LibGuides: Resources for Online Teaching and Learning: Arts and Humanities: AUB Libraries Online Resources

Library Services

Copyright and Fair Use

AUB Libraries provide access to their holdings for educational, personal, and non-commercial use, provided that the materials are properly cited. For publication, distribution, reproduction or other use of protected items which goes beyond 'Fair Use', written permission of the copyright holders and/or other rights' holders is required ... more

Scanning Course Materials

Faculty members are welcome to request the scanning of course readings from the library collection. Library staff will scan and email the material in PDF format within 24 hours. libreserve@aub.edu.lb

Click here to learn more about online library resources and services.

Head of Reference and Instruction Services

Nabila Shehabeddine

Email Me

Contact:

Jafet Library
American University of Beirut

+961-1-350000 ext. 2629

Subjects: Arab, Islamic, and Middle Eastern Studies, Arabic Language and Literature, Archaeology, Data and Statistics, Digital Humanities, Faculty Special, Fine Arts, History, How do I?, Language and Linguistics, Lebanon, Literature (American, British, . . .), Multidisciplinary, Music, Open Access Publishing, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference, Religion

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcSde7YFQjKbFXTPn_-CSw6Z54wXt9cUGGcEWA&usqp=CAU

Search JSTOR for academic articles in Arts and Humanities

Selected Databases by Subject

Fine Arts	Art Full TextThis link opens in a new window ARTstor This link opens in a new window Oxford Art OnlineThis link opens in a new window Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)This link opens in a new window	Music	Berlin Philharmonic Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window Cambridge CompanionsThis link opens in a new window Digital Theatre +This link opens in a new window Description of this database. his link opens in a new window Description of this databaNaxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
History	ACLS Humanities E-BookThis link opens in a new window Brill Online Journals This link opens in a new window Brill E-Bookshis link opens in a new window Cambridge Histories OnlineThis link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts link opens in a new window	Philosophy	Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window Oxford Handbooks OnlineThis link opens in a new window Philosopher’s IndexThis link opens in a new window Periodicals Archive OnlineThis link opens in a new window
Language and Literature	The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window De Gruyter eBooks This link opens in a new window Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window MLA Internatioanl BibliographThis link opens in a new windy Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window	Religion	Brill E-BooksThis link opens in a new window Brill Dictionary of ReligionThis link opens in a new window Brill Online JournalsThis link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Oxford Handbooks OnlineThis link opens in a new window Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window Religion Past and PresentThis link opens in a new window

* Click on each subject for a detailed list of databases.

Selected Arabic Databases

Arabic Collections Online (ACO) = المجموعات العربية على الإنترنت
Digital library funded by New York University, Abu Dhabi and partner institutions. Provides full-text access to books in the public domain drawn from Arabic collections of prominent libraries. Subjects covered: fiction, literature, history, and Arabic language.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library
Digital library of early printed books in Arabic. Covering religious literature, law, alchemy, geography, travel, history, literature, and more.
E-Marefa = معرفة
Arabic language full-text database providing access to academic journals and statistical reports from the Arab world. Subjects covered includes human sciences, social sciences, economics, medical sciences and more.
Al Manhal = المنهل
Arabic database providing full-text access searchable publications from Arab world's leading publishers, universities and research centers. Covers a wide range of topics including history, Islamic studies, language and literature.

Selected Multidisciplinary Databases

	Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) Th is link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database indexing leading arts and humanities journals.
	ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window allows you to search the following databases Arts and Humanities Database; Linguistics Database; and Religion Database
	ScopusThis link opens in a new window Browse and search within the Arts and Humanities document results. To conduct your on search go to Advanced search and enter the following query string SUBJAREA(ARTS)
	SpringerLinkThis link opens in a new window allows you to browse search results by discipline such as History, Literature, and Philosophy

Use e-Book Finder to find titles of e-Books available at the Library:

Browse e-Books by subjects such as:

