Islamic Studies: History and Primary Sources

General Arabic Bibliographies

1. الفهرست   ِAl-Fihrist) by Ibn al-Nadim (d. 995):

A 10th-century bibliographic survey of books written in the Arabic language, including both Islamic and non-Islamic works. Compiled in 988.

An essential source for early Islamic bibliographical information.

2. كشف الظنون عن أسامي الكتب والفنون  (Kashf al-Ẓunūn ʿan Asāmī al-Kutub wa-l-Funūn) by Katip Çelebi (Hajji Khalifa) (1609–1657):

One of the most comprehensive bibliographies of Islamic literature up to the 17th century. Written around 1652–1654.

Covers a vast range of topics and includes information on manuscripts and printed books.

3. إيضاح المكنون في الذيل على كشف الظنون (Iḍāḥ al-Maknūn fī Dhayl ʿalā Kashf al-Ẓunūn) by Ismail Basha al-Baghdadi (1832–1891):

A continuation of Katip Çelebi's "Kashf al-Ẓunūn," providing additional bibliographical information. Published in 1882.

4. معجم المطبوعات العربية والمعربة (Muʿjam  l-Maṭbūʿāt al-ʿArabiyya wa-l-Muʿarraba) by Yusuf Ilyan Sarkis (1856–1932)

A comprehensive bibliography of Arabic and Arabized printed books, published in 1928.

Focuses on the bibliographical details of publications in the Arabic language.

Major Bibliographies

1. Geschichte der Arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868–1956):
   • A monumental bibliography of Arabic literature, covering authors and works up to the 19th century. The first edition was published in two volumes in 1898–1902, with a Supplementband (S) published in 1937–1942.