Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and biographies help you find factual and background information about your topic. It is advisable to look at more than one source of information to get the most information and to have a more balanced view of the topic.
Featured reference source:
EU Food Law Handbook by
Taking the General Food Law as a focal point, this handbook analyses and explains the institutional, substantive and procedural elements of EU food law.
Food Processing Handbook by
Focusing on the technology involved, this handbook describes the principles as well as the equipment used and the changes - physical, chemical, microbiological and organoleptic - that occur during food preservation. In doing so the text covers in detail such techniques as post-harvest handling, thermal processing, evaporation and dehydration, freezing, irradiation, high pressure processing, emerging technologies, baking, extrusion, frying and packaging. In addition current concerns about the safety of processed foods and control of food processes are addressed, as are the impact of processing on the environment and separation and conversion operations widely used in the food industry. Scientists and engineers involved in food manufacture, research and development in both industry and academia will benefit greatly from the contents as will students studying food related topics at undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
Encyclopedia of Food and Color Additives by
THE FIRST SOURCE TO CONTAIN COMPLETE PROFILES OF 2,500 FOOD ADDITIVES AND INGREDIENTS... This 3-volume set provides all the answers to technical, legal, and regulatory questions in clear, nontechnical language. Information once scattered among the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), other government and technical publications, or only available through the Freedom of Information Act, is made easily accessible in the Encyclopedia of Food and Color Additives. You will find descriptions of all substances listed in the Everything Added to Food in the U.S. (EAFUS) database, including food additive categories and some substances not considered to be "additives," such as corn oil. The Encyclopedia avoids the hazard of providing too much or too little information with a concise, understandable description of each substance. There is no need to waste time wading through paragraphs of unrelated text. All data is clearly organized in alphabetical or numerical order, so even with a minimal amount of knowledge about any additive, you can locate it instantly. The Encyclopedia provides you with a quick, understandable description of what each additive is and what it does, where it comes from, when its use might be limited, and how it is manufactured and used. The Encyclopedia of Food and Color Additives sorts through the technical language used in the laboratory or factory, the arcane terms used by regulatory managers, and the legalese used by attorneys, providing all the essentials for everyone involved with food additives. Consultants, lawyers, food and tobacco scientists and technicians, toxicologists, and food regulators will all benefit from the detailed, well-organized descriptions found in this one-stop source.
