Skip to main content

Al-Nakba: 1948 Palestinian Exodus: Library Resources

The guide was created in support of The Palestinian Oral History Archives Project at AUB Libraries. The guide focuses on the various aspects of historiography of 1948 Palestinian Nakba and highlights selective library resources, projects and websites.

Selected Bibliography

A selective bibliography from AUB libraries and elsewhere.

 

 

Abu-Lughod, Lila and Ahmad Saʻdi. Nakba: Palestine, 1948, and the Claims of Memory. New York: Columbia University Press, 2007.

Abu Sitta, Salman. Palestinian Right to Return: Sacred, Legal and Possible. London: Palestinian Return Centre, 1999.

Al-Hardan, Anadeed. Remembering the Catastrophe: Uprooted Histories and the Grandchildren of Nakba. Dublin: Trinity College, 2011.

Avineri, Shlomo. “The Roots of Zionism.” The Wilson Quarterly 7, no. 1 (1983): 46-61.

Baker, Robert. “ History and Periodization.” Clio 26, no.2 (1997): 135-141.

Ben-Ze’ev, Efrat. Remembering Palestine in 1948: Beyond National Narratives. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011.

Besserman, Lawrence. The Challenges of Periodization: Old Paradigms and New Perspectives. New York: Routledge, 2013.

“British Mandate for Palestine.” The American Journal of International Law 17, no.3 (1923): 164-171.

Bunton, Martin. “Inventing the Status Quo: Ottoman Land-Law during the Palestine Mandate, 1917-1936.” The International History Review 21, no.1 (1999): 28-56.

Chomsky, Noam. The Fateful Triangle: The United States, Israel and the Palestinians. London: Pluto Press, 1999.

Davis, Rochelle. Palestinian Village Histories: Geographies of the Displaced. Indiana: Stanford University Press, 2010.

Dessouki, Ali. “Arab Intellectuals and Al-Nakba: The search for fundamentalism.” Middle Eastern Studies 9, no. 2 (1973): 187-195.

Falk, Richard. “Rethinking the Palestinian Future.” Journal of Palestine Studies 42, no. 4 (2013): 73-86.

Fidley, Paul. They Dare to Speak Out: People and Institutions Confront Israel’s Lobby. Illinois: Chicago Review Press, 2003.

Finkelstein, Norman. Beyond Chutzpah: On the Misuse of Anti-Semitism and the Abuse of History. California: University of California Press, 2008.

Foucault, Michel. “Nietzsche, Genealogy, History.” In Language, Counter-Memory, Practice: Selected Essays and Interviews, edited by D.F. Bouchard, 139-164. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 1977.

Freas, Erik Eliav. “ Ottoman Reform, Islam, and Palestine’s Peasantry.” Arab Studies Journal 18, no.1 (2010): 197-232.

Gideon, Bar. “Reconstructing the Past: The Creation of Jewish Sacred Space in the State of Israel, 1948-1967.” Israel Studies 13, no. 3 (2008): 1-21.

Graetz, Heinrich. From the Chmielnicki Persecution of the Jews in Poland (1648 C. E.) to the Period of Emancipation in Central Europe (c. 1870 C. E.), vol. 5 of History of the Jews. Philadelphia: The Jewish Publication Society of America, 1895.

Graetz, Heinrich. Containing a Memoir of the Author by Dr. Philip Bloch: A Chronological Table of Jewish History as an Index to the Whole Work, vol. 6 of History of the Jews. Philadelphia: The Jewish Publication Society of America, 1898.

Green, Stephen. Taking Sides: America’s Secret Relations with Militant Israel. New York: William Morrow & Co., 1984.

Green, William. “Periodizing World History.” History and Theory 34, no. 2 (1995): 99-111.

Hadawi, Sami. Bitter Harvest: A Modern History of Palestine. Northampton: Interlink Pub Group Inc., 1998.

Herlitz, Georg. “Three Jewish Historians: Isaak Markus Jost – Heinrich Graetz – Eugen Taeubler: A Comparative Study.” Leo Baeck Institute Year Book 9, no. 1 (1964): 69-90.

Jankowski, James. “The Palestinian Arab Revolt of 1936-1939.” The Muslim World 63, no. 3 (1973): 220-233.

Kabha, Mustafa. “A Palestinian Look at the New Historians and Post-Zionism in Israel.” In Making Israel, edited by Benny Morris, 299-318. Michigan: University of Michigan Press, 2008.

