Open Access Databases: Patents

The Canadian Patent Database contains over 2.2 million patent documents from 1869 to the present. This database is updated regularly with newly granted patents and applications opened to public inspection. Searches are performed against the bibliographic and text data fields only, and a "hit list" of matching patents is returned. Images are not searchable but can be viewed for any particular patent that has been returned in a hit list. The text of the abstracts and claims is not available for patents that were granted prior to August 15, 1978. These patents can only be searched by their patent number, titles, owner, inventor, or classification.

Espacenet's worldwide database enables you to search for information about published patent applications from over 90 different countries and regions. Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide--most of them patent applications rather than granted patents--from 1836 today. Patent applications normally represent the first publication of a new idea, appearing ahead of journal articles and before new products reach the market. Other information includes: patent family information, telling you if similar patents have been claimed in other countries; legal status information, helping you find out whether and in what countries a patent is in force; references to other kinds of technical literature (non-patent literature); citing documents; and links to the European Patent Register for European and Euro-PCT documents.

EPO contains all the patent documentation available to EPO examiners and the latest patent applications from all the EPO member states.

Complete patent searching database and patent data analytics services. Patents may also be browsed by university.

Searches and displays the full text of over 7 million U.S. patents.

Free, open-access resource for global patent search and analysis over 100 million patent records from 95 issuing organizations; scholarly search and analysis; and PatCite linking patents and scholarly articles.

Need patent number- quick download (PDF) of US patents

Includes 73+ million patent documents and provides AI-based translations tool into 13 languages. WIPO stands for the World Intellectual Property Organization and is a United Nations (UN) agency.

PatentsView is a patent data visualization and analysis platform intended to increase the value, utility, and transparency of US patent data. The initiative is supported by the Office of Chief Economist in the US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO). PatentsView is intended to encourage the study and understanding of the intellectual property (IP) and innovation system; to serve as a fundamental function of the government in creating "public good" platforms in these data; and to eliminate redundant cleaning, converting and matching of these data by individual researchers, thus freeing up researcher time to do what they do best--study IP, innovation, and technological change.

The official website provides access to full text and PDF image of U.S. patents and patent applications from 1790.