Open Access Databases: Theses & Dissertations

Provides open access to more than 400,000 electronic theses and dissertations from more than 500 universities in 27 European countries in many languages. DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.

Theses in the social sciences and the humanities published mostly in Spain and to a lesser extent in Latin America.

EBSCO Open Dissertations provides a single search interface to locate open-access theses and dissertations from hundreds of universities, mostly in the UK and US. The full-text of theses may be downloaded by following the link to the institutional repository where the thesis is held.

Over 500,000 UK theses hosted by the British Library, from participating institutions. Theses held can potentially go as far back as the 1600s, depending on what is digitized and from whom.

A collection of 843,335 open access publications including 75 master's theses and 88,027 doctoral theses from various disciplines.

NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). It supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide.

A collection of 16,470 open access dissertations and theses from McMaster University that may be browsed by title, subject, department, publication date and author.

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,153,410 theses and dissertations.

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

A search engine for French doctoral theses, this site aims to provide an entry point on the web to all dissertations published in France.

Theses Canada, launched in 1965 at the request of the deans of Canadian graduate schools, is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and Canadian universities. It strives to: acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities; provide free access to Canadian digital theses and dissertations in the collection; facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection.

An open archive of theses covering architecture, business, engineering, humanities, medicine, sciences, and social sciences.

The purpose of TEL is to facilitate the self archiving of thesis manuscripts, which are important documents for direct scientific communication between scientists.