LibGuides: Arab and Middle Eastern Studies: Articles

SearchAll One Stop Search

Use SearchAll to search across all resources in the Library. Use the limit frature in the search results page to refine your search.

Open Access Databases

AMIR Access to Mideast and Islamic Resources
Open access scholarship on the Middle East and Islamic worlds
Athar: Portal for Social Impact of Scientific Research in/on the Arab World
البوابة الإلكترونية حول الأثر الاجتماعي للبحث العلمي حول/من العالم العربي (أثر)
Dayan Center Bibliographic Database
MEMP List: A Union List of Middle Eastern Microforms in North American Libraries
Open Source Arabic Journal
DFAJ = دليل الدوريات العربية المجانية
أرشيف المجلات الأدبية والثقافية

Find Journals

Use Journal Finder to find journals on your topic.

Find Scholarly articles in Library Databases

Use the Library databases to search for articles. Databases collect and index a big number of journals running through long time periods. Databases offer searching features that help you find what you need using and combining keywords, and limiting your search by type and date of publication. See Search Techniques.

Start your search using subject databases, then use Multidisciplinary databases for a broader coverage.

In most databases you can access the articles in full text, or link to the full text from a different source.

Subject Databases

Brill Online Journals This link opens in a new window The database provides full text access to scholarly journal articles, covering Ancient Near East, Humanities, Middle East and Islamic Studies. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. It indexes articles, books, conference papers, dissertations and theses about history and related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology. Also provides access to the full text of more than 330 journals and 119 books back to 1955. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1954- present Print Equivalent: Historical Abstracts: Part A, Modern History Abstracts (1450-1914) Historical Abstracts Part B, Twentieth-Century Abstracts (1914 to the present) Features: Direct link to RefWorks (Citation Management Software) Link to Full-Text options via OpenURL
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window Published by Brill, this bibliographic database indexes publications on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It Indexes journal articles, book materials, conference proceedings and book reviews. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1906- present
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic index of materials (journal articles, dissertations, books, etc…) relating to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. It contains more than 400,000 records, from reputable centers such as the School of Oriental and African Studies. Subject Coverage: Political and economic affairs, cultural heritage, art and humanities, sociology, religion, anthropology, and archaeology. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1946 to present

Click here for additional databases found for Arab, Islamic, and Middle Eastern Studies

Multidisicplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database, covering a wide array of subject areas ranging from astronomy, biomedicine, engineering, health, and literacy to mathematics, women's studies, zoology and more. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, reports, books and videos. Availability: Full-text and bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1890 - present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals archives, 1800s- Full text archiving (in PDF format) of selected scholarly journals starting with issue one. It usually does not include the most recent three to five years. JSTOR. 1800s-
Project Muse Journals This link opens in a new window An online collection of journals from scholarly and academic presses including John Hopkins University Press. The collection provides access to arts, humanities, and social sciences in scholarly journals that are peer-reviewed. Subject covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and many others. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: All from v.1
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window 11,500 titles with over 8,500 titles in full text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, an authoritative and multidisciplinary citation database, allows searching of core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes current and retrospective coverage dating to 1900. Also features "cited reference" search capabilities. Availability: Bibliographic citations Date Coverage: 1900 to present

Arabic Databases

Al Manhal = المنهل This link opens in a new window Arabic database providing access to full-text searchable publications from the Arab world’s leading publishers, universities and research centers. Covers a wide range of topics: business, history, geography, Islamic studies, language and literature, political science, social sciences, science and technology. Includes books, journals, strategic studies, dissertations and videos. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1973 to present
E-Marefa = معرفة This link opens in a new window Arabic language database providing access to academic journals and statistical reports from the Arab world. The information is published by universities, research centers, central banks, scientific associations and regional organizations. Content includes articles, theses, dissertations, reports, and statistics. Subjects covered comprise: humanities, social sciences, medicine, business, engineering, and sciences. Availability: Full-text Date Coverage: 1991 to present
Shamaa = شمعة This link opens in a new window An open access database of literature on education in Arab countries. It indexes books, peer reviewed articles, theses and dissertations, reports and conference proceedings in Arabic, English and French languages. Availability: Bibliographic citations and selected full-text Date Coverage: 2007 - present