Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online (9 simultaneous users ) This link opens in a new windowThe gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Provides 45,000 articles on fine arts, over 13,000 art images, and 21,000 biographies of artists, architects, etc.
Availability : Full-text and images
Date Coverage: Current
Limitations: 9 simultaneous users
Search Reference Packages
Search an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias, books and videos from Sage publication.
The database allows users to search and browse titles by subject covering areas such as business, counseling, crime, education, health and social care, family studies, media, psychology, social issues and sociology.
Date Coverage: 1965 to present
Why Reference Sources?
Reference materials such as encyclopedias, dictionaries handbooks provides you with background information on your topic (definitions, biographies, dates, key facts...).
Use those resources if you know little information about your topic or you are starting a search on a new topic.
Cambridge Histories online
A collection of reference work bringing together over 260 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. Volumes are grouped into topics and cover over 15 different subject areas, including: American history, British history, music, theater studies and performing arts.
Key Reference Works
Oxford Art Online
a single gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location.It contains over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography . Additionally, Grove Art Online provides access to 40,000 image links and 5,000 images through partnerships with major organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art and numerous international galleries and individual artists.
Oxford Music Online
a gateway offering the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. It includes the full-text of Gove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, Encyclopedia of Popular Music and more. The source covers articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, individual works, musicology, theory, and criticism. It links to thousand of illustrations, digital sounds and selected web resources.
Dictionary of art
The Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage.
A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts
Selected Reference Books
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists by
Call Number: J 709.22:B615g:c.1
Publication Date: 1995
Containing 1,340 illustrated articles and Provides an unparalleled guide to the figures who have dominated the visual arts throughout the ages.
Art History by
Call Number: CA 709:S874a:c.1
Publication Date: 2005
Presents a broad view of art through the centuries, and introduces the works of major artists. This includes women, artists of color, and the arts of other continents and regions, as well as those of Western Europe and the United States.
Call Number: J 709:A784ar
Publication Date: 1998
A World History enables you to look at a work of art, understand its construction, and distinguish between different techniques, styles, and critical viewpoints.
Encyclopedia of world art
Call Number: J 703:E56:v.1-17
Publication Date: 1959-c1987
Alternative title: Enciclopedia universale dell' arte
All articles have been translated into English from the original language ...
Medieval Art by
Call Number: J 709.02:S874m:c.1
Publication Date: 2004
Introduces the reader to a period of extraordinary historical and geographical extent ranging from ancient Rome to the age of exploration.
The art atlas by
Call Number: F 709:A881o:2008
Publication Date: 2008
Originally published: Atlas of world art.
The Oxford Companion to Art by
Call Number: J 703:O98o:c.1
Publication Date: 1970
A guide of national and regional schools of art, styles, techniques, and iconography.
The Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History by
Call Number: J 709:F848p
Publication Date: 2000
Presents a new perspective on art history. It takes an interdisciplinary approach, drawing upon literature, history, psychology, geography, economics, and other areas to set important artistic advances in a cultural context.