Kadish, Alon, and Avraham Sela. “Myths and Historiography of the 1948 Palestine War Revisited: The Case of Lydda.” Middle East Journal 59, no. 4 (2005): 617-634.

Kimmerling, Baruch. “Academic History Caught in the Cross-Fire: The Case of Israeli-Jewish Historiography.History and Memory 7, no.1 (1995): 41-65.

Khalidi, Tarif. “Palestinian Historiography: 1900-1948.” Journal of Palestine Studies 10, no. 3 (1981): 59-76.

Khalidi, Walid. “Selected Documents on the 1948 Palestine War.” Journal of Palestine Studies 27, no. 3 (1998): 60-105.

Koldas, Umut. “The Nakba in Palestinian Memory in Israel.” Middle Eastern Studies 47, no. 6 (2011): 947-959.

Litvak, Meir. “A Palestinian Past: National Construction and Reconstruction.” History and Memory 6, no.2 (1994): 24-56.

Maissy-Noy, Rachel. “Palestinian Historiography in Relation to the Territory of Palestine.” Middle Eastern Studies 42, no. 6 (2006): 889-905.

Masalha, Nur. Expulsion of the Palestinians: The Concept of “Transfer” in Zionist Political Thought 1882-1948. Washington DC: Institute of Palestine Studies, 1992.

Masalha, Nur. The Palestine Nakba: Decolonizing History and Reclaiming Memory. London: Zed Books, 2012.

Mazza, Roberto. “Missing Voices in Rediscovering Late Ottoman and Early British Jerusalem.” Jerusalem Quarterly 53 (2013): 61-71.

Mulhall, John. America and the Founding of Israel: An Investigation of the Morality of America’s role. Los Angeles: Deshon Press, 1995.

Neal, Lorena. “The Roots of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict: 1882-1914.” Honors Projects. Paper 27 (1995): 1-26.

Nofal, Mamdouh, Fawaz Turki, Haidar Abdel Shafi, Inea Bushnaq, Yezid Sayigh, Shafiq al-Hout, Salma Khadra Jayyusi and Musa Budeiri. “Reflections on Al-Nakba.” Journal of Palestine Studies 28, no. 1 (1998): 5-35.

Pappe, Ilan. “Critique and Agenda: The Post-Zionist Scholars in Israel.” History and Memory 7, no.1 (1995): 66-90.

Pappe, Ilan. The Idea of Israel: A History of Power and Knowledge. London and New York: Verso, 2014.

Pappe, Ilan. “The Vicissitudes of the 1948 Historiography of Israel.” Journal of Palestine Studies 39, no. 1 (2009): 6-23.

Philo, Greg and Mike Berry. Israel and Palestine: Competing Histories. Illinois: University of Chicago Press, 2006.

Philipp, Thomas. “Bilad al-Sham in the Modern Period: Integration into the Ottoman Empire and New Relations with Europe.” Arabica 51, no.4 (2004):401-418.

Price, Richard. “Historiography, Narrative, and the Nineteenth Century.” Journal of British Studies 35, no. 2 (1996): 222-256.

Reilly, James. “The Peasantry of Late Ottoman Palestine.” Journal of Palestine Studies 10, no.4 (1981): 82-97.

Reinowski, Maurus. “Late Ottoman Rule over Palestine: Its Evaluation in Arab, Turkish and Israeli Histories, 1970-90.” Middle Eastern Studies 35, no.1 (1999): 66-97.

Robert, John and Sami Hadawi. The Palestine Diary: 1914-1945. New York: The Palestine Diary, 1970.

Saʻdi, Ahmad. “Remembering al-Nakba in a Time of Amnesia: On Silence, Dislocation and Time.” Interventions: International Journal of Postcolonial Studies 10, no.3 (2008): 381-399.

Sand, Shlomo. How I Stopped Being a Jew. London: Verso, 2014.

Sand, Shlomo. On the Nation and the “Jewish People”. London: Verso, 2010.

Sand, Shlomo. The Invention of the Land of Israel. London: Verso, 2012.

Sand, Shlomo. The Words and the Land: Israeli Intellectuals and the Nationalist Myth. Los Angeles: Semiotext, 2011.

Sayigh, Rosemary. “On the Exclusion of the Palestinian Nakba from the “Trauma Genre.” Journal of Palestine Studies 43, no. 1 (2013): 51-60.

Shahak, Israel. Jewish Fundamentalism in Israel. London: Pluto Press, 2004.

