This collection includes publications from across the MENA region, providing insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
Article Databases
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR, a digital library for scholars, researchers and students, provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines including business, economics, humanities, medicine, mathematics, science, and social sciences. Library's subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Business, Global Plants and Life Sciences.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1665 to present
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS)This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic index of materials (journal articles, dissertations, books, etc…) relating to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. It contains more than 400,000 records, from reputable centers such as the School of Oriental and African Studies. Subject Coverage: Political and economic affairs, cultural heritage, art and humanities, sociology, religion, anthropology, and archaeology.
Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1946 to present
Index IslamicusThis link opens in a new windowPublished by Brill, this bibliographic database indexes publications on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. It Indexes journal articles, book materials, conference proceedings and book reviews.
Availability: Bibliographic citations
Date Coverage: 1906- present
Brill Online JournalsThis link opens in a new windowThe database provides full text access to scholarly journal articles, covering Ancient Near East, Humanities, Middle East and Islamic Studies.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: All from v.1
Arabic Language Databases
E-Marefa = معرفةThis link opens in a new windowArabic language database providing access to academic journals and statistical reports from the Arab world. The information is published by universities, research centers, central banks, scientific associations and regional organizations. Content includes articles, theses, dissertations, reports, and statistics. Subjects covered comprise: humanities, social sciences, medicine, business, engineering, and sciences.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1991 to present
Al Manhal = المنهلThis link opens in a new windowArabic database providing access to full-text searchable publications from the Arab world’s leading publishers, universities and research centers. Covers a wide range of topics: business, history, geography, Islamic studies, language and literature, political science, social sciences, science and technology. Includes books, journals, strategic studies, dissertations and videos.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1973 to present
Al Sharekh Archives = أرشيف الشارخThis link opens in a new windowAl Sharekh Archives is an Arabic digitization initiative focusing on the content of literary journals. The Archives provide online access to the content of 228 Arabic literary journals, from 23 Arab countries, dating from the early Arab renaissance (al Nahda) in the mid-nineteenth century to the end of the twenty-first century. Among the journals are Al-Muqtataf, Al-Muqtabas, Al-Hilal, Al-Adib, Al-Ustadh, Al-Mashriq, Al-Jamaa and others.
Availability: Full text
News Databases
Middle East NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowA database of Middle East newspapers published in the Middle East & about the Middle East. It includes around 30 full-text English and foreign language publications focusing on all aspects of Middle East news including current events, economics, politics, business, culture, sports and much more. Sample titles are: Aljazeera.net, The Daily Star (Beirut), Gulf Daily News and Palestine Chronicle.
Availability: Full-text
Date Coverage: 1980 to present
Early Arab Press: AUB Libraries
مئوية لبنان: البدايات، المحطات، العلاقات