Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images in the UL
Visit the ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Department at the Library to learn about its unique and valuable collection of photographs, posters and postcards.
Searching the collection online:
- For posters, photos and chiefly illustrated books, use the keyword search in AUBCAT and limit your search to media type Posters, Photographs or Graphic Materials.
- For illustrated books add 'Pictorial Works'. Ex. Beirut and Pictorial works
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips). Most Wikimedia images are pulled from other websources.
A searchable database of digital images. It covers many time periods and culture, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, fashion and design.
League of Nations Photo Archive open access
The Photo Archive (1919-1945), includes photos of: Personalities, Assemblies, Councils, Delegations, Commissions, Conferences, the Secretariat, the Permanent Court of International Justice, the Bureau International du Travail, and miscellaneous photos.
Oxford Art Online (9 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Provides 45,000 articles on fine arts, over 13,000 art images, and 21,000 biographies of artists, architects, etc.
Availability : Full-text and images
Date Coverage: Current
Limitations: 9 simultaneous users
The following links provide examples of citing images from online and print resources: