LibGuides: Oil and Gas in Lebanon: Library Resources

Books

Search the Library Catalog to find books and other materials available at the University Libraries.

You may also start with a Subject search. These subjects might be useful:

Business News and Reports

Use Zawya database to find companies, and articles on Lebanon and the MENA region.
Select the News tab to search for articles.
For full text access, consult the Reference Desk at Jafet Librar

Arabic News

Use the University Libraries: E-Newspapers to access the backfiles of Arabic newspapers such as:

SearchAll One Stop Search

Use SearchAll to find articles, books, conference papers, in the AUB libraries, in other libraries and on the internet

Scholarly Articles

Start at the University Libraries home page, go to Databases and select your source from the A-Z List.

Core databases

American Geophysical Union (AGU) Journals This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journals covering research in the earth and space sciences, from the initial journal publication dates to present. Topics covered include Atmospheric Science; Climate change; Engineering and Applied Geophysics, Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Geology and Geophysics; Hydrology, Cryosphere, and Earth Surface. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
OnePetro (Society of Petroleum Engineers: SPE) This link opens in a new window An online library of technical literature for the oil and gas exploration and production industry. Users are prompted to add exception to access the database. Published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Indexes articles, technical documents and conference papers. Partner publishers are 18 and include American Petroleum Institute (API), and American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE). Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions, conference papers, and active standards. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1872 to present
GeoRef This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1800 to present
GeoScienceWorld eBooks This link opens in a new window A comprehensive e-books resource for researchers in eath sciences. The collection includes more than 1,100 earth science ebook titles from 11 leading society publishers. GWS book platform is cross-searchable and is interlinked with GWS journal collections and GeoRef database. This platform allows users to search across eBooks, all 46 journals in GSW journal platform, and all GeoRef records. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1926-2019 It also includes the Geological Society of America’s Special Papers and Memoirs series and SEPM’s Gulf Coast Section content. Recommendation and sharing tools to help users discover relevant content. Flexible access models for organizations and individuals. Mobile compatible eBook reader. Downloadable, DRM-free PDF chapters. MARC records for each title. Librarian center to manage accounts, access usage data, and IP access. New titles and publishers added on an ongoing basis.
GeoScienceWorld journals This link opens in a new window A collection of geosciences peer-reviewed journals from American Association of Petroleum Geologists, Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, and other societies. Sample titles are: Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, Economic Geology, Environmental & Engineering Geoscience, Geophysics, Journal of the Geological Society, and Petroleum Geoscience. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1

Political and Multidisciplinary databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index of materials (journal articles, dissertations, books, etc…) relating to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. It contains more than 400,000 records, from reputable centers such as the School of Oriental and African Studies. Subject Coverage: Political and economic affairs, cultural heritage, art and humanities, sociology, religion, anthropology, and archaeology. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1946 to present
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database that supports research in more than 160 subject areas covering arts and humanities, business and management, health and medicine, science and technology, and social sciences. It includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, market reports and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1905 to present
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus, launched in 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes citation tracking tools. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1823 to present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, an authoritative and multidisciplinary citation database, allows searching of core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes current and retrospective coverage dating to 1900. Also features "cited reference" search capabilities. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1900 to present

Business and Economics databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window ABI/Inform Complete is a business database, that provide access to titles related to business and financial information, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory. The database includes scholarly journals, trade journals, newspapers, dissertations, working papers, business periodicals, annual company reports, market research reports and more. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1912 to present
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Offers access to peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in the business world. Features reports, company information and company profiles. Bloomberg.com is also searchable through Business Source Ultimate. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: - - - -
EconLit With Full Text This link opens in a new window EconLit, the American Economic Association database, is the primary source to economic literature. Contains nearly 600 English journals and many non-English journals in economics & finance. Includes journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. It covers all fields of economics including economic theory, econometrics, economic forecasting and much more. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1969 to present
Emerald Insight Journals This link opens in a new window Provides full-text of more than 130 journals in the fields of management, marketing, human resources and library science. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1

News

Start at the University Libraries, go to Databases and select News from the drop down menu under 'All Database Types'.

LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new window Lexis-Nexis Academic provides full-text and citation access to information in news, business, medical, and legal disciplines. The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. Research areas cover top news topics; foreign language news sources; company and industry news; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1975 to present The vast majority of the titles on LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Lexis-Nexis) are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form. Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Lexis-Nexis) cover top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information. Availability: Full-text Coverage: 1975 to present
Middle East Newsstream This link opens in a new window A database of Middle East newspapers published in the Middle East & about the Middle East. It includes around 30 full-text English and foreign language publications focusing on all aspects of Middle East news including current events, economics, politics, business, culture, sports and much more. Sample titles are: Aljazeera.net, The Daily Star (Beirut), Gulf Daily News and Palestine Chronicle. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1980 to present

MEES: Middle East Economic Survey
Data Driven Middle East Oil & Gas Analysis

Journals

Use Journal Finder to find journals on your topic.

List of Arabic Journals at the University Libraries (UL)

Selected journals:

Dictionaries/ Encyclopedias

Handbooks

Knovel This link opens in a new window A digital collection of engineering books selected from more than 30 leading publishers and professional associations. It contains hundreds of full text of reference works and handbooks as well as interactive tables, graphs and equations. Subjects covered include: chemical engineering, civil engineering, oil and gas engineering, environmental engineering and much more. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Varies
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window This e-book collection provides online access to over 10,000 selected academic books published by Taylor & Francis, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, and approximately 15,000 titles published by CRC Press in science, technology, engineering, and medicine. Availability: full-text Date Coverage: Varies

Directories

Kompass: the Business to Business Search Engine.
Select Middle East and browse products and service categories by Extraction Industry - Oil and Gas
Multinational oil & gas companies in the Middle East & Africa directory.