Hadith literature is a cornerstone of Islamic scholarship, providing detailed accounts of the sayings, actions, and approvals of the Prophet Muhammad. Here are some of the most important original resources in Hadith studies:
1. The Six Major Hadith Collections (Al-Kutub al-Sittah)
These six collections are considered the most authoritative in Sunni Islam.
- Sahih al-Bukhari (d. 870 CE): "Al-Jami' al-Sahih" - Compiled by Muhammad ibn Isma'il al-Bukhari, this is considered the most authentic collection of hadith. It contains around 7,275 hadiths (including repetitions) and is widely respected for its rigorous criteria for inclusion.
- Sahih Muslim (d. 875 CE): "Al-Musnad al-Sahih" - Compiled by Muslim ibn al-Hajjaj, this collection is also highly esteemed, containing around 4,000 hadiths (excluding repetitions). It is known for its organization and systematic approach.
- Sunan Abu Dawood (d. 889 CE): "Sunan Abu Dawood" - This collection, compiled by Abu Dawood al-Sijistani, includes about 4,800 hadiths, focusing primarily on legal rulings and practices.
- Sunan al-Tirmidhi (d. 892 CE): "Jami' al-Tirmidhi" - Compiled by Abu Isa al-Tirmidhi, this collection includes around 3,956 hadiths and is known for its commentary on the authenticity of the narrations and the opinions of different scholars.
- Sunan al-Nasa'i (d. 915 CE): "Sunan al-Nasa'i" - Compiled by Ahmad ibn Shu'ayb al-Nasa'i, this collection includes about 5,700 hadiths, known for its emphasis on the soundness of the chain of transmission.
- Sunan Ibn Majah (d. 887 CE): "Sunan Ibn Majah" - Compiled by Ibn Majah, this collection contains about 4,341 hadiths, with a significant number of hadiths that are not found in the other five collections, making it a valuable resource for hadith studies.
2. Other Important Hadith Collections
- Muwatta Malik (d. 795 CE): "Al-Muwatta" - Compiled by Imam Malik ibn Anas, this is one of the earliest collections of hadith, focusing on the practices of the people of Medina and the legal opinions of Imam Malik.
- Musnad Ahmad (d. 855 CE): "Musnad Ahmad ibn Hanbal" - Compiled by Ahmad ibn Hanbal, this massive collection includes over 27,000 hadiths, organized by the companions who narrated them.
- Sunan al-Darimi (d. 869 CE): "Sunan al-Darimi" - A lesser-known but valuable collection that includes a mix of hadith and statements of the companions and successors.
- Al-Mustadrak al-Hakim (d. 1014 CE): "Al-Mustadrak 'ala al-Sahihayn" - Compiled by Al-Hakim al-Nishapuri, this collection includes hadiths that meet the criteria of authenticity according to the standards of Bukhari and Muslim but were not included in their collections.
3. Hadith Terminology and Criticism (Mustalah al-Hadith)
- Ibn al-Salah (d. 1245 CE): "Muqaddimah fi Ulum al-Hadith" - A foundational text in hadith sciences, it outlines the principles of hadith classification, transmission, and the evaluation of narrators.
- Al-Nawawi (d. 1277 CE): "Al-Maqasid fi Ulum al-Hadith" - A concise introduction to the science of hadith, summarizing earlier works and explaining key concepts.
- Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani (d. 1449 CE): "Nuzhat al-Nazr fi Tawdih Nukhbat al-Fikr" - A commentary on Ibn Hajar's own work "Nukhbat al-Fikr," which is a summary of hadith terminology and classification.
- Al-Dhahabi (d. 1348 CE): "Mizan al-I'tidal fi Naqd al-Rijal" - A biographical dictionary of hadith transmitters, evaluating their reliability and authenticity.
4. Hadith Commentaries
- Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani (d. 1449 CE): "Fath al-Bari bi Sharh Sahih al-Bukhari" - The most famous and comprehensive commentary on Sahih al-Bukhari, it explains the meanings of hadiths, their context, and related legal rulings.
- Al-Nawawi (d. 1277 CE): "Sharh Sahih Muslim" - A widely respected commentary on Sahih Muslim, explaining the meanings of hadiths and providing insights into their application in Islamic law.
- Al-Qastallani (d. 1517 CE): "Irshad al-Sari li Sharh Sahih al-Bukhari" - Another important commentary on Sahih al-Bukhari, offering explanations and insights similar to those of Ibn Hajar.
5. Shia Hadith Collections
The Shia tradition has its own set of authoritative hadith collections, known as the Al-Kutub al-Arba'a (The Four Books):
- Al-Kafi (d. 941 CE): Compiled by Muhammad ibn Ya'qub al-Kulayni, this is the most important hadith collection in Shia Islam, covering various aspects of belief, law, and ethics.
- Man La Yahduruhu al-Faqih (d. 991 CE): Compiled by Ibn Babawayh, this collection focuses on practical rulings and is intended for everyday use.
- Tahdhib al-Ahkam (d. 1067 CE): Compiled by Al-Tusi, this work is a comprehensive guide to Shia jurisprudence, based on hadith.
- Al-Istibsar (d. 1067 CE): Also compiled by Al-Tusi, this collection addresses apparent contradictions in hadith and provides resolutions.
6. Modern Hadith Studies
- Muhammad Zubayr Siddiqi (d. 1995 CE): "Hadith Literature: Its Origin, Development & Special Features" - A modern work that provides a comprehensive introduction to the development of hadith literature and its various genres.
- Ignaz Goldziher (d. 1921 CE): "Muhammedanische Studien" (Muslim Studies) - Though controversial, this work has been influential in Western scholarship, critically examining the development of hadith literature.