Sherman, A. J. Mandate Days: British Lives in Palestine, 1918-1948. London: Thames and Hudson, 1997.

Shlaim, Avi. “The Debate about 1948.” International Journal of Middle Eastern Studies 27, no. 3 (1995): 287-304.

Smith, Charles. Palestine and the Arab-Israeli Conflict: A History with Documents. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin’s, 2012.

Stav, Shira. “Nakba and Holocaust: Mechanisms of comparison and denial in the Israeli Literary Imagination.” Jewish Social Studies 18, no. 3 (2012): 85-98.

Toubbeh, Jamil. Day of the Long Night: A Palestinian Refugee Remembers the Nakba. McFarland: University of Michigan, 1998.

http://www.graphicsfuel.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/books-icon-512.png
The titles listed on this page do not represent a comprehensive list of resources available through AUB Libraries. Use the Catalog to find more Books, Journals, Maps, Photos , Posters, Primary Documents, Videos http://www.pdcinmateid.com/media/catalog/category/Video_1_2.jpgand other materials available at the University Libraries.

Sample Keywords are:

Articles are best resources for research because they are current, written by experts in the field, peer reviewed, and cover very specific subjects.

Recommended article Databases

Newspapers are good sources for up-to-date and historical information.

Use Journal Finder to locate individual journals. The following is a list of selected journals, magazines and newspapers.

I. Arabic Language

الدفاع: صدرت حتى سنة 1949 في يافا ثم صدرت سنة 1949 في القدس ثم انتقلت الى عمان
جريدة الكرملhttp://www.palestine-studies.org/sites/default/files/styles/book-cover-resize/public/Assahafa%20Al%20Arabiya%20Fi%20Falastin%201876-1948.jpg?itok=SBVDTzxo
العودة: مجلة تعنى بقضايا اللاجئين الفلسطينيين وحق العودة
فلسطين: العنوان تغير من "نشرة فلسطين" الى"قضية فلسطين" من ثم الى "فلسطين
فلسطين: صوت الذين لا صوت لهم
القدس: تقرير يرصد ويحلل تفاعلات القضية الفلسطينية محلياً واقليمياً ودولياً
مرآة الشرق: جريدة عربية سياسية حرة
الوثائق الفلسطينية العربية
الوقائع الفلسطينية: الجريدة الرسمية لحكومة فلسطين

لمزيد من الدوريات حول النزاع العربي الاسرائيلي انقر هنا

II. English Language

 

File:Mandate for Palestine and Memorandum by the British Government Relating to its Application to Transjordan WDL11572.pdf

For additional primary resources on the topic, search the Library Catalog.

Interactive Map: Nakba of Palestine - 1948
Abu-Sitta, Salman, Palestine 1948, Commemoration of al Nakba - Sixty Years in Exile, London 1998, 2008


Atlas of Palestine, 1948: combines survey of Palestine maps and old aerial photography, plus  information on about 1,300 towns and villages, 11,000 land marks and 20,000 place names.

Atlas of Palestine, 1917-1966: an enlarged, extended and edited edition of the 'Atlas of Palestine 1948'. Is a cartographic representation of palestine's modern history. A valuable source on 1,600 towns and villages, 16,000 landmarks, 30,000 place names, and much more.                                      

Jews in Palestine (634-1881) = Juden in Palastina (634-1881)

Palestine: Colored map published in 1942 by the War Office, Geographical Section.

Palestine 1948: 50 years after al Nakba: the towns and villages depopulated by the Zionist invasion of 1948. Includes information about dispossessed Palestinians and legend of depopulated towns and villages.       

Palestine, return is enivitable = فلسطين: الحقوق لا تزول

Map of Palestine: prepared and drawn for the 1946 Palestine yearbook. It includes 3 ancillary maps: Profile of Palestine and its surrounding countries -- Jewish national fund land in Palestine -- Southern portion of Palestine.

Survey of Palestine motor map: Insets: Haifa -- Jerusalem -- Jaffa and Tel Aviv.

Documentaries

Posters

Before Their Diaspora: A Photographic History of the Palestinians, 1876-1948Before their Diaspora: a photographic history of the Palestinians, 1876-1948. The book illustrates a visual journey into life in Palestine before its partition in 1948. It includes a collection of 500 photographs carefully selected from thousands available from private and public collections throughout the world.

View book as Digital Edition.

Browse by content type such as chronologies, primary documents, and photos.

Loading ...