Skip to Main Content
 

Islamic Studies: History and Primary Sources

Al-Mawardi’s "Al-Ahkam al-Sultaniyyah" (The Ordinances of Government)

  • This is one of the most important classical works on Islamic governance. Written by Al-Mawardi (972–1058), this text lays out a detailed framework for the functioning of an Islamic government, including the responsibilities of the caliph, the judiciary, and financial administration.

4. Ibn Khaldun's "Muqaddimah" (The Introduction)

  • Although primarily a work of historiography and sociology, Ibn Khaldun (1332–1406) also discusses political theory and governance in the Islamic world. His theory of Asabiyyah (social cohesion) and the cyclical nature of dynasties has had a significant impact on understanding Islamic governance and political development.

 

6. Al-Ghazali’s "Nasihat al-Muluk" (Advice for Kings)

  • This is a political treatise written by the famous Islamic scholar Al-Ghazali (1058–1111), offering advice to rulers on governance and ethical leadership. It addresses how a ruler should behave to maintain justice and order in society.

7. "Siyasatnama" (The Book of Government) by Nizam al-Mulk

  • Written by the Persian vizier Nizam al-Mulk (1018–1092), this book offers practical advice on the governance of an Islamic state. It includes reflections on the roles of rulers, ministers, the military, and the legal system, combining Persian and Islamic ideas of administration.

8. Ibn Taymiyyah’s "Al-Siyasah al-Shar'iyyah" (The Policy of Governance in Accordance with Islamic Law)

  • Ibn Taymiyyah (1263–1328) wrote extensively on political authority and Islamic governance. His book focuses on governance based on Islamic law (Shari’ah) and discusses the responsibilities of rulers to uphold justice, maintain public order, and follow Shari’ah in their policies.

9. "Al-Muqtafi bi-l-Imam" by Al-Maqrizi

  • Al-Maqrizi (1364–1442) was a famous Egyptian historian. This work, though historical, includes a significant amount of detail on the administrative practices of the Mamluk period, offering insights into taxation, governance, and public administration in the late medieval Islamic world.

10. Letters and Treatises of Caliphs and Governors

  • Letters and correspondences from caliphs and governors, such as the famous "Letter to Malik al-Ashtar" by Imam Ali, contain primary source material on governance, justice, and administration. These provide direct insights into how early Islamic rulers viewed their responsibilities.

Ibn al-Awwam’s "Kitab al-Filaha" (Book of Agriculture): This 12th-century Andalusian text offers a detailed look into agricultural practices, irrigation systems, and rural life, reflecting the economic backbone of many Islamic societies. It gives insights into the social life of farmers, rural communities, and the importance of agriculture in sustaining urban centers.

  • Hisba Manuals: These were practical guides for market inspectors (muhtasibs) responsible for ensuring fair trade and ethical practices in marketplaces. Notable manuals, such as "Nihayat al-Rutba fi Talab al-Hisba" by Ibn al-Ukhuwwa (14th century), describe market regulations, consumer protection laws, and the social ethics of trade. They give insight into the economic aspects of daily life and the responsibilities of market inspectors in Islamic cities.

  • Documents from the Cairo Geniza: These are a collection of legal and business documents, letters, and contracts preserved in a synagogue in medieval Cairo. While the majority of the documents concern the Jewish community, they provide a rich source of information about interfaith relations, economic life, and social dynamics in an Islamic city during the Fatimid and Ayyubid periods.

  • Qadi Abu Yusuf’s "Kitab al-Kharaj" (The Book of Taxation)

  • Written by Qadi Abu Yusuf (d. 798), this book was commissioned by the Abbasid Caliph Harun al-Rashid and focuses on financial administration in the Islamic state, including taxation and land policies. It is one of the earliest treatises on fiscal management in Islamic governance.

"Adab al-Katib" (The Etiquette of the Scribe) by Ibn Qutaybah is one of the earliest and most influential works on the art of writing and the proper conduct of secretaries and scribes in the Islamic world. Written in the 9th century, this work reflects the growing need for skilled bureaucrats and intellectuals in the expanding Abbasid administration. It provides instruction on Arabic grammar, language, proper conduct, and how to be an effective and cultured writer in the service of the state or in intellectual pursuits.

There are several similar works that focus on the art of writing, adab (literature of manners), and the role of secretaries and scribes. These works not only delve into the mechanics of writing but also the ethical, intellectual, and social expectations of writers, administrators, and scholars in the Islamic world.

