
Publication Date: 1978-1984
Prepared by the Special Unit on Palestinian Rights for the Committee.
pt. 1. 1917-1947 -- pt. 2.1947-1977 -- pt. 3.1978-1983 -- pt. 4.1984-1988.
Palestine and the United Nations by Nuseibeh, Hazem Zaki.
Publication Date: 1982, c1981
Published in New York by Quartet Books
Palestine and the United Nations : prelude to solution by Robinson, Jacob
Publication Date: 1947
Published in Washington, DC by Public Affairs Press
The Palestine problem before the United Nations, 1966 by Hadawi, Sami.
Publication Date: 1967?
Published in Beirut by Institute for Palestine Studies.
This book is a compilation of all official documents issued by the United Nations in 1966 as well as the proceedings by the various organs of the United Nations during that year which were on the subject of Palestine.
The United Nations and Palestine by Leonard, Leonard Larry
Publication Date: 1949
Published in New York by Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.
Report to the General Assembly by United Nations Special Committee on Palestine.
Publication Date: 1947
A four volume set published in New York by Librairie de la societe: v. 1. Report to the General Assembly; v.2. Annexes, appendix and maps; v.3. Annex A: Oral evidence presented at public meetings. v.4. Annex B.: Oral evidence presented at private meetings.
United Nations resolutions on Palestine and the Arab-Israeli conflict, 1947-1974 by George J. Tomeh (Editor)
Publication Date: 1975
Published in Beirut by Institute for Palestine Studies.
This is the first volume of, five-volume collection which brings together the texts of all the resolutions relevant to Palestine and the Arab-Israeli conflict from 1947 to 1998.
The black paper on the Jewish agency and Zionist terrorism: memorandum to the United Nations Delegations
Publication Date: 1948
Memorandum submitted to the United Nations Delegations by the Arab Higher Committee Delegation for Palestine. Click here to read it online.
The Jewish plan for Palestine : memoranda and statements
Publication Date: 1947
Memoranda and statements presented by the Jewish Agency for Palestine to the United Nations Special Committee on Palestine.
A collection of official documents relating to the Palestine Question, 1917-1947
Publication Date: 1947
Governmental documents submitted to the General Assembly of the United Nations by The Delegation of the Arab Higher Committee for Palestine.
The political history of Palestine under British administration
Publication Date: 1947
Memorandum by his Britannic Majesty's Government presented in 1947 to the United Nations Special Committee on Palestine, pub. at Jerusalem, 1947.
قرارات الأمم المتحدة بشأن فلسطين و الصراع العربي - الإسرائيلي
Publication Date: 1993-2015
المحتويات: مج.1. 1947-1974/ تقديم احمد عصمت عبد المجيد، مراجعة وتدقيق جورج طعمه -- مج.2. 1975-1981/ تقديم احمد عمصت عبد المجيد -- مج.3. 1983-1986/ تقديم احمد عصمت عبد المجيد، جمع وتصنيف منى نصولي -- مج.5. 1992-1998م/ جمع وتصنيف منى نصولي -- مج. 6. 1999-2004 / اعداد جانيت ساروفيم وسناء حمودي ؛ اشراف منى نصولي -- مج. 7. 2005-2011 / إعداد جانيت ساروفيم، ميرنا عيتاني، جيهان سلهب

The following is a selective list of documents on microfilm.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files.

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records

Jerusalem, 1925-1935 [microform]

Confidential British Foreign Office political correspondence

Palestinian Digital Archive

Databases

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 This link opens in a new window Full-text database of original materials from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. The database provides access to over 137,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1917-1970
British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944 This link opens in a new window Consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem between 1920 and 1944. The database contains unique materials on the relationship of Palestinians to other Arab countries, British policies, the Zionist movement in Palestine, and much more. Materials include government documents, reports and archival materials. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1920-1944 … more Hint: To access the collection, go to Explore Topics from Archives Unbound page and select "Middle Eastern Studies" and under Explore Collections select “British Mandate in Palestine …” from the list.
Hint: To access the collection, go to Explore Topics from Archives Unbound page and select "Middle Eastern Studies" and under Explore Collections select “British Mandate in Palestine …” from the list.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window A collection of primary sources documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database.The collection covers a broad sweep of history from 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. It consists of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses and descriptions of leading personalities. All documents are fully text-searchable. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1839-1969 Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software)

For additional documents, files or records on the topic, search the Library Library Catalog.

Click here to go back to the previous page

PLO Documents

مركز الأبحاث الفلسطيني، الذاكرة الضائعة

سميح شبيب

تجربة مركز الأبحاث الفلسطيني، التابع لمنظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، وعن تجربته التوثيقية، من خلال تجربتي كمسؤول لقسم التوثيق والمكتبة خلال الأعوام 1980-1994. وخلال هذه الفترة، جرى نهب محتويات المركز بعد الاجتياح الإسرائيلي لبيروت، حيث قامت تلك القوات، وبمساعدة خبراء إسرائيليين في التوثيق وعلم المكتبات، بنهب محتوياته بشكل منظم، ومن ثم نقلها إلى إسرائيل. وخلالها، أيضاً، وقع تفجير المركز بتاريخ 5/2/1983، ومن ثم إغلاقه بقرار رسمي لبناني. وخلال تلك الفترة، أيضاً، أعادت إسرائيل محتويات المركز إلى الجزائر، عبر عملية تبادل للأسرى الإسرائيليين. جرت محاولات عدة لإنقاذ المكتبة ومحتوياتها الوثائقية، لكنها فشلت جميعاً، ولاقت المكتبة مصيراً مأساوياً أسود فتبددت محتوياتها جميعها

تأملات في الغياب: الأرشيف الفلسطيني من حركة التحرر إلى دولة أوسلو - الجزء الأول.