Access e-Books through individual E-Books collections such as:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window A digital collection of over 5,400 high quality e-books in the humanities and related social sciences, including art, film & media studies, history, literature, philosophy, religion, and women studies. These titles are recommended by scholars and learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS). Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Varies
Brill E-Books This link opens in a new window Collection of electronic books from Brill focusing on Middle Eastern art, history, culture, language, Islamic studies, philosophy, theology, mysticism, sociology and political studies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection
Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window The complete collection of companions published by Cambridge University Press. The Cambridge Companions Platform offers four collections: The Complete Companions The Companions to Literature and Classics The Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture The Companions to Music Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
Cambridge Histories online This link opens in a new window An e-book collection bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts. Availability: Full-text Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
De Gruyter eBooks This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary and multilingual collection of electronic books and textbooks from many reputable publishers. The collection covers 28 subject areas. Availability: Full-text Coverage: Complete collection Format: PDF and ePub
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Digitized collection of printed books published in UK and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. The collection includes works by famous authors such as Shakespeare, Spencer, Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. Subjects covered include English literature, language and linguistics, history, music, philosophy and religion. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1473-1700 EEBO covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies. EEBO consists of facsimile images scanned as listed in the following collections: Early English Books I, 1473-1640 (STC I, Pollard & Redgrave) Early English Books II, 1641-1700 (STC II, Wing) Thomason Tracts Early English Books Tract Supplement
Early European Books This link opens in a new window Digitized collection of rare books and incunabula printed in Europe or in European languages from 1450-1700. The collection is built in partnership with national and other major European libraries. The collection offers full-color, high-resolution facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources. New titles are added regularly. AUB Libraries have access to 8 collections. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: pre-1701 European libraries: The Royal Library (Copenhagen, Denmark), National Central Library in Florence (Florence, Italy), The National Library (The Hague, The Netherlands), Wellcome Library (London, UK), and National Library of France (Paris, France).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window The collection captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800. It covers a wide range of subjects including history, geography, arts, literature, law, science, medicine, philosophy, religion and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1700s
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of reference and scholarly e-books from hundreds of university presses, trade publishers, and popular presses. The content covers 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, education, fine arts, history, literature and linguistics, life science, medicine, political science etc... Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1999 to present
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window A collection of electronic books published by Oxford University Press. The collection brings together the world’s leading scholar to discuss research and latest thinking on a range of major topics. It contains in-depth, high level scholarly review articles and covers a wide range of subject areas such as archaeology, classical studies, history, linguistics, literature, philosophy, and more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 2012 to present

Download E-Books

Refer to "How to Download E-Books" guide for instruction on how to download online books from e-books collections.

Fine Arts and Music

Academic Video Online: Eastern Version This link opens in a new window A comprehensive video collection published by Alexander Street video from ProQuest. The collection includes documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, skills-based training videos, demonstrations, and more. Academic Video Online covers a wide range of topics from anthropology to zoology including art, business, media studies, education, music, dance, theater and much more. Availability: Videos
Berlin Philharmonic Digital Concert Hall (First-time user should create an account) This link opens in a new window Collection of hundreds of exclusive classical concert videos, symphonies and vocal works, artist interviews, documentaries and more. Availability: Streaming videos Date Coverage: Varies Limitations: 3 users at a time Note: Users must set up an account while on campus, using the "Get Free and Easy Access - Just Sign Up" button within The AUB pop-up window. Once registered, content is accessible from anywhere.
Medici.tv EDU This link opens in a new window A primary resource for classical music videos, Medici.tv features over 1,800 programs (3,000 original works) including concerts, ballets, operas, documentaries, artists portraits or interviews, educational programs, and master classes by leading musicians. Availability: Videos Coverage Date: 2008 – present

Archives and Special Collections - Digital Collections


Palestinian Oral History Archive is an archival collection that contains more than 1,000 hours of testimonies with first generation Palestinians and other Palestinian communities in Lebanon.	Refugee Cultural Heritage digital archive captures homeland memories and creates permanent records of intangible cultural heritage of refugees mainly residing in refugee camps in Lebanon.

https://www.artstor.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/screen-shot-2018-08-22-at-4-47-14-pm-768x557.png

ARTstor is an Image database containing high quality images in all areas of arts.

Browse ARTstor This link opens in a new window By:

Archives & Special Collections (ASC) include among other things posters, postcards, photographs and more.


E.W. Blatchford Photograph Collection	Issa Iskandar al Ma'luf Postcard Collection


Arts Poster in Lebanon	Political Poster Collections

AUB Libraries Digital Collections feature manuscripts, maps, photos, posters, books, multimedia and other resources.

This online growing repository aims to continuously disseminate knowledge about AUB, the region, our history and cultural heritage for the purpose of research, teaching and education. Sample collections are:

Art posters collection
A collection of 165 art posters dates between early sixties until the late twentieth century.
Travel Books
This travel books collection covers mainly the Middle East from mid-19th century to around mid-20th century.

Selected Primary Source Materials

Arabic Language and Literature

Brockelmann Online This link opens in a new window A multivolume reference work offering bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors. The collection covers the original volumes of the Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur, as well as the three supplement volumes, including the index. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1937-1947
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library This link opens in a new window Also known as أمهات الكتب العربية المطبوعة من المكتبة البريطانية :a digital library of pre-20th century Arabic printed books. This historical collection includes a wide range of works that were published from the 15th to 19th centuries. In addition to books printed in Arabic script, the collection includes European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European works. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1475-1900 Topics covered include: Islamic literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, religion, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature.

Fine Arts

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window A comprehensive bibliographic database for 19th-century research and studies. The index provides records for million of documents from books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archival collections. Collections indexed include: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals; and Palmer's Index to the Times Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1770-1931 Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software) Link to Full-Text options via OpenURL

History

Christian-Muslim Relations 1500-1900 This link opens in a new window A Bibliographical History of relations between the two faiths, as they are reflected in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other. Covers all parts of the world. Published by BRILL. Date coverage: 1500-1914.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window A collection of primary sources documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database.The collection covers a broad sweep of history from 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. It consists of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses and descriptions of leading personalities. All documents are fully text-searchable. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1839-1969 Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) This link opens in a new window FRUS presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series is produced by the State Department’s Office of the Historian and includes more than 600 books beginning with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and continuing to the administration of Ronald Reagan in 1988. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1861 to 2017
Translated texts for historians e-library This link opens in a new window Translated Texts for Historians book series makes available full text historical sources from A.D. 300–800 translated into English. The library contains different types of writing including histories, chronicles, letters, annals, political speeches, handbooks, poems, biblical commentaries, church histories, and Christian treatises. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Varies
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window A primary source to the historical records of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. It contains parliamentary papers, also known as sessional papers, or blue books from the 18th century to the 21th century, with supplementary materials back to 1688. Papers cover all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1688 to 2005 Note: The microfiche collection of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers is held at the Audio Visual Section - Reference Department.