Similar Works to "Adab al-Katib"

1. "Risalat al-Sahabah" by Ibn al-Muqaffa‘

  • Ibn al-Muqaffa‘ (d. 756) was one of the most famous early Persian writers who converted to Islam and made significant contributions to Arabic literature. His "Risalat al-Sahabah" (The Epistle of Secretaries) is a guide for scribes and administrators, offering advice on how to conduct state affairs and diplomacy. It also includes ethical considerations for those in public office, emphasizing loyalty and integrity in service to the state.

2. "Kitab al-Tarassul" by Al-Jahiz

  • Al-Jahiz (d. 868), a famous prose stylist and intellectual of the Abbasid era, wrote extensively on a wide range of subjects. His "Kitab al-Tarassul" (The Book of Correspondence) focuses on the art of letter writing and the stylistic and rhetorical techniques necessary for official communication. It reflects the importance of clear and effective correspondence in both administrative and literary contexts.

3. "Kitab al-Wuzara’ wa’l-Kuttab" by Al-Jahiz

  • Another relevant work by Al-Jahiz is "Kitab al-Wuzara’ wa’l-Kuttab" (The Book of Ministers and Secretaries), where he provides insights into the role of secretaries in the Abbasid bureaucracy, their responsibilities, and their intellectual and moral qualifications. Al-Jahiz highlights the ethical standards and rhetorical skills necessary for a successful career in the administration.

4. "Siraj al-Muluk" by Al-Turtushi

  • Al-Turtushi (d. 1127) wrote "Siraj al-Muluk" (The Lantern of Kings), a political and administrative manual aimed at rulers and their ministers. Although its focus is on governance, it also covers the ethical and practical expectations for scribes and bureaucrats, providing advice on managing correspondence, communication, and political affairs.

5. "Al-Muqaddimah" by Ibn Khaldun

  • While Ibn Khaldun’s "Muqaddimah" (Introduction to History) is primarily known as a work of history and sociology, it also contains sections on the role of secretaries, the importance of writing, and the proper conduct of scholars and administrators. Ibn Khaldun provides insight into the relationship between rulers and their scribes, highlighting the ethical and practical aspects of their work.

6. "Kitab al-Insaf fi Ma‘rifat al-Hisab" by Thabit ibn Qurra

  • Thabit ibn Qurra (d. 901), an influential mathematician, philosopher, and translator, wrote "Kitab al-Insaf fi Ma‘rifat al-Hisab" (The Book of Fairness in the Knowledge of Calculation), which, while primarily focused on mathematics, also touches upon the intellectual discipline and clarity required for scribes and secretaries. It reflects the broader cultural appreciation for the precision and clarity expected from writers in both scientific and bureaucratic contexts.

7. "Al-Bayan wa al-Tabyin" by Al-Jahiz

  • "Al-Bayan wa al-Tabyin" (The Book of Eloquence and Demonstration) is another seminal work by Al-Jahiz, focused on the art of eloquence, public speaking, and rhetoric. While not specifically for scribes, it offers deep insights into the power of language, effective communication, and the cultural expectations of writers and speakers in Islamic society.

8. "Kitab al-Kamil fi al-Lugha wa al-Adab" by Al-Mubarrad

  • Al-Mubarrad (d. 898), a well-known grammarian and scholar, wrote "Kitab al-Kamil fi al-Lugha wa al-Adab" (The Complete Book of Language and Literature), which focuses on Arabic language, grammar, poetry, and adab (the broad concept of manners and literature). This work is often used as a guide for scholars and writers to refine their language and literary skills, an essential tool for any scribe or intellectual.

9. "Tuhfat al-Kuttab" by Ibn Abi al-Rabi‘

  • Ibn Abi al-Rabi‘ (9th century) wrote "Tuhfat al-Kuttab" (The Ornament of the Scribes), a practical guide for secretaries, offering advice on letter writing, administrative correspondence, and diplomatic communication. This work highlights the importance of proper rhetoric, style, and structure in official documents.

10. "Al-Adab al-Kabir" by Ibn al-Muqaffa‘

  • Another work by Ibn al-Muqaffa‘, "Al-Adab al-Kabir" (The Great Book of Manners), focuses on the ethical and practical education of rulers, scribes, and administrators. It emphasizes the proper conduct expected of those in authority, offering advice on self-discipline, communication, and leadership. The work has a moralistic tone, stressing the importance of wisdom and restraint in governance and administration.