PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
The Protein Data Bank (PDB) was established as the 1st open access digital data resource in all of biology and medicine. It is today a leading global resource for experimental data central to scientific discovery. Through an internet information portal and downloadable data archive, the PDB provides access to 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA).
CAMEO Chemicals is a tool designed for people who are involved in hazardous material incident response and planning. This tool is part of the CAMEO software suite, and it is available as a website, mobile website, and as a downloadable version that you can run on your own computer. CAMEO Chemicals contains: A library with thousands of datasheets containing response-related information and recommendations for hazardous materials that are commonly transported, used, or stored in the United States. A reactivity prediction tool, which you can use to predict potential reactive hazards between chemicals.
The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) is the leading information source for scientific and technical literature published worldwide on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. INIS maintains a bibliographic database, entitled INIS Database, which currently contains over 2.8 million references with English abstracts from 1970 to the present.
Harnessing the power of supercomputing and state of the art electronic structure methods, the Materials Project provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials. The Materials Project is a core program of the Materials Genome Initiative.
NOTE: Register for free to view all content.
Chemical, physical and spectroscopic data of many chemical substances. Includes IR, NMR, MS, UV, thermochemical data for substances & reactions, etc. Searchable by structure, formula, and property values. Compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Organic materials database (OMDB) is created and maintained by the research group at Nordita (Stockholm, Sweden) as a part of the research on Dirac materials. OMDB focus is on electronic structure, density of states and other properties for purely organic and organometallic compounds that are known to date. The electronic band structures are calculated using density functional theory for the 6686 crystal structures contained in the Crystallography Open Database. This database is a tool to be used in guided materials search and discovery. OMDB web interface allows for identifying materials with certain target band structure properties specified by the user.
NOTE: Register for free to view all content.
SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970.
The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive is a database of significant, publicly-funded research and development literature, photographs, data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. It includes full text for EERC, SEMM, and PEER reports published at UC Berkeley, the NISEE software library, and images from EQIIS.
Note: Some reports/publications are available for free
Discover the diversity of civil, structural and bridge engineering, more than 75,000 structures with over 14,500 participating companies and their products as well as 10,000 engineers and architects, all of that illustrated with 290,000 images. Since 1998 Structurae has been providing bridge, civil and structural engineers with information on the design and construction of construction projects from around the world including profiles on the companies and individuals involved as well as product descriptions. By now the site has grown into a unique information network and research tool for practising engineers and students majoring in civil and structural engineering but also for architects and other professionals in the construction industry.
Since 1987, MCEER, formerly the Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER) and the National Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (NCEER), has produced over 600 publications that describe the latest research and developments on a wide variety of topics related to earthquake engineering and extreme events.
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Searchable database contains information on destructive earthquakes from 2150 B.C. to the present that meet at least one of the following criteria: Moderate damage (approximately $1 million or more), 10 or more deaths, Magnitude 7.5 or greater, Modified Mercalli Intensity X or greater, or the earthquake generated a tsunami.
Efunda is an information resource for engineering professionals that provides a variety of information to aid in the solution of complex design problems. Topics include materials, processes, formulas, vendors and products, units, mathematics, and designs.
Deep Blue is the University of Michigan's permanent, safe, and accessible service for representing our rich intellectual environment. The primary goal of Deep Blue is to provide access to the work that makes Michigan a leader in research, teaching, and creativity. By representing our scholars, from faculty through students, as individuals and as members of communities, Deep Blue provides a framework for preserving and finding the best scholarly and artistic work done at the University. The collection may be browsed by subject, title, author, and date.
Designview is an online consultation tool allowing any Internet user to search, free of charge, designs of all participating offices, including OHIM (Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market of the European Union), the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and National Offices. It is multilingual and easy-to-use tool, and gives access to design applications and registrations provided by the participating offices though a single and unique platform. Each office owns the content it makes available and is responsible for its daily update.
Use the DOE Data Explorer to find scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines. The DOE Data Explorer includes a database of citations prepared by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) based on the information found at data-hosting Web sites.
The Division of Engineering Services (DES) is the lead project delivery organization for the design, construction, and oversight of bridge and other transportation structures. DES is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary engineering organization committed to providing our clients with quality products and services in a timely manner.
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) offers access to these authenticated government technical reports to libraries and technical information users. Find index entries for over 3 million titles, and find full-text access to over 800,000 titles in PDF format.
A portal to free, publicly-available R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, patents, multimedia, software, and data information on science, technology, and engineering from the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).
The site is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in exact, human and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS from 1972 to 2015. It provides access to more than 20 millions references (articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports and thesis) in exact sciences and technology, in biological and medical sciences, in art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences. Stopped in 2015, this archive does not report any new documentary resource.
The Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) supports the trademark application process by providing for searching the existing trademark application and registration information via an Internet browser. TESS provides access to the same text and image database of trademarks as currently provided to examining attorneys at the US Patent and Trademark Office via the X-Search system.
Publishes reports by the National Academy of Sciences on science and science policy. Topics include agriculture, biology, computers, energy, the environment, engineering, food, medicine and health, space, social sciences, transportation, and more.
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents. OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.
Web of Conferences, managed by EDP Sciences, is an open access platform devoted to the publication of scientific conference proceedings. The platform offers high quality services for the publication and dissemination of conference proceedings in the areas of Physics & Astronomy, Engineering & Technology, Health Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Computer Sciences.
The AMICO (Art Museum Image Consortium) Library is an online collection of digital documentation of works of art from around the world. Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art in AMICO highlighting the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Each slide has an accompanying catalog record in the database.
Ancient Egyptian Architecture Online provides vetted and standardized architectural drawings of a selection of ancient Egyptian buildings. These represent architecture from modest workmen’s houses to temple complexes, dating from the Old Kingdom through Late Antiquity. AEGARON considers architectural drawings as historic sources: each plan is accompanied by a critical apparatus. The plans can be downloaded freely for private and research purposes.
Originally developed from the idea of a student database with interesting architectural examples, this project has developed into the world's largest online database for architecture, which is constantly being expanded and to which interested parties from all over the world can contribute data via the Internet. archINFORM currently contains information on more than 82,000 buildings and plans by important international architects.
This collection contains digital images created from lantern slides showing architecture, cities, and landscapes from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The original lantern slides that form this collection are part of the Art, Architecture and Engineering Library Special Collections housed in the lower level of the library.
Images from this collection are part of the Art, Architecture and Engineering Library Imageworks, which is on the second floor of the Duderstadt Center at the University of Michigan. The collection primarily serves the College of Architecture & Urban Planning and the School of Art & Design.
Contains 15,000 structured vocabulary terms and other information about objects, concepts, artists, and places. Terms may be used to describe art, architecture, decorative arts, material culture, and archival materials. Coverage ranges from Antiquity to the present, and the scope is global.
The name BHA has been used informally to refer to a group of databases: RAA, RILA, BHA, and IBA. The data available on the Getty Web site comprises two of these databases: BHA and RILA. BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990-2007; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art) covers 1975-1989. At present, the Getty has no plans to add RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie), which covers 1973-1989. IBA (International Bibliography of Art), covering 2008 to the present, is a separate subscription-only database from ProQuest that is not included on this free website provided by Getty.
A collection of historical books (late 15th through the early 19th century) on architecture and garden design made freely available by the University Library of Heidelberg. Includes rare editions from Italy, France, Germany and other European countries.
Cities Around the World presents over 6,100 photographic images from the slide collections of the American Geographical Society Library. The images selected for this project focus on architecture, city life, people, transportation and other aspects of urban development, such as neighborhoods, commercial streets, and business districts.
Database of Ottoman Inscriptions (DOI) is searchable digital database comprising information about, as well as transliterations and pictures of, all the Turkish, Arabic and Persian architectural inscriptions created in the Ottoman lands during Ottoman times.
Provides primary source material for scholarly research, teaching support and preservation on the work of nearly 100 of the San Francisco Bay Region's historically significant architects, landscape architects and firms.
The historic illustrations included in this project were originally published during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Many originally appeared in publications that predated the widespread use of photography for art documentation. These engravings, line drawings, and plans reflect both the technological and aesthetic standards of their time. These records include full bibliographic information on the sources, which were published between 1879 and 1921.
Istanbul Urban Database is an accessible, interactive mapping platform for historians, architects, city planners and other researchers to examine and contribute to the collective memory of Istanbul. This project is a sustainable platform that blends a wide range of historical data, and is the most comprehensive online archive of Istanbul’s urban history.
The initial aim of this project was to photograph, transcribe and translate the unpublished inscriptions in pre-1800 monuments in Cairo. In addition it was hoped to record those inscriptions, published or not, most in danger of disappearing because of their fragile state of conservation. The inspiration for the project came from the parlous state of many of Cairo’s monuments at the time. Cairo has the richest legacy of pre-modern monuments of any city in the Islamic world. Over four hundred are listed as worthy of protection by the Egyptian Antiquities Organization, ranging from the eighth to the nineteenth century, and from simple mosques to complexes which are among the world’s architectural masterpieces.
PCAD includes a range of information on the buildings and architects of California, Oregon and Washington. Also included are professionals in other fields who have made an impact on the built environment, such as landscape architects, interior designers, engineers, urban planners, developers, and building contractors. Building records are tied to those of their creators (when known) and include historical and geographical information and images. Bibliographical information, such as magazine and book citations and web sites, has also been linked for creators and their partnerships and structures.
This is a digital archive consisting of images taken from the following Special Collections Research Center photograph collections (with their four-letter identifiers): Dean C. Worcester (1866-1924), Photographs of the Philippine Islands (PHLA); Parker Hitt Photograph Collection (PHLB); Manila, Philippines, Collection (PHLC); Manila, Philippines, and Environs (slides and photographs) (PHLD); Scenes of Philippine History (slides) (also PHLD); General John J. Pershing Photograph Collection (PHLE); Everett E. Thompson Photograph Collection (PHLF); Tiffany Williams Photograph Collection (PHLG); and Memory Book: U.S.S. Chaumont (PHLJ). In general, the images depict Filipinos, buildings, dwellings, and monuments in and around Manila, Filipino political and military leaders, members of American commissions and military units based in the Philippines, and numerous landscape scenes, particularly on Mindanao and in Lanoa Province.
Robert Metcalf was a noted Michigan-based modern architect and former Professor and later Dean of the University of Michigan College of Architecture and Urban Planning. Metcalf's work includes over 150 buildings in Michigan and Ohio. The material in this collection spans the years 1942 to 2017 and represents many of Metcalf’s most prominent works (including his personal residence).
Compilation of more than 1 million digital documents for the history of the Ottoman Empire and the Turkish Republic. Includes correspondence, records, reports, photographs, maps, drawings, and a vast array of other material.
This gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, selected over ten years by the editors of ArchitectureWeek, with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.