Language, Literature and Philosophy

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window A comprehensive bibliographic database for 19th-century research and studies. The index provides records for million of documents from books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers and archival collections. Collections indexed include: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals; and Palmer's Index to the Times Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1770-1931 Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software) Link to Full-Text options via OpenURL
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window Collection of primary material across a wide variety of subject areas, from philosophy and literature, to economics and medicine. Its content constitutes the cornerstone of research in the fields of English Literature and Classical Studies. Provides access to scholarly materials written between 1485 and 1901, including all of Shakespeare’s plays. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection till May 2021 OSEO allows users to search the complete text of over 170 scholarly editions, read texts in the original language with a translation alongside, together with interpretive and explanatory notes.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Digitized collection of printed books published in UK and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. The collection includes works by famous authors such as Shakespeare, Spencer, Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. Subjects covered include English literature, language and linguistics, history, music, philosophy and religion. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1473-1700 EEBO covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies. EEBO consists of facsimile images scanned as listed in the following collections: Early English Books I, 1473-1640 (STC I, Pollard & Redgrave) Early English Books II, 1641-1700 (STC II, Wing) Thomason Tracts Early English Books Tract Supplement
Early European Books This link opens in a new window Digitized collection of rare books and incunabula printed in Europe or in European languages from 1450-1700. The collection is built in partnership with national and other major European libraries. The collection offers full-color, high-resolution facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed sources. New titles are added regularly. AUB Libraries have access to 8 collections. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: pre-1701 European libraries: The Royal Library (Copenhagen, Denmark), National Central Library in Florence (Florence, Italy), The National Library (The Hague, The Netherlands), Wellcome Library (London, UK), and National Library of France (Paris, France).

Religion

Church Missionary Society Periodicals This link opens in a new window Publications from Church Missionary Society, South American Missionary Society and Church of England Zenana Missionary Society. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database. The database documents missionary works from the nineteenth to the twentieth century. This online portal includes journals, letters, reports, images, maps, serialized accounts of indigenous peoples, family news including births, marriages and deaths as well as a register of missionaries detailing the movements of men, women and native clergy. Many of the titles in Church Missionary Society Periodicals evolved over time, reflecting the changing aims of the societies. Sample titles include The CMS Cleaner (continued as CMS Outlook and then Yes Magazine), The CMS Intelligencer (continued as Church Missionary Review), Ruanda Notes, and South American Missionary Society Magazine. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1804 till 2009 Format: PDF Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software)
Coptic Gnostic Library This link opens in a new window The main sources of information for the Gnostic religion are the so-called Nag Hammadi codices, written in Coptic. These were unearthed in 1945 near the town of Nag Hammadi in Upper Egypt. The Coptic Gnostic Library contains all the texts of the Nag Hammadi codices, both in the original Coptic and in translation. Each text has its own introduction, and full indexes are provided. The Coptic Gnostic Library is the starting point for all research into ancient Gnosticism. The Coptic Gnostic Library is an authoritative edition of many of the Coptic writings of the Gnostics from the first centuries AD. It was originally published by Brill in fourteen hardback volumes as part of the Nag Hammadi (and Manichaean) Studies series between 1975 and 1995. Availability: Full-text Coverage: Varies Format: HTML Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software)
Early Western Korans This link opens in a new window A collection of primary sources including Korans and Koran translations in eight languages, printed between 1537 and 1857. Among the translations, only those into German and Dutch are offered completely. Of the partial editions, only the typographically or academically most interesting ones are presented here. This early Korans collection demonstrates the impact of the holy book of Islam in Europe. Availability: Full text Date Coverage: 1537-1857 It also features rare multilingual editions by Thomas Erpenius, Johann Georg Nissel and Johann Andreas Danz, all dating from the
Evangelism and the Syrian - Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869 - 1910 This link opens in a new window This collection of primary documents provides information on social conditions in Greater Syria (and Lebanon) and on efforts to spread the gospel during the 19th century. Documenting the church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work, these are records mainly of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board’s headquarters. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1869-1910

* Click on each subject for a detailed list of primary sources.

AUB Related Guides

Teaching and Learning Guides	Subject Guides	Special Guides
Faculty Special: Teaching and Learning Object Find Manuscript Find Images Find Open Access Resources Find Videos	American Literature Arabic Language and Literature Arts and Fine Arts English Language and Linguistics Fine Arts in the Middle East History Philosophy	Al-Nahda (Arabic Renaissance)= النهضة العربية Al-Nakba: 1948 Palestinian Exodus Arabic Comics Books AUB History Boutros Al-Boustani Early Arab Press Lebanese Civil War: 1975-1991

* For a list of All Guides click here