Skip to Main Content

University Libraries
Library Guides

Political Science: Middle East

This guide highlights core print and electronic Library resources in the area of Political Science . Use this guide as your starting point, come to the library or Ask a Librarian for more resources and further help.

Politics and Diplomacy

A selection of books on Middle East politics and diplomacy:

Diplomacy in the Middle East the international relations of regional and outside powers
Call Number: J 327.095:D596b
Publication Date: I.B. Tauris, c2001
Ethnic conflict and international politics in the Middle East
Call Number: J 323.156:E84b
Publication Date: 1999
Identity and foreign policy in the Middle East
Call Number: J 327.095:I197t
Publication Date: Cornell University Press, 2002
Major political events in Iran, Iraq, and the Arabian Peninsula, 1945-1990
Call Number: J 950:M915m
Publication Date: Facts on File, c1991
Middle East review by Added Author World of Information (Firm)
Publication Date: World of Information, c2003
Nation and religion in the Middle East
Call Number: J 322.109:H188n:c.1
Publication Date: Saqi Books, 2000
Political and diplomatic history of the Arab world, 1900-1967 a chronological study (7v.)
Call Number: J 956.9:M289p
Publication Date: NCR Microcard Editions, 1972
The foreign policies of Middle East states
Call Number: J 327.56:F714h
Publication Date: L Rienner Publishers, c2002
The United States in the Middle East a historical dictionary
Call Number: J 303.482:S533u
Publication Date: Greenwood Press, 1988

Background Information

Find background in formation in Reference books, you can also check Very Basic Suggested Reading List on Middle East

Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict: culture, history and politics
Call Number: J 956.9405:F265d
Publication Date: 2005
Historical dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey by Moussalli, Ahmad S.,
Call Number: J 320.557:M933h
Publication Date: c1999
Political and diplomatic history of the Arab world, 1900-1967 a chronological study (7v.) by Mansoor, Menahem
Call Number: J 956.9:M289p
Publication Date: 1972
A political and economic dictionary of the Middle East
Call Number: J 320.956:S447p
Publication Date: 2004
Political handbook of the Middle East 2008 by CQ Press
Call Number: J 320.956:P769pi:2008
Publication Date: 2008
موسوعة السياسة
Call Number: J 320:K23mA
Publication Date: بيروت : المؤسسة العربية للدراسات والنشر، 1979-2015

Internet Resources and Collections

AMIR Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources
Open access scholarship on the Middle East and Islamic worlds
Documents Pertinent to Middle Eastern Issues
Libraries with Major Middle East Collections (Columbia University Libraries)
Middle East and Islamic Studies: Bibliography (Cornell University Library)
MIT OpenCourseWare
Open access courses.

Arab-Israeli Conflict

Documents on the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict
Call Number: J 956.04:E564r
Publication Date: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2010
Encyclopedia of the Middle East peace process and the Middle East
Call Number: J 956.003:R813e:
Publication Date: Greenwich, Conn. : JAI Press, c1997
Encyclopedia of the Palestine problem
Call Number: R 956.94:N163e
Publication Date: New York : Intercontinental Books, c1991
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians
Call Number: J 956.94:E563ma
Publication Date: New York : Facts on File, c2005
Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict : a political, social, and military history
Call Number: R 956.9405:E564t
Publication Date: Santa Barbara, CA : ABC Clio, c2008
An historical encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict
Call Number: J 956.9405:H673h
Publication Date: Westport CT : Government Press, 1996
الموسوعة الفلسطينية / إصدار هيئة الموسوعة الفلسطينية
Call Number: R 956.94:M462mA
Publication Date: دمشق : هيئة الموسوعة الفلسطينية, 1990-1984