Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Online Teaching and Learning: Arts and Humanities: Online Teaching Resources

This guide provides useful resources and tools related to online teaching and learning in arts and humanities.
Selected freely available teaching resources for arts and humanities educators teaching online 

Open Educational Resources

Open Culture includes free online courses from the world's top universities like Stanford, Yale, MIT, Harvard, Oxford and more. It also includes free movies, free audio books, and much more.

You can use this collection of online courses to learn everything you want--from art and art history, history, to philosophy and literature.

Open Education Consortium is a non-profit, global, members-based network of open education institutions and organizations.

Click here to browse OER repositories, Open courseware, Open textbooks, Digital media, and more.

OER Lebanon a non-governmental organization devoted to promoting the use of open educational resources in Lebanon and the region.

edX is the trusted platform for education and learning.

Founded by Harvard and MIT.

Access 2500+ Online Courses from 140 Institutions. Explore courses in art, history, humanities, language, literature, philosophy and more. 

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Leaning and Online Teaching). A free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials for higher education.

Browse MERLOT by disciplines

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources.

OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)  A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 388,670 records.

Browse OER by Subject or Type.

Ted Ed (Tededucation) supports learning — from producing a growing library of original animated videos, to providing an international platform for teachers to create their own interactive lessons.

Educators start here

Khan Academy is a nonprofit organization with the mission of providing a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere.

Explore courses in art history, arts and humanities, economics, language and more

Directory of Open Access Books is a searchable database of peer reviewed monographs . The collection covers all disciplines but focuses in particular on humanities, law and social sciences. 

Browse books by Subject such as artshistory, literature, philosophy, religion and more. 

OpenStax publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.

Browse by subject

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites and more.

Smarthistory provides free and high quality educational resources for arts and cultural heritage.

University of Oxford: Podcasts this free site features public lectures, teaching material, interviews with leading academics and much more. 

Selected Open Education Resources by Subject:

Open Oregon Educational Resources: This page lists course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses

OER Metafinder

MOM iconMason OER Metafinder 
 
Advanced Search
Open Educational Resources
Open Textbooks
Courses
Open Educational Resources
   Digital public library and collaboration platform offering 
   a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts
   and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER
   and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use.

Open Textbooks and Books
Courses and Videos
Open Access artworks, images and photos
Open Educational Resources
Open Textbooks and Books
Courses and Videos
Open Educational Resources
Open Textbooks
Courses and Videos
Open Educational Resources
Open Textbooks
Courses and Videos
Open Educational Resources
Open Textbooks and Books
Courses and Videos
Open Educational Resources
Open Textbooks and Books
Courses and Videos