LibGuides: Arab and Middle Eastern Studies: Books

Find Books and E-Books

Use the Library Catalog to find books and other materials

Arabic Digital Libraries

A big part of the Arabic classicla literature have been digitized. Find and access Arabic books in the public domain.

Al-Waraq
Arabic and Islamic classical texts. Full text searching.
Bibliotheca Alexandrina Digital Assets Repository
About 200.000 Arabic books digitized in collaboration with Million Book Project. Limited 5% preview for books in copyright.
Compendium of Muslim Text
Index and translation of the Quran and Hadith literatute.
more...less...
Center for Muslim-Jewish Engagement University of Southern California.
Al-Meshkat.Net
Islamic and Arabic classic books. Dowload books using WinRAR.

E-Books

The Library holds several e-book packages in Arabic, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies:

Brill E-Books This link opens in a new window Collection of electronic books from Brill focusing on Middle Eastern art, history, culture, language, Islamic studies, philosophy, theology, mysticism, sociology and political studies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Complete collection
Cambridge Histories online This link opens in a new window An e-book collection bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts. Availability: Full-text Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021
JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
JSTOR eBooks, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to selected e-books that the library has purchased as well as open access e-books. Subjects covered include language & literature, business, history, philosophy, political science, religion and sociology.

Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: ----
Oxford Islamic Studies Online (3 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works. The database covers global Islamic history, politics, faith, culture, customs, and more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: Current A comprehensive online resource covering the history and culture of Islam. The main content features major Oxford reference works such as Oxford Dictionary of Islam, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, and Oxford History of Islam. The database covers global Islamic history, people, politics, faith, concepts, practice, culture, customs, and much more. In addition to reference entries, the database contains biographies, primary documents, book chapters, interpretation and concordance of the Qur'an, images, maps, and timelines. It includes a "Learning Resources" area featuring study and teaching aids for the exploration of the field of Islamic studies in general. It has powerful search capabilities and can be searched by Era, topics, country, region, branch of Islam, name, birth, death, profession, movements, schools, and document type.
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library This link opens in a new window Also known as أمهات الكتب العربية المطبوعة من المكتبة البريطانية :a digital library of pre-20th century Arabic printed books. This historical collection includes a wide range of works that were published from the 15th to 19th centuries. In addition to books printed in Arabic script, the collection includes European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European works. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1475-1900 Topics covered include: Islamic literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, religion, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature.
Arabic Collections Online (ACO) This link opens in a new window

For sources on the modern issues you can use the general E-book packages such as:

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary collection of reference and scholarly e-books from hundreds of university presses, trade publishers, and popular presses. The content covers 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, education, fine arts, history, literature and linguistics, life science, medicine, political science etc... Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1999 to present
De Gruyter eBooks This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary and multilingual collection of electronic books and textbooks from many reputable publishers. The collection covers 28 subject areas. Availability: Full-text Coverage: Complete collection Format: PDF and ePub

Check Digital Libraries to access books or books in the public domain.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window For books with Temporary Access please click on Temporary Access then on Check out.
HathiTrust is a digital preservation repository that provides long-term preservation and access services to materials digitized by Google Books, the Internet Archives, Microsoft, and top-ranked university libraries. It includes reference works, books, government documents, maps, manuscripts, photos, journals, newspapers, and other published and unpublished materials.

Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1200 to present

List of E-book Packages on the Library webpage.

Search Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories online This link opens in a new window An e-book collection bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, economic history, general history, history of science, language and linguistics, literary studies, music, philosophy, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts. Availability: Full-text Coverage: Complete collection till end of 2021

Including The Cambridge History of Arabic Literature •The Cambridge History of Egypt •The Cambridge History of Iran •The Cambridge History of Islam •The Cambridge History of Turkey

Research Handbooks

Consult the following sources to learn about recommended books and other useful sources:

1972 الاصول العربية للدراسات اللبنانية: دليل ببليوغرافي بالمراجع العربية المتعلقة بتاريخ لبنان by داغر, يوسف اسعد
Call Number: J 956.92016:D125uA
Publication Date: بيروت : منشورات الجامعة اللبنانية، قسم الدراسات التاريخية، 1972
A Middle East studies handbook, c1984
Call Number: J 956:B118m
Publication Date: c1984
Bibliography of art and architecture in the Islamic world
Call Number: ER 709.016:B582s
Publication Date: Leiden : Brill, 2012.
Handbook of political science research on the Middle East and North Africa, 1998
Call Number: J 956.007:H236r
Publication Date: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998
Islamic history: a framework for inquiry
Call Number: J 956.01:H927i
Publication Date: Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c1991
The contemporary Middle East a documentary history
Call Number: J 956.04:F326c
Publication Date: Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2008
The study of the Middle East research and scholarship in the humanities and the social sciences
Call Number: J 956.0072:S933s
Publication Date: New York : Wiley, c1976
Students' aid to pre-modern Middle Eastern studies
Call Number: J 956.01:L635s
Publication Date: Bishop Auckland : Pentland Press Ltd., c1999
Gives brief definition of concepts and citations of a book or more.
Women in the Middle East and North Africa : an annotated bibliography
Call Number: J 305.4016:Q1wa
Publication Date: Austin : University of Texas at Austin, Center for Middle Eastern Studies, c1977
Middle East Women: A bibliography of books about women in the Middle East in a RefWorks database.
Many of the entries were taken from the book, Women in the Middle East and North Africa: an Annotated Bibliography by Ayad al-Qazz.

Arab and Middle Eastern Studies: Books

Find Books and E-Books.innerbox_3 { font-weight: bold; }

Arabic Digital Libraries

E-Books

Search Cambridge Histories Online

Research Handbooks

Find Books and E-Books

E